Home E-resources People in the flow of history One nation - one country - one destiny Religions and confessions Orthodoxy history in Kazakhstan

Orthodoxy history in Kazakhstan

15 August 2013
937
1

Orthodoxy in Kazakhstan is the second for the number of believers after Islam the religious direction.

Emergence of Orthodoxy in our country is connected with the military settlements which have arisen owing to accession of Kazakhstan to Russia. In the south the first military причты (small churches, houses of worship) appear in 1866 in Turkestan and Shymkent. In 1871 the Turkestani diocese was formed. In 1872 the first of the Kazakhstan bishops was appointed to chair of the created Vernensky and Semirechensky diocese – the archbishop of Sofony (Sokolsky) who operated a diocese for 1877.

Construction of churches in the southern part of Kazakhstan began in the 80th of the XIX century. So, in 1901 in Syr-Darya area there were eight stone temples, constructed of the burned brick. By the beginning of the XX century 391 thousand orthodox Christians lived in Turkestan (which structure included also many lands of Kazakhstan) and 306 churches worked.

Establishment of the Soviet power in 1917 led to the beginning of the large-scale atheistic campaign, proceeding seven decades. This campaign was accompanied by destruction of temples, clergy prosecution, confiscation of property of church. In the 1920-1930th many priests were shot or sentenced to long imprisonment terms.

In the 30th of the XX century Kazakhstan became a place of the link of clergy and laymen of Russian Orthodox Church. This period coincided with the beginning of process of collectivization as a result of which the nomadic life of Kazakhs was destroyed, the Kazakh auls and country farms of the Russian immigrants that turned back unprecedented for all history of edge the hunger million people became which victims were ruined.

Certain eases concerning religion began in days of the Great Patriotic War when the Russian Orthodox Church supported patriotic spirit of the Soviet people in fight against fascist aggressors. In Kazakhstan began to open temples again.

Restoration of orthodox life in our republic began since 1945 when the Almaty and Kazakhstan diocese was founded, metropolitan Nikolay (Mogilyov), nowadays canonized was the first which ruling bishop.

In heavy military and post-war years Kazakhstan continued to accept exiled of priests, many of which found a shelter at locals, including Muslims. So, living in exile in the Aktyubinsk area, at deaf railway station Chelkar, Nikolay's svyashchennoispovednik, in the future become the metropolitan Almaty and Kazakhstan, rescued from death the simple Tatar Muslim. In the fall of 1942 it picked up it, half-dead, lying without memory on the road, brought to hospital, and then sheltered in the house.

As well the metropolitan Almaty and Kazakhstan Joseph (Chernov), being from 1954 to 1956 in exile in Kokshetau, it was accepted in a large Muslim Kazakh family where lived as dear member of this family.

However the state policy as a whole kept the atheistic character. Religious activity was rigidly supervised by the power.

Original revival of religious life including orthodox church, began after finding of independence by Kazakhstan. That Islam and Orthodoxy became important pillars of spirituality of our country, President Nursultan Nazarbayev repeatedly spoke. So, visiting on January 7, 2012. Sacred Uspensky a cathedral in Astana, the Head of state noticed: "As the bird can't fly with one wing, and the state can't move with one wing. Both wings – Islam and Orthodoxy – the main religious faiths in our country. All of us are people, uniform on this earth, but we different, on language, on appearance, on religion. But the great patience always is a basis for peace life".

Recognition of a freedom of worship allowed believers to return to full-blooded spiritual life. If in 1956 in Kazakhstan only 55 arrivals of the Russian Orthodox Church (ROC) functioned, for the beginning of 1999 212 arrivals and 8 monasteries acted on the territory of the republic. For the last decade further growth is noted.

In 2012, according to requirements of the Law "About Religious Activity and Religious Associations", in the republic the re-registration of religious associations was carried out. Following the results of a re-registration, as of October 25, 2012 in Kazakhstan 271 religious associations of orthodox church, including republican religious association – the Metropolitan district, and also 9 dioceses and 261 arrivals worked. The greatest number of orthodox communities is registered in Almaty, East Kazakhstan, North Kazakhstan, Kostanaysky, Karaganda and Akmolinsky areas.

Also in Kazakhstan orthodox monasteries work. Practically at all churches and houses of worship parish schools on studying of bases of Orthodoxy are open, Sunday schools at which are trained both children, and adults work.

