Home History of Kazakhstan Ancient Kazakhstan Tribal alliances and early states on the territory of Kazakhstan Wusuns

Wusuns

29 July 2013
3928
0

Wusun tribes which inherited lands of tigrakhauda- sakas in Semirechye, came from  depth  of  Central  Asia. In the II century BC, about 160 years, the part of the Wusun’s  moved to  Semirechye. They hold in hand Sakas  tribes and established ownership, led by the leader, who bore the title of "gunmo" (kun bug – Lord of the lords).

The main territory of the Wusuns settled down in the Iliysk valley, and the western border passed according to Chu and Talas where wusuns bordered with Kangyuy. In the east they had the general border with huns,  and in the south of their possession adjoined to Fergana (Davani).

Wusun’s  capital Chiguchen (The city of the Red valley) was on the bank of  Issyk kul.  It was the strengthened city with suburbs.

Ambassador of the Chinese Emperor Wudi duke Chzhantsyan, was sent to west in 138 year  and said that the ownership of  wusuns  numbered 630,000 people  and could put 188,000 soldiers. Written sources also report about a 30-thousand cavalry of a perfect team of wusun’s governors and 10 thousand archers submitting to them.

The wusuns political history which in sources is traced till III century AD, narrates about their communications with China, the conclusion of  diplomatic relations, a marriage of wusun gunmo  on chinees princesses.

Ethnicity of  wusuns is not yet fully elucidated. Some researchers believe that Wusuns  belonged to the East-Iranian tribes, others  that  Wusuns were the ancestors  of  the  turks  and  turkic-speaking. But anyway, "wusun" is the name of one large Kazakh tribe. 

Archaeological monuments.

In the territory of  Semirechye  tens of  wusun barrows  are dug out, their settlements are investigated. Burial grounds of the wusuns settled down in the foothills, mountain valleys, on coast of the rivers. As a rule, they represent chains of the barrows, extending along the rivers.

The majority of barrows have diameter 6 — 20 and height of 0,5 — 1,5 m and consist of earth, stone or lithoidal embankments.  In wusun’s burial grounds we also meet enormous barrows with a diameter of 50 — 80 in comparison with lump and 8 — 12 m high. In graves of such barrows even robbed, archeologists find a large number of  jewelry made of gold. They include plaques from clothes, gold earrings, bronze mirrors, wooden caskets.

The early group of burial grounds treats the III—II centuries BC.These are burial grounds of  Kapchagay  III, Utegen III, Kzyl-espe, Kzyl-Auz III, Kzyl-Kaynar.

Strict planning by "chains" from the north to the south on 5 — 6  barrows in everyone is typical for them.

To the  next period (average) dated by researchers of the I century BC- I century AD belongs  burial grounds like as Utegen's  I, II, Taygak I, Karlaak I, Altyn-Emel, Karatuma, Talgar, Aktas. It is established that at this time wusun’s burial grounds consisted of the barrows located  irregularly and chains of three barrows.

And, at last, to the third, late period which is dated the II—III centuries belongs burial grounds of  Kapchagay II, Chulak-Dzhigida I, II, Gur-Cora II, Kalkan IV.

All barrows are located irregularly, "chains" aren't present. Graves are soil with a lining, without wooden overlappings.

The  first settlement of  wusuns  was revealed in the Chu valley, near the village Lugovoe in the foothills of the Kyrgyz Ala Tau. Before the excavations  there was a hill which is  hiding the remains of dwellings with cob walls and floors covered with clay.  On floors there were open centers on which the food was cooked.

A large number of pottery’s large fragments , stone grinders, hoes testify that the inhabitants of the settlement were engaged in farming, combining it with household cattle.

In the mountain regions of  Tien Shan the settlements of the wusuns  are met in many mountain gorges. One of them Aktas is on the bank of  Kurayla's small river, near the village Kegen.

