Home Prominent figures Kerey Khan

Kerey Khan

Оne of the founders and first khan of the Kazakh Khanate.

Kerey KHAN, Kiraly, Giray (year of birth unknown - around 1473/74), one of the founders and first khan of the Kazakh Khanate. Great-grandson of Urus Khan. According to the "Tavarih and guzida-yi Nusrat-name", Kerey Khan. Bolat only son, the son Toktakii. After the death of Barak Khan in Ak-Orda, a period of weakening, which benefited Shibanidy, proclaimed Khan young Abulkhair. Strengthening his power has shifted Ordaidov (descendants of Orda Khan, the great-grandchildren of Urus Khan) Kerey Khan and Janibek Khan in areas p. , The Syr Darya and the Tau.

In 50-60 years. 15th century Kerey Khan and Janibek Khan with his subjects migrate to the West Zhetisu, who was running Chagataidov Mogolistan. This carting away was one of the most important links in the emergence of a new state - the Kazakh Khanate and the definition of the name of an already established ethnic group - the Kazakhs.

Completion of the formation of the Kazakh people, and the addition of the first nation-state was the result of ethno-political and socio-economic processes in the territory of present-day Kazakhstan and neighboring regions in the 14-15 centuries. within gosudastva Ak-Orda, Mogolistan, Abulkhair Khanate and the Nogai Horde. The governor Mogolistan Esen-Bug, on the one hand, pursuing their own interests, on the other, unable to resist Kerey. Janibek Khan and Khan, gave them land in the district of the river. Shu.

In 1462, after the death of Esen-Boogie, they are amplified due to the recognition of their power by local clans Zhetisu and migrations to new groups of them from East Dasht-i Kipchak. All this led to the formation of about 1465/66 Kerey.-Hanmi and Janibek Khan of the Kazakh Khanate. Kerey's. and Janibek Khan regained the power of their ancestors Ordaidov in East Dasht-i Kipchak, increasing ownership of the former Ak-Orda to include the lands of the Kazakh clans Zhetisu. Extend its authority Zhetisu before trying Urus Khan, Barak Khan.

Soon, around 1468/69, during a campaign against the Kazakh Khanate died Shibanid Abulkhair Khan. After that Kerey Khan and Khan Janibek possessing significant military forces and having a strong rear Zhetisu have had to struggle against Shibanidov for power over East Dasht-i Kipchak. Kerey Khan and his followers fought for the creation of an independent state lasting developed in the political, cultural and economic terms.

 In the course of this struggle Kerey Khan was killed. His name istricheskih sources for the last time mentioned in connection with the events of winter 1473/74.

The names of his sons - Buryndyk, Hodge, and Sultan Muhammad Ali. From his descendants Kazakh Khan was only Buryndyk who ruled Kazakh Khanate after the father to 1510.


Kerey Khan
  • First name
  • Kerey Khan
  • Line of activity/Occupation
  • Governors, khans, sultans
  • Birthday
  • unknown
  • Deathday
  • 1473/1474

Керей хан

Один из основателей и первый хан Казахского ханства. Правнук Урус-хана. Согласно “Таварих-и гузида-йи нусрат-наме”, Керей-хан - единственный сын Болата, сына Токтакии.

КЕРЕЙ-ХАН, Кирай, Гирей (год рождения неизвестен — около 1473/74), один из основателей и первый хан Казахского ханства. Правнук Урус-хана. Согласно “Таварих-и гузида-йи нусрат-наме”, Керей-хан. единственный сын Болата, сына Токтакии. После смерти Барак-хана в Ак-Орде наступил период ослабления, которым воспользовались Шибаниды, провозгласившие ханом молодого Абулхайра. Усиление его власти привело к смещению Ордаидов (потомков Орда-хана, правнуков Урус-хана) Керей-хана и Жанибек-хана в районы р. Сырдарии и г. Каратау. 

В 50—60 гг. 15 века Керей-хан и Жанибек-хан со своими подданными откочевывают на территорию Западного Жетысу, находившегося под управлением Чагатаидов Моголистана. Эта откочевка стала одним из важных звеньев в возникновении нового государства — Казахского ханства и определении названия уже сложившегося этноса — казахов. 

Завершение формирования казахского народа и сложение первого национального государства явилось следствием этнополитических и социально-экономических процессов на территории современного Казахстана и сопредельных регионов в 14—15 вв. в рамках госудаств Ак-Орда, Моголистан, Ханство Абулхайра и Ногайская Орда. Правитель Моголистана Есен-Буга, с одной стороны, преследуя свои интересы, с другой, не имея возможности противостоять Керей-хану и Жанибек-хану, выделил им земли в р-не р. Шу. 

В 1462 после смерти Есен-Буги, они усиливаются вследствие признания их власти местными родами Жетысу и перекочевки к ним новых групп из Восточного Дашт-и Кыпчака. Все это привело к образованию около 1465/66 Керей-ханом и Жанибек-ханом Казахского ханства. Керей-хан и Жанибек-хан восстановили власть своих предков Ордаидов в Восточном Дашт-и Кыпчаке, увеличив прежние владения Ак-Орды за счет включения земель казахских родов Жетысу. Распространить свою власть на Жетысу прежде пытались Урус-хан и Барак-хан. 

Вскоре, около 1468/69, во время похода против Казахского ханства умер Шибанид Абулхайр-хан. После этого Керей-хан и Жанибек-хан, обладая значительными военными силами и имея прочный тыл в Жетысу, начали борьбу про­тив Шибанидов за власть над Восточным Дашт-и Кыпчаком. Керей-хан и его сподвижники боролись за создание прочного са­мостоятельного государства развитого в политическом и культурно-экономическом отношении.

 В ходе этой борьбы Керей-хан погиб. Его имя в истрических источниках в последний раз упоминается в связи с событиями зимы 1473/74. 

Известны имена его сыновей — Бурындык,  Ходжа-Мухаммад и Султан-Али. Из его потомков казахским ханом был только Бурындык, который правил Казахским ханством после отца до 1510.


Керей хан
  • Имя
  • Керей хан
  • Род деятельности
  • Правители, ханы, султаны
  • Дата рождения
  • неизвестно
  • Дата смерти
  • 1473/1474