In 1995 the state transferred churches the Voznesensky cathedral to Almaty constructed at the beginning of the XX century and recognized as a unique monument of architecture. Temples and in other cities are returned to orthodox communities. Now a lot of work on restoration of old cult buildings and construction of new churches and houses of worship is carried out.

Kazakhstan brought the contribution in restoration of the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour in Moscow. The granite direction from the Kordaysky field intended for finishing of walls of the temple became gratuitous gift of our country.

Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia Alex II (heading Russian Orthodox Church in 1990-2008) in July, 1995 made visit to Kazakhstan, having visited Almaty and Karaganda. In Karaganda it consecrated Sacred Vvedensky the cathedral which has become one of largest and most beautiful in Central Asia.

Are in recent years constructed the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour to Almaty, the Blagoveshchensk cathedral in Pavlodar, the Serafimo-Iversky cathedral in Ekibastuz, the Ioanno-Bogoslovsky cathedral in Taldykorgan, the Constantino-Eleninsky temple in Kostanaye, Sacred Nikolsky the temple in Satpayev and many other temples across all Kazakhstan. In 2009 cathedral Sacred Uspensky a cathedral in Astana is constructed. Some monasteries are also opened.

In June, 2005 in Astana the festive events devoted to 150-year anniversary from the date of opening and consecration of the Constantino-Eleninsky cathedral were held.

In January, 2010 Kazakhstan was visited by Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia Kirill. The head of Russian Orthodox Church visited Almaty and Astana, met representatives of the public, held church services in temples. Consecration of cathedral Sacred Uspenskogo of a cathedral in the capital of Kazakhstan became the main event of visit.

The number of officially recognized holidays in Kazakhstan included an orthodox holiday of Christmas (on January 7). This day is in the republic day off.

In recent years structural reform of Orthodoxy in our country is carried out. In May, 2003. The sacred synod of Russian Orthodox Church made the decision on creation in the Republic of Kazakhstan of the Metropolitan district as a part of Astanaysky, Ural and Shymkent dioceses. The metropolitan district is a special form of association of the dioceses, existing within Russian Orthodox Church only in Kazakhstan. The district was created for coordination of religious and educational, publishing, social and other socially significant activity of dioceses in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan. In 2003-2010 the district was headed by metropolitan Mefodiy (Nemtsov). In 2010 the metropolitan Astanaysky and Kazakhstan Alexander (Mogilyov) is appointed the head of the district.

In July, 2010. The sacred synod of Russian Orthodox Church accepted a number of the documents defining the status of the Kazakhstan metropolitanate as new initial division of Russian Orthodox Church, allocated with the considerable rights of independence – the Metropolitan district in the Republic of Kazakhstan (Orthodox Church of Kazakhstan). July 26, 2010. The sacred synod of Russian Orthodox Church approved the charter of independent initial structure in the republic – the Metropolitan district headed by metropolitan Alexander.

In recent years there is a reforming of structure of Orthodox church of Kazakhstan. Till October, 2010. The metropolitan district included three dioceses with the centers in Astana, Chimkent and Uralsk. In 2010-2011 the decision of the Sacred synod of Russian Orthodox Church created six new dioceses with the centers in to Karaganda, Kostanaye, Pavlodar, Kokshetau, Petropavlovsk and Ust Kamenogorsk.

Thus, the structure of the Metropolitan district includes now nine dioceses:

– Astanaysky and Almaty diocese, with the center in Astana, including arrivals of the cities of Astana, Almaty and Almaty area;

– Karaganda, with the center in Karaganda, including arrivals of the Karaganda region;

– Kokshetausky diocese, with the center in of Kokshetau, including arrivals of Akmolinsky area;

– Kostanaysky, with the center in of Kostanaye, including arrivals of the Kostanay region;

– Pavlodar, with the center in Pavlodar, including arrivals of the Pavlodar region;

– Peter and Paul Bulayevskaya a diocese, with the center in Petropavlovsk, including arrivals of the North Kazakhstan area;

– The Ural diocese, with the center in Uralsk, including arrivals of the Aktyubinsk, Atyrausky, West Kazakhstan and Mangistausky areas;

– The Ust Kamenogorsk diocese, with the center in Ust Kamenogorsk, including arrivals of the East Kazakhstan region;

– The Chimkent diocese, with the center in Chimkent, including arrivals of Zhambylsky, Kyzylordinsky and Southern Kazakhstan areas.

