Home Prominent figures Abylay Khan (Abilmansur)

Abylay Khan (Abilmansur)

He was an outstanding statesman, brave military commander and visionary politician. Abylay was also known as talented kyuyshi who was deeply familiar with Kazakh folklore and loved it.

8 January 2015

ABYLAY, Abilmansur (1711 (in Russian sources — 1713) — 23.05.1781) was an outstanding statesman, military commander and diplomat. He was a descendant of Zhangir Khan in the fifth generation.

Abylay grew brave, sharp and smart. From the early years he experienced difficulties. During the period named "Aktaban Shubyryndy" ("The Years of Great Disaster") he became an orphan and found shelter in house of Tole bi. The boy was responsible for grazing Tole bi’s camels.

According to Bukhar Zhyrau, Umbetey Zhyrau and others, Abylay became famous warrior in his youth. In battles with Dzungars, which took place in 1730-1740, Abylay earned the glory of batyr (warrior) through his destructive victories over Dzungar invaders. In one of the battles Abylay killed Sharysh, the son (in some sources — son-in-law) of Dzungar Khong Tayiji Galdan Tseren. After this victorious fight Abylay became Sultan of the Middle Zhuz. All people called him Abylay after his grandfather.

In August 1740 together with the Khan of the Middle Zhuz Abilmambet and 120 elders Abylay came to Orenburg and agreed to accept the sovereignty of Russia.

In 1741 Abylay was captured by Dzungars. According to historical sources, Tole bi and Abulkhair Khan submitted a request to administration of the city of Orenburg for the assistance in Abylay’s release. It happened on September 5, 1743. Russian embassy headed by K. Miller helped them to release Abylay from the captivity. Upon the Order of the Vice-Chancellor M. Vorontsov and the decision of the Foreign Association (1749) on behalf of the Tsarist Government, Abylay was given annual financial rewards and other assistance.

The new stage of strengthening the authority of Abylay (1744) coincided with the removal of Abilmambet-Khan to Turkestan.

In 1752 Kazakh army (approximately 15-20 thousand people) under the command of Abylay repelled the attack of Dzungars.

In December 1753, as a result of successful fight against Dzungars, Abylay freed significant part of Kazakh lands and captured 3 000 Kalmyks.

In 1754-1755 Kyrgyz army attacked some villages in Semirechye and defeated the units under the command of batyrs Zhaugash, Kokzhal Barak and Shynkozha near the rivers Aksu, Koksu and Chu. In response to it Abylay gathered a huge army, resisted Kyrgyz troops and thus liberated the territory between the rivers Ili and Chu from invaders.

In 1756 Kazakhs had two military campaigns against united forces of Chinese and Kalmyk armies under the leadership of Abylay. One battle was won in another they were defeated and Abylay was injured.

In 1757 Abylay’s army (up to 6 thousand people in total) successfully fought against Chinese troops consisting of 40 thousand soldiers. As a result, Chinese side asked for making peace.

After the next defeat of Kyrgyz army in 1764 Abylay established the border between Kazakh and Kyrgyz land from Narynkol to Korday which has survived till our time.

In 1756-1767 Abylay’s war against the ruler of Kokand Yerdenbek resulted in occupation of the cities Turkestan, Sayram, Shymkent. In addition the city of Tashkent was obliged to pay tribute to the Kazakh Khanate.

Abylay fought a long battle with Kalmyk army. In 1771 near the Moyynty River, during the bloody battles with Kalmyks, Abylay won another victory.

In 1771 Kalmyk army under the command of Ubashi and Galdan Tseren requested Abylay to make a peace and the opportunity to go through Kazakh lands towards Dzungaria. Not far from Lake Balkash at the military council gathered to discuss the suggestion of Kalmyks Abylay tried to convince the participants that there was no need to destruct the enemy. He put the idea of peace agreement with Kalmyks and suggested to approve their migration. At that period Kalmyk nation accounted 170-180 thousand people, including 40 thousand military men.