Five inhabited and household construction recrements which wallswere  made  of stone were discovered here.  Ancient fields those were refluxed by irrigation river channels were discovered near the settlement.

Wusun household

The Chinese sources characterize wusuns as nomads. They write that Usuns "not engaged in any farming or gardening, and the cattle roamed from place to place, according to the spaciousness of food and water."

Indeed, breeding has played in wusuns life a crucial role. Natural conditions in the Semirechye let to keep nomadic style in the meridional direction from the wintering grounds, located in Moinkum and Balkhash, to alpine meadows, located high in the mountains, where the summer mountain grasses let a cattle grew fat and gaining strength for the winter. The distance between winterings and summer pasture was small — from 30 to 100 km. Therefore wusuns could remain long time on places of  winterings and summer pastures and also in the foothills on spring and autumn pastures. There they built stationary dwellings, got a number of a field and kitchen gardens. As the proof of settled life of occupation by agriculture of wusuns’  settlements with their stationary dwellings, a large number of heavy pottery, grinding stones, stone hoes, remnants of cereals.

On an archaeological material it is tracked that the role of agriculture increased from the early period of wusuns’ history to the late.  By this way, the household of wusuns was complex - cattle breeding and agricultural. Wusuns bred horses, sheep, goats, cows, two-humped camels, donkeys. In a herd sheep and horses are prevailed. From sources it is known that rich wusuns had up to 500  heads of horses. Horses were different breeds, including high-pedigree racers. On gold plaques from wusun’s barrow Tenlik is represented the horseback rider on a large high stallion.

Wusuns feed on meat and dairy food, from  grain they  baked bread, on kitchen gardens and in gardens grew up vegetables and fruit.

The clothes of grandees were made  from silk and fine woolen fabrics, ordinary people  put on in clothes from barracan, leather and lambskins.  Silk delivered from China, changing it for horses, or receiving as gifts and a tribute.

Ware made in a large number. It was molded from clay, probably, by women, and men cut out from a birch little tables dishes, cups, scoops for koumiss.

Wusuns was exploit the fields of copper, lead, tin and gold. They were able to melt iron from which made knifes, swords, daggers, tips of arrows. From  a color stone and precious metals did a beads, earrings, jewelry on clothes.

Wusun society was not homogeneous, there were riches -  tribal and nobility, vigilantes, the priests and the mass of ordinary herdsmen and farmers.

About the development of private property in wusuns evidenced by the findings of seals made ​​of clay, stone, found during excavations of  burial wusun mounds.

Written sources say the fact that some wusun generals and high officials had gold and copper print.  The private property extended not only on cattle, but also on the earth.Sources testify about a developed system of  posts at the top of society. Along with the free commune in society of wusuns were slaves, mostly prisoners of war.

Social distinctions in wusun society are well traced on archaeological materials. Usun barrows by the size share on three groups: big, with a diameter up to 80 and up to 15 m high; average, with a diameter up to 15 and up to 2 m high and the most numerous small barrows, with a diameter up to 10 and up to 1 m high. If  the grave isn't plundered, archeologists found at excavation a large number of jewelry made of gold, the weapon, a lot of pottery. So, in a barrow Tenlik in burial the gold plaques sewed on clothes, gold earrings, the iron mace fitted by gold, a bronze mirror were found. In small barrows in a grave there are one-two clay a vessel, near a skeleton iron knifes lie. People who were buried here at one time wore bronze earrings, necklaces. By this way, both written sources, and an archaeological material testify that society of the wusuns reached the statehood level.

Institute of History and Ethnology named after Ch. Valikhanov, Committe on Science, Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan, 2013


Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в древности Союзы племен и ранние государства на территории Казахстана Усуни

Усуни

29 Июля 2013
3925
0

Племена усуней, которые наследовали земли саков-тиграхауда в Семиречье, пришли из глубины Центральной Азии. Во II в. до н. э, около 160 г., часть усуней переселилась в Семиречье, подчинила сакские племена и основала владения во главе с предводителем, носившим титул «гуньмо» (кунь баг — князь над князьями).