On May 29, 2012 in Astana the building of the Synod of Orthodox Church of Kazakhstan and Spiritual the cultural and educational center of a name equal to the apostles Kirill and Mefodiy was open.

In 2010 the Theological seminary in Almaty – the highest theological educational institution of orthodox church (earlier only spiritual school there worked) was open.

The orthodox church cooperates with a number of the ethnocultural centers, public organizations, including with Svetoch fund which maintains relations with public organizations and educational institutions of Russia.

The close attention is paid to work with younger generation. It should be noted that now in each orthodox church youth groups (in addition to Sunday schools) work, and specially fixed priest head is engaged in them. In February, 2012 the I Congress of orthodox youth of the Republic of Kazakhstan at which the decision on creation of Orthodox youth movement of Kazakhstan was made took place.

The orthodox church is the constant participant of dialogue of religions and civilizations. Representatives of Orthodoxy actively act during forums, conferences, round tables of various level. Delegations of high level represented Russian Orthodox Church at all four congresses of leaders of world and traditional religions in Astana. For participation in work of the IV Congress in 2012 to the capital of Kazakhstan there arrived Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia Kirill.

In the performance he emphasized: "Kazakhstan and its hospitable capital already for the fourth time become a global platform of discussion of problems of universal character on the basis of dialogue of religious traditions. It is necessary to be glad to that with the assistance of the state structures leaders of world and traditional religions have here fine opportunity to gather and think over how ответить on calls, uniform not only for our religious communities, but also for the majority of people of the world".

From the very beginning of history of independent Kazakhstan the Russian Orthodox Church, in particular, its metropolitan district in RK, was and remains to this day the reliable partner of the state in carrying out policy of strengthening of the interfaith world and stability in society.


Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Тилеу Нурсултанов17.03.2014, 19:04

http://rusk.ru/st.php?idar=1001036

Главная Е-ресурсы Народ в потоке истории Один народ – одна страна – одна судьба Религии и конфессии История православия в Казахстане

История православия в Казахстане

15 Августа 2013
955
1

Православие в Казахстане является вторым по численности верующих после ислама религиозным направлением.

Появление православия в нашей стране связано  с военными поселениями, возникшими вследствие присоединения Казахстана к России. На юге первые военные причты  (маленькие церкви, молитвенные дома) появляются в 1866 г. в Туркестане и Шымкенте. В 1871 г. была образована Туркестанская епархия. В 1872 г. на кафедру созданной Верненской и Семиреченской епархии был назначен первый из казахстанских архиереев – архиепископ Софония (Сокольский), который управлял епархией по 1877 г.

Строительство церквей в южной части Казахстана началось в 80-е гг. XIX в. Так, в 1901 г. в Сырдарьинской области имелось восемь каменных храмов, построенных из обожженного кирпича. К началу XX в. в Туркестане (в состав которого входили и многие земли Казахстана) проживала 391 тысяча православных христиан и действовало 306 церквей.

Установление советской власти в 1917 г. привело к началу масштабной атеистической кампании, продолжавшейся семь десятилетий. Эта кампания сопровождалась уничтожением храмов, преследованием духовенства, конфискацией имущества церкви. В 1920-1930-е гг. многие священники были расстреляны либо приговорены к длительным срокам заключения.

В 30-х гг. ХХ в. Казахстан стал местом ссылки духовенства и мирян Русской православной церкви. Этот период совпал с началом процесса коллективизации, в результате которой был уничтожен кочевой быт казахов, были разорены казахские аулы и крестьянские хозяйства русских переселенцев, что обернулось невиданным за всю историю края голодом, жертвами которого стали миллионы людей.

Определенные послабления в отношении религии начались в годы Великой Отечественной войны, когда Русская православная церковь поддержала патриотический дух советского народа в борьбе с фашистскими захватчиками. В Казахстане стали вновь открывать храмы.

Восстановление православной жизни в нашей республике началось с 1945 г., когда была учреждена Алматинская и Казахстанская епархия, первым правящим архиереем которой был митрополит Николай (Могилевский), ныне причисленный к лику святых.