In 1771 Abilmambet passed away. According to established tradition, one of his brothers or his elder son Abilpeiz had the right to became next Khan of the Middle Zhuz. However, upon the wish of main sultans, elders and Abilpeiz, influential representatives of all three Zhuzes proclaimed Abylay Khan. Despite the official recognition of Abylay as the Khan of a whole Kazakh nation, Chinese Emperor, Dzungarian Khong Tayiji, Central Asian rulers and Russian Empress Catherine II treated him as a Khan on the Middle Zhuz only. The reason was that they were concerned about his increasing strength.

In 1772 Abylay swore its allegiance to the Russian Empire again. From the one hand, it gave him an opportunity to protect the South-Eastern borders of the Kazakh Khanate from future Chinese aggression. From the other hand, it enhanced him to have relations with Russia within the established legal frameworks.

Abylay paid much attention to consolidation of the Kazakh Khanate. He managed to unite Kazakh forces and make it a powerful military state. He coordinated his policy with the geopolitical position of the Kazakh Khanate which was situated between the two empires — Russian and China. Abylay didn’t break diplomatic relations with the Qing Empire and cleverly used any dispute between the Russian and Chinese Empires to achieve the goal of the Kazakh Khanate. As Abylay’s relations with Chine became stronger he began avoiding contacts with Russia. In 1779 he refused the invitation of the Tsarist administration to visit their country and adopt symbols of Khan’s power.

During the uprising of Yemelyan Pugachev Abylay attacked Russian fortresses with the army of 2 thousand people.

To expand diplomatic ties of the Kazakh Khanate Abylay developed negotiations with the ruler of Afghanistan Ahmad Shah Durrani and prepared diplomatic mission to Turkey.

Abylay was also known as talented kyuyshi who was deeply familiar with Kazakh folklore and loved it. He was the author of many kyuys.

Abylay spent his life in military campaigns and died near the Arys River in Southern Kazakhstan. He was buried in mausoleum-mosque of Khodja Ahmet Yassawi.

He had 12 wives, 30 sons and 40 daughters.
Abylay’s image was reflected in kyuys of Bukhar, Umbetey, Shadi-tore Zhangiruly; poems of Kopbay Zhamantayuly, Mazhit Aytbaev; works of I. Esenberlin, A. Kekilbaev, K. Zhumadilov and others.

The personality of Abylay attracted attention of national and foreign researchers, including Sh. Walikhanov, V. Bartold, N. Mynzhani, R. Suleymenov, M. Magauin, M. Olkott, J. Wheeler and others.

Abylay is remembers as outstanding statesman, talented military commander and visionary politician. One of streets in the city of Astana was named after him.

In 2013 the 300 anniversary of Abylay-Khan was celebrated in the city of Kokshetau.

Kazakhstan. National encyclopedia. Ed. by B. G. Ayagan, Almaty: "Kazak entsiklopediyasy", 2004, 560 p., pp. 93-94.
Akmola. Encyclopedia. Almaty: Atamura, 1995, 400 p., p. 284
Kazakh-Russian relations in the 16th-18th centuries. Alma-Ata, 1961
Ch. Walikhanov. Abylay. Collection of works, V. 4, Alma-Ata, 1985
R. B. Suleymenov, V. A. Moiseev. The History of Kazakhstan in the 18th century. Alma-Ata, 1988
Abylay Khan. Historical poems. V. 1. A. 1993

Abylay Khan (Abilmansur)
  • First name
  • Abylay Khan (Abilmansur)
  • Line of activity/Occupation
  • Governors, khans, sultans
  • Birthday
  • 1711
  • Deathday
  • 1781

Главная Персоналии Абылай хан (Абилмансур)

Абылай хан (Абилмансур)

Выдающийся государственный дея­тель, храбрый полководец и даль­новидный политик. Абылай известен также как талантливый кюйши, который хорошо знал и любил фольклор казахского народа.

АБЫЛАЙ, Абилмансур (1711 (в русских источниках — 1713) — 23.05.1781) — крупный государственный деятель, полководец, дипломат. Потомок Жангир-хана в пятом поколении.

Рос храбрым, сметливым и умным, с юных лет познал тяготы жизни. В годы «Ақтабан шубырынды» («Годы Великого бедствия»), оставшись сиротой, нашел приют у Толе би, который поручил ему пасти своих верблюдов.

По сведениям Бухар жырау, Умбетей жырау и других представителей устного творчества, Абылай уже в молодости стал известным воином. В сражениях 1730 — 1740 годов против джунгар Абылай обрел славу батыра, неся сокрушительные удары джунгарским захватчикам. В одном из сражений Абылай убил Шарыша сына (в некоторых источниках — зятя) джунгарского хунтайджи Галдан-Цэрэна. После победного боя стал султаном Среднего жуза. Все называли его Абылаем в честь деда.

В августе 1740 году вместе с ханом Среднего жуза Абилмамбетом и 120 старшинами Абылай приехал в Оренбург и дал согласие о принятии Российского подданства.
В 1741 был взят в плен джунгарами. В исторических источниках говорится, что Толе би и Абылхайр-хан направили в Оренбургскую администрацию просьбу об оказании помочи в освобождении Абылая из джунгарского плена. Это произошло 5 сентября 1743 году. В освобождении Абылая из плена приняло участие русское посольство, возглавляемое К. Миллером. По приказу вице-канцлера М. Воронцова и «определению» Иностранной коллегии (1749) от имени царского правительства Абылаю выдавались ежегодные денежные вознаграждения, оказывалась и другая помощь.

Новый этап укрепления власти Абылая (1744) совпал с переездом Абилмамбет-хана в Туркестан.

В 1752 году руководимое Абылаем войско (примерно 15–20 тысяч человек) отбило нападение ойратов.

В декабре 1753 года успешно сражаясь с джунгарами, Абылай освободил значительную часть казахских земель, взяв в плен 3000 калмыков.

В 1754 — 1755 годы кыргызы напали па некоторые аулы в Жетысу, разгромили отряды батыров Жаугаш, Кокжал Барака и Шынкожы на беpегax pек Аксу, Коксу и Чу. В ответ Абылай собрал значительное войско и дал отпор кыргызам, очистив междуречье Иле и Чy от захватчиков.
В 1756 году под руководством Абылая казахи дважды воевали против объединенных сил китайцев и калмыков, в одном из сражений потерпели поражение (сам Абылай получил ранение), в другом одержали победу.

В 1757 воины Абылая численностью 6 тысяч человек успешно боролись против китайских войск, в состав которых входило 40 тысяч человек. В результате китайцы попросили у Абылая мира.

После очередного поражения кыргызов в 1764 года, Абылай установил сохранившуюся до нашего времени границу между казахами и кыргызами от Нарынкола до Кордая.
В 1765 — 1767 годы война Абылая с правителем Коканда Ерденбеком увенчалась взятием городов Туркестан, Сайрам, Шымкент и обязательством Ташкента платить дань Казахскому ханству.

Абылай вел длительную борьбу с калмыками. В 1771 в тяжелых боях с калмыками на побережье реки Мойынты Абылай одержал очередную победу.
В 1771 году волжские калмыки под предводительством Убаши и Галдан-Цэрэна обратились к Абылаю с просьбой о перемирии и мирном пересечении земель казахов в сторону Джунгарии. Вблизи озера Балкаш, на военном совете, созванном для обсуждения предложений калмыков, Абылай старался убедить присутствующих в том, что нет необходимости в истреблении врага. Он предлагает прийти к соглашению с калмыками, дать им возможность перекочевать (170 — 180 тысяч, войско 40 тысяч человек) в Джунгарию через казахские земли.

В 1771 скончался Абилмамбет. По установленной традиции ханом Среднего жуза должен был стать один из братьев или старший сын Абилмамбета Абилпеиз. Однако, пожеланию главных султанов, старшин и самого Абилпеиза, влиятельные представители всех трех жузов провозгласили ханом Абылая. Несмотря на то, что Абылая официально признали ханом всего казахского народа, китайский император, джунгарский хунтайджи, среднеазиатские правители, российская императрица Екатерина II боясь возросшего авторитета Абылая, считались с ним только как с ханом Среднего жуза.

В 1772 году Абылай повторно присягнул на верность России, что позволило, с одной стороны, обезопасить юго-восточные рубежи от возможной китайской агрессии, а с другой — вести отношения с Россией в рамках, существовавших в то время правовых установлений.

Все свои силы отдавал укреплению Казахского ханства. Абылай сумел объединить силы Казахского ханства, превратив его в мощное военное государство. Вел свою политику в соответствии с геополитическим положением Казахского ханства, находящегося между империями — Россией и Китаем. Не прерывал дипломатических отношений с Цинской империей, умело используя разногласия между Россией и Китайской империей в интересах Казахского ханства. По мере сближения с китайцами Абылай стал избегать отношений с Россией. В 1779 году отказался поехать в Россию по приглашению царской администрации для принятия знаков ханского достоинства.

Во время восстания Е.Пугачева Абылай с войском в 3000 чел атаковал русские крепости.

Для расширения дипломатических связей Казахского ханства активно развивал переговорный диалог с правителем Афганистана Ахмат-шахом Дуррани, готовил посольства в Турцию.
Абылай известен также как талантливый кюйши, который хорошо знал и любил фольклор казахского народа. Он сочинил кюи: «Ақ толқын», «Булан жігіт», «Дуние қалды», «Жетім торы», «Қайран елім», «Қара жорға», «Қоржың қакпай», «Майда жел», «Садақ қаққан», «Сары бура», «Шаңды жорық" и других.

Абылай провел жизнь в походах, скончался на берегу реки Арыс в Южно-Казахстанской области. Похоронен в мавзолее-мечети Ходжа Ахмета Яссауи.

У Абылая остались 30 сыновей и 40 дочерей от 12 жен.

Образ Абылая нашел отражение в кюях жырау Бухара, Умбетея, Шади-торе Жангирулы; в поэмах Копбая Жамантайулы, Мажита Айтбаева; в произведения И. Есенберлина, А. Кекильбаева, К. Жумадилова и др.

Личность Абылая привлекала внимание отечественных и зарубежных ученых-исследователей (Ш. Уалиханов, В. Бартольд, Н. Мынжани, Р. Сулейменов, М. Магауин, М. Олкотт, Дж. Уиллер и других).

В памяти казахского народа Абылай сохранился как выдающийся государственный деятель, талантливый полководец и дальновидный политик. В его честь названа улица в г. Астане.

В 2013 году в г. Кокшетау праздновалось 300-летие со дня рождения Абылай-хана.

Литература

Казахстан. Национальная энциклопедия. / Гл. ред. Б. Аяган. — Алматы: Главная редакция: «Қазақ энциклопедиясы», 2004 — 560 с. — С. 93 — 94.
Акмола: Энциклопедия. — Алматы: Атамура, 1995, — 400 с. — C. 284.


[1]Лит.: Казахско-русские отношения в XVI – XVIII веках. - А.-А., 1961: Валиханов Ч. Абылай // Собрание сочинений, т. 4. - А.-А., 1985; Сулейменов Р.Б., Моисеев В. А. Из истории Казахстана XVIII в. - А.-А., 1988; Абылай хан // Исторические поэмы. т. 1. - А., 1993; Левшин А. Описание киргиз-кайсацких, или киргиз казачьих орд и степей. - А., 1996.

Абылай хан (Абилмансур)
  • Имя
  • Абылай хан (Абилмансур)
  • Род деятельности
  • Правители, ханы, султаны
  • Дата рождения
  • 1711
  • Дата смерти
  • 1781