Основная территория усуней располагалась в Илийской долине, а западная граница проходила по Чу и Таласу, где усуни граничили с Кангюем. На востоке они имели общую границу с хунну, а на юге их владения соприкасались с Ферганой (Даванью).

Столица усуней Чигучен (Город Красной долины) находилась на берегу Иссык-Куля. Это был укрепленный город с предместьями.

Посол китайского императора Уди князь Чжанцянь, в 138 г. отправленный на запад, писал о том, что владения Усуней насчитывали 630 000 чел. и могли выставить 188 000 воинов. Письменные источники сообщают также о 30-тысячной коннице отборной дружины усуньских правителей и 10 тыс. подчинявшихся им лучниках10.

Политическая история усуней, которая в источниках прослежи­вается до III в. н. э., повествует об их связях с Китаем, заключении дипломатических отношений, женитьбе усуньских гуньмо на ки­тайских принцессах.

Этническая принадлежность усуней еще до конца не выяснена. Одни исследователи считают, что усуни принадлежали к восточно-иранским племенам, другие, что усуни были предками тюрок и говорили по-тюркски. Но как бы то ни было, название «уйсунь» носит одно из крупных казахских племен.

Археологические памятники. На территории Семиречья раско­паны десятки курганов усуней, исследованы их поселения. Могиль­ники усуней располагались в предгорьях, горных долинах, на берегах рек. Как правило, они представляют собой цепочки курганов, вытянутых по течению рек.

Большинство курганов имеют диаметр 6—20 и высоту 0,5—1,5 м, состоят из земляных, каменных либо каменно-земляных насыпей. В усуньских могильниках встречаются и громадные по сравнению с общей массой курганы диаметром 50—80 и высотой 8—12 м. В могилах таких курганов, даже ограбленных, археологи находят большое число украшений из золота — бляшек от одежды, золотые серьги, бронзовые зеркала, деревянные шкатулки.

Ранняя группа могильников относится к III—II вв. до н. э. Это могильники Капчагай III, Утеген III, Кзыл-Эспе, Кзыл-Ауз III, Кзыл-Кайнар. Для них характерна строгая планировка «цепочка­ми» с севера на юг по 5—6 курганов в каждой.

К следующему периоду (среднему), датируемому исследователя­ми I в. до н. э. — I в. н. э. относятся могильники Утеген I, II, Тайгак I, Карлаак I, Алтын-Эмель, Каратума, Талгар, Актас. Установлено, что в это время усуньские могильники состояли из курганов, расположенных бессистемно и цепочками из трех курганов.

И, наконец, к третьему, позднему периоду, который датируется II—III вв., относятся могильники Капчагай II, Чулак-Джигида I, II, Гур-Кора II, Калкан IV.

Все курганы расположены бессистемно, «цепочек» нет. Могилы грунтовые с подбоем, без деревянных перекрытий.

Первое поселение усуней было обнаружено в Чуйской долине, вблизи села Луговое в предгорьях Киргизского Алатау. До раско­пок это был холм-тобе, скрывавший остатки жилищ с глинобитны­ми стенами и обмазанными глиной полами. На полах находились открытые очаги, на которых готовилась пища. Большое количество обломков крупных глиняных сосудов, каменные зернотерки мотыги свидетельствуют о том, что жители поселения занимались земледелием, сочетая его с придомным скотоводством.

В горных районах Тянь-Шаня поселения усуней встречены во многих горных ущельях. Одно из них Актас находится на берегу речки Курайлы, неподалеку от села Кегень. Здесь были открыты остатки пяти жилых и хозяйственных построек, стены которых сложены из камня. Рядом с поселком обнаружены древние поля, которые орошались выведенными из реки арыками.

Хозяйство усуней. Китайские источники характеризуют усуне как кочевников. В них пишется, что усуни «не занимаются ни земледелием, ни садоводством, а со скотом перекочевывают с места на место, судя по приволью в еде и воде».