В тяжелые военные и послевоенные годы Казахстан продолжал принимать ссыльных священников, многие из которых нашли приют у местных жителей, в том числе и мусульман. Так, отбывавшего ссылку в Актюбинской области, на глухой железнодорожной станции Челкар, священноисповедника Николая, в будущем ставшего митрополитом Алматинским и Казахстанским, спас от смерти простой мусульманин-татарин. Осенью 1942 г. он подобрал его, полуживого, лежащего без памяти на дороге, отвез в больницу, а затем приютил в своем доме.

Также и митрополит Алматинский и Казахстанский Иосиф (Чернов), находясь с 1954 по 1956 гг. в ссылке в Кокшетау, был принят в многодетную мусульманскую казахскую семью, где жил как уважаемый член этой семьи.

Однако государственная политика в целом сохраняла свой атеистический характер. Религиозная деятельность жестко контролировалась властью.

Подлинное возрождение религиозной жизни, в том числе и православной церкви, началось после обретения Казахстаном независимости. О том, что ислам и православие стали важными столпами духовности нашей страны, неоднократно говорил Президент Нурсултан Назарбаев. Так, посещая 7 января 2012 г. Свято-Успенский собор в г. Астане, Глава государства заметил: «Как птица не может летать с одним крылом, так и государство не может двигаться с одним крылом. Оба крыла – ислам и православие – основные религиозные конфессии в нашей стране. Все мы люди, единые на этой земле, но мы разные, по языку, по внешнему виду, по религии. Но великое терпение всегда является основой для мирной жизни».

Признание свободы совести позволило верующим вернуться к полнокровной духовной жизни. Если в 1956 г. в Казахстане функционировало всего 55 приходов Русской православной церкви (РПЦ), то на начало 1999 г. на территории республики действовало 212 приходов и 8 монастырей. За последнее десятилетие отмечен дальнейший рост.

В 2012 г., в соответствии с требованиями Закона «О религиозной деятельности и религиозных объединениях», в республике была осуществлена перерегистрация религиозных объединений. По итогам перерегистрации, по состоянию на 25 октября 2012 г. в Казахстане действовало 271 религиозное объединение православной церкви, включая республиканское религиозное объединение – Митрополичий округ, а также 9 епархий и 261 приход. Наибольшее количество православных общин зарегистрировано в Алматинской, Восточно-Казахстанской, Северо-Казахстанской, Костанайской, Карагандинской и Акмолинской областях.

Также в Казахстане действуют православные монастыри. Практически при всех церквях и молитвенных домах открыты церковно-приходские школы по изучению основ православия, действуют воскресные школы, в которых обучаются как дети, так и взрослые.

В 1995 г. государство передало церкви Вознесенский кафедральный собор в Алматы, построенный в начале ХХ в. и признанный уникальным памятником архитектуры. Православным общинам возвращены храмы и в других городах. В настоящее время проводится большая работа по реставрации старых культовых зданий и строительству новых церквей и молитвенных домов.

Казахстан внес свою лепту в восстановление храма Христа Спасителя в Москве. Безвозмездным даром нашей страны стало направление гранита с Кордайского месторождения, предназначенного для отделки стен храма.

Патриарх Московский и всея Руси Алексий II (возглавлявший РПЦ в 1990-2008 гг.) в июле 1995 г. совершил визит в Казахстан, посетив Алматы и Караганду. В Караганде он освятил Свято-Введенский собор, ставший одним из крупнейших и красивейших в Центральной Азии.

За последние годы построены храм Христа Спасителя в Алматы, Благовещенский собор в Павлодаре, Серафимо-Иверский собор в Экибастузе, Иоанно-Богословский собор в Талдыкоргане, Константино-Еленинский храм в Костанае, Свято-Никольский храм в Сатпаеве и многие другие храмы по всему Казахстану. В 2009 г. построен кафедральный Свято-Успенский собор в Астане. Также открыто несколько монастырей.

В июне 2005 г. в Астане были проведены торжественные мероприятия, посвященные 150-летнему юбилею со дня открытия и освящения Константино-Еленинского кафедрального собора.

В январе 2010 г. Казахстан посетил Патриарх Московский и всея Руси Кирилл. Глава Русской православной церкви побывал в Алматы и Астане, встретился с представителями общественности, провел церковные службы в храмах. Главным событием визита стало освящение кафедрального Свято-Успенского собