«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future»
N.A.Nazarbayev

One of the first feminist

1507 0
One of the first feminist
March 8 is the day of women's feminism. And what do we know about Muslim feminism? Akkagaz Doszhanova was a representative of the feminist movement of Kazakhstan

Many of our compatriots for example Gulsum Asfendiyarova, sister of Sanzhar Asfendiyarov, active figure of Alash-Orda and Akkagaz Doszhanova are among the leaders of the feminist movement of the early 20th century. They were the first who received higher medical education and became certified doctors. At the February Moscow Congress of Muslims in 1917, it was decided to send at least one woman from each regional association to the supreme executive body of the local self-government of Muslims. It turned out that only the Kazakh delegation decided to send a woman to the council - Akkagaz Doszhanova, whose election was later to be confirmed by the All-Kazakhstan Congress.

The native of the Turgay region of the Orenburg province Akkagaz was orphaned early, her elder brother Sagyndyk became her trustee. Educated himself Sagyndyk Doszhanov tried to educate his younger sister. First he identified her in the Tatar school in Orenburg, then in the women's gymnasium. There she studied together with Gulaiym Baigurina-Balgynbaeva, Rakhima Gabdilkalikyzy.

Then Akkagaz entered the highest female courses in Moscow, where she chose the medical faculty. The February revolution of 1917, social work, learning difficulties, confusion and vacillation all influenced on Akkagaz’s health. On the doctor’s advice she returned to the village.

At this time there was a war between the White Guards and the Reds. Along the way, she was taken prisoner to Kolchak - she was imprisoned, as a "Bolshevik", "spy" and "activist." Her friends came to the rescue, and she managed to return home with great difficulty.

Akkagaz finished the medical faculty of Turkestan State University in Tashkent. The famous scientist-translator Saydil Talzhanov took part in the celebrations on the occasion of the graduation of the university, and Mukhtar Auezov headed the entertainment part.

The main newspaper of Bolsheviks “Pravda” wrote:

 

"Tashkent. December 18, 1922. The Council of People's Commissars of the Turkestan Republic decided to issue a prize of 100 000 rubles and equip at their own expense an office for a female doctor Doszhanova, who graduated this autumn from the medical faculty of the Turkestan Republic, who received a higher education."

By the decision of the Council of People’s Commissars of the Turkestan Republic as of December 14, 1922, the university established a scholarship named after A. Doszhanova.

From the memories of Alim Girey Yershin, spouse of Akkagaz

"I met Akkagaz in Tashkent in the autumn of 1921. Before the arrival of Akkagaz, we students and employees in Tashkent lived together, worked actively. Often we held student parties. With the arrival of Akkagaz our friendship became even stronger. Among the girls Akkagaz was the oldest, and I was the oldest among the students, our friends and comrades began to joke and frankly "woo" us.

For a long time I avoided these conversations, Akkagaz also gave no sign.

In 1921, I was commissioner of the children's commission for the evacuation and resettlement of the starving people of Volga and the Urals to the more well-fed areas of Central Asia. During the years 1921-22 I accompanied at least 15 echelons of 1500 (adults and children) in each. Teacher-educators, led by Akkagaz, waited for us in Tashkent, met echelons to carry out a thorough examination and selection of children and patients. When meeting these echelons, Akkagaz rushed to provide first aid to the sick and starving people, women and children, quickly checked whether they were sick or not, and sent them, if necessary, to hospitals or boarding schools-isolators, giving everyone precise instructions and strict directions to whom and what to do, whom and where to send and what to prepare on the spot before she arrived.

If, prior to her arrival, all the organizational work was in our hands, then soon Akkagaz seized the initiative rather authoritatively and, rightly so, she installed a more reasonable leadership. In the ten years of medical and pedagogical service (from 1921 to 1930), tens of thousands of students "passed" through her hands, because in only one Tashkent, out of 17 boarding schools, up to 3,000 students were graduated annually. And there were also children's homes and shelters. And it was not only in Tashkent.

Akkagaz Doszhanova was a nugget - both as a pediatrician and as an educator. She perfectly mastered Russian, Kazakh, and Tatar languages. When she talked she clearly coined every word, did not confuse the end and stress. We all, not only students, but also public figures, writers and poets at that time had a poor command of Russian - and in comparison with Akkagaz, perhaps even worse knew our native Kazakh language. It was only natural that we all were afraid to "cut off" at the endings by getting confused in the masculine and feminine genders, get trapped in front of Akkagaz, and get a comment. Poets-writers: Magzhan Zhumabaev, Mukhtar Auezov, Zhusupbek Aimautov and others were afraid to utter an extra word in front of her.

Akkagaz was musical; she had a sensitive ear and a good voice. She especially liked Kazakh kyui on dombra, and if someone from the students or teachers played selflessly, professionally, she invited to her and could listen to their performance for a long time. For a long time we did not know if she knows how to dance, but on one of the evenings Akkagaz happened to show how to dance the mazurka. Not everyone could dance the mazurka correctly - many complex figures and in the old days the mazurka was danced mainly by the military aristocracy and higher officers.

In the spring of 1925 I made an offer to Akkagaz ... and was refused.

After this conversation, I left the land management party for geodesic practice in Osh, warning her that I was leaving for Kyrgyzstan forever, and then to China. Akkagaz, having received a blessing from her elder brother Sagyndyk, came to me in Osh in the summer of 1925. We arranged a small evening and we can say, married "secretly" and without noise. For what we were later reproached, and even greatly offended. September 5, 1926 our son was born. In the 1930-31 we moved to Alma-Ata, where I worked at the collective farm center and Akkagaz in one of the city hospitals.

In the auls, when the child was crying or sick, the Kazakhs and Kirghiz lulled them in the cradles, singing that the doctor Akkagaz would come and cure all their diseases, would caress and soothe. And the children, as if understanding, ceased to cry and fell asleep.

In the last year of our life in Chemolgan, terrible mosquitoes appeared and bit our whole family. I then went on a mission, fell ill, at the station Arys was taken off the train with a high temperature and put in a railway hospital with malaria. As soon as I recovered a little, I went to Alma-Ata, gathered my family, and we moved to Shymkent. There Akkagaz became very hard, and on January 21, 1932, she closed her eyes forever. She lived only 39 years.

 

By Dina IGSATOVA

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111).

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Публикации

Одна из первых феминисток

08 Марта 2017
760
0
Одна из первых феминисток
8 марта - день женского феминизма. А что мы известно о мусульманском феминизме? Аккагаз Досжанова была представителем феминистского движения Казахстана

К лидерам феминистского движения начала 20-го века относятся многие и наши соотечественницы – Гульсум Асфендиярова, родная сестра Санжара Асфендиярова, активного деятеля Алаш-Орды и Аккагаз Досжанова. Они были первыми, получившими высшее медицинское образование и ставшими дипломированными врачами. На февральском московском съезде мусульман 1917 года было решено направить от каждого регионального объединения в высший исполнительный орган самоуправления мусульман хотя бы по одной женщине. Оказалось, что лишь казахская делегация решилась направить в совет женщину – Аккагаз Досжанову, избрание которой позже должен был подтвердить всеказахский съезд.

Уроженка Тургайской области Оренбурской губернии Аккагаз рано осиротела, попечителем ее стал старший брат Сагындык. Образованный сам Сагындык Досжанов постарался дать образование своей младшей сестренке. Сначала он определил ее в татарскую школу в Оренбурге, затем в женскую гимназию. Там она училась вместе с Гулайим Байгуриной-Балгынбаевой, Рахимой Габдилкаликызы.

Затем Аккагаз поступает в высшие женские курсы в Москве, где выбрала медицинский факультет. Февральская революция 1917 года, общественная работа, трудности с учебой, разброд и шатание все это повлияло на здоровье Аккагаз. По совету врачей вернулась в аул.

В это время шла война между белогвардейцами и красными. По пути она попала к колчаковцам в плен – ее садят в тюрьму, как «большевика», «шпиона» и «активистку». Пришли на помощь друзья, и ей удалось вернуться с большим трудом домой.

Завершила образование Аккагаз в Ташкенте, закончив медицинский факультет Туркестанского государственного университета. В торжествах по случаю окончания вуза принимал участие известный ученый - переводчик Сайдил Талжанов, а увеселительной частью руководил Мухтар Ауэзов.

Главная газета большевиков «Правда» писала:

«Ташкент. 18 декабря 1922 года.

Совнарком Туркестанской республики постановил выдать премию в 100 000 р. и оборудовать за свой счет кабинет женщине-врачу – киргизке Досжановой, окончившей осенью этого года медфакультет Туркестанской республики, получившей высшее образование».

Постановлением СН Комиссаров Туркестанской республики от 14 декабря 1922 года в университете была учреждена стипендия имени А. Досжановой.

Из воспоминаний Алим Гирей Ершина, супруга Аккагаз

«Познакомился с Аккагаз в Ташкенте, осенью 1921 года. До приезда Аккагаз, мы студенты и работники в Ташкенте жили дружно, работали активно. Нередко устраивали студенческие вечеринки. С приездом Аккагаз наша дружба стала еще крепче. Так как из девушек Аккагаз была самая старшая, а я самый старший из студентов, наши друзья-товарищи стали подшучивать и откровенно говоря «сватать» нас.

Долгое время я избегал этих разговоров, Аккагаз тоже не подавала виду.

В 1921 году я был уполномоченным детской комиссии по эвакуации и расселению голодающих Поволжья и Урала в более сытые районы Средней Азии. За 1921-22 годы я сопроводил не менее 15 эшелонов по 1500 (взрослых и детей) в каждом. Учителя-воспитатели, во главе с Аккагаз, ждали нас в Ташкенте, встречали эшелоны, чтобы произвести тщательный осмотр и отбор детей и больных. Аккагаз при встрече этих эшелонов бросалась оказывать первую медицинскую помощь больным и голодающим, женщинам и детям, быстро проверяла больны они или нет и направляла, если нужно в больницы, или интернаты-изоляторы, давая всем точные наставления и строгие указания кому и что сделать, кого и куда отправлять и что подготовить на месте до ее прихода.

Если до ее приезда вся организационная работа находилась у нас в руках, то вскоре Аккагаз перехватила инициативу довольно авторитетно и, справедливо сказать – установила более разумное руководство. За десять лет медицинской и педагогической службы (с 1921 по 1930 гг.) через ее руки «прошли» десятки тысяч учеников, ведь только в одном Ташкенте ежегодно выпускалось из 17 школ-интернатов до 3000 учащихся. А еще были детдома и приюты. И не только в Ташкенте.

Аккагаз Досжанова была самородком – и как врач-педиатр, и как педагог. В совершенстве владела русским, казахским, татарским языками. Когда разговаривала - ясно отчеканивала каждое слово, не путала окончания и ударения. Мы же все, не только студенты, но и общественные деятели, писатели и поэты в то время слабо владели русским языком – и в сравнении с Аккагаз, пожалуй, даже хуже знали свой родной казахский язык. Вполне естественно, что все мы боялись «срезаться» на окончаниях путаясь в мужском и женском родах, попасть впросак перед Аккагаз, получить замечание. Поэты-писатели: Магжан Жумабаев, Мухтар Ауэзов, Жусупбек Аймаутов и другие боялись проронить лишнее слово перед ней.

Аккагаз была музыкальна, имела чуткий слух и хороший голос. Особенно ей нравились казахские кюи на домбре, и, если кто-то из студентов или учителей-воспитателей играл самозабвенно, профессионально, она приглашала к себе и подолгу могла слушать их исполнение. Долгое время мы не знали, умеет ли она танцевать, но на одном из вечеров Аккагаз довелось показать, как нужно танцевать мазурку. Мазурку танцевать не всякий мог правильно – много сложных фигур и в старое время мазурку танцевали преимущественно военная аристократия и высшее офицерство.

Весной 1925 года я сделал Аккагаз предложение ... и получил отказ.

После этого разговора я уехал с землеустроительной партией на геодезическую практику в г. Ош, предупредив ее, что уезжаю в Киргизию навсегда, а дальше в Китай. Аккагаз, получив благословение от старшего брата Сагындыка, приехала летом 1925 года ко мне в г. Ош. Мы устроили небольшой вечер и можно сказать, поженились «тайком» и без шума. За что нас впоследствии упрекали, и даже сильно обижались. 5 сентября 1926 года у нас родился сын. В 1930- 31 гг. переехали в Алма-Ату, где я работал в колхозцентре, а Аккагаз – в одной из горбольниц.

В аулах, когда ребенок плакал или болел, казашки и киргизки убаюкивали их в люльках, напевая, что придет врач Аккагаз и вылечит от всех болезней, приласкает и успокоит. И дети, будто понимая, переставали плакать и крепко засыпали.

В последний год нашей совместной жизни в Чемолгане появились ужасные комары и перекусали всю нашу семью. Я поехал тогда в командировку, заболел, на ст. Арысь меня сняли с поезда с высокой температурой и положили в железнодорожную больницу с малярией. Как только немного поправился, поехал в Алма-Ату, собрал семью, и мы переехали в Чимкент. Там Аккагаз стало совсем тяжело, и 21 января 1932 года она закрыла глаза навсегда. Она прожила всего 39 лет.

Дина ИГСАТОВА

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

 

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?