Действительно, скотоводство сыграло в жизни усуней определяющую роль. Природные условия в Семиречье позволяли кочевать в меридиональном направлении от зимовок, расположенных Моюнкумах и Прибалхашье, к альпийским лугам, расположенным высоко в горах, где летом на горных травах скот жирел и набирал сил на зиму. Расстояние между зимовками и летовками было небольшое — от 30 до 100 км. Поэтому усуни могли долгое время оставаться на местах зимовок и летовок, а также в предгорьях на весенне-осенних пастбищах. Там они строили стационарные жилища, заводили рядом поля и огороды. Доказательством оседлости занятия земледелием служат усуньские поселения с их стационарными жилищами, большим количеством тяжелой глиняной посуды, зернотерками, каменными мотыгами, остатками злаков.

По археологическому материалу прослежено, что роль земледелия увеличивалась от раннего периода истории усуней к позднему.

Таким образом, хозяйство усуней было комплексным - скотоводческо-земледельческим. Усуни разводили лошадей, овец, коз, коров, двугорбых верблюдов, ослов. В стаде преобладали овцы лошади. Из источников известно, что богатые усуни содержали до500 голов лошадей. Лошади были разных пород, в том числе высокопородные скакуны. На золотых бляшках из усуньского кургана Тенлик изображен всадник на крупном высоком жеребце.

Питались усуни мясной и молочной пищей, из зерна выпекал хлеб, на огородах и в садах выращивали овощи и фрукты.

Одежда знатных была из шелка и тонких шерстяных тканей, рядовые люди одевались в одежду из грубошерстяной ткани, кожи, овчин. Шелк завозили из Китая, меняя его на коней, или получая в качестве подарков и дани.

Посуду изготавливали в большом количестве, ее лепили из глины, видимо, женщины, а мужчины вырезали из березы столики-блюда, кубки, черпаки для кумыса.

Усуни разрабатывали месторождения меди, свинца, олова, золота, умели плавить железо, из которого изготавливали ножи, мечи, кинжалы, наконечники стрел. Из цветного камня и благородны металлов делали бусы, серьги, украшения на одежду.

Усуньское общество не было однородным, в нем были богатые — племенная и родовая знать, дружинники, жрецы — и рядовая масса скотоводов и земледельцев. О развитии частной собственности у усуней свидетельствуют находки печатей из глины, камня, найденные при раскопках усуньских курганов. О том, что некоторые усуньские военачальники и крупные чиновники имели золотые и медные печати, говорят письменные источники. Частная собственность распространялась не только на скот, но и на землю. Источники свидетельствуют о развитой системе должностей у верхушки общества. Наряду со свободными общинниками в обществе усуней были рабы, в основном из военнопленных.

Социальные различия в усуньском обществе хорошо прослеживаются по археологическим материалам. Курганы усуней по размеру делятся на три группы: большие, диаметром до 80 и высотой до 15 м; средние, диаметром до 15 и высотой до 2 м и наиболее многочисленные маленькие курганы, диаметром до 10 и высотой до 1 м. В больших курганах при раскопках, если могила не разграблена, археологи находили большое число украшений из золота, оружие, много глиняной посуды. Так, в кургане Тенлик в захоронении были обнаружены золотые бляшки, нашитые на одежду, золотые серьги, железная булава, обтянутая золотом, бронзовое зеркало. В маленьких курганах в могиле стоят один-два глиняных сосуда, рядом со скелетом лежат железные ножи. Похороненные здесь люди когда-то носили бронзовые серьги, бусы. Таким образом, и письменные источники, и археологический материал свидетельствуют о том, что общество усуней достигло уровня государственности11.

© Институт истории и этнологии им.Ч.Ч. Валиханова КН МОН РК, 2013

Не допускается использование материалов на других веб-ресурсах без согласия авторского коллектива 


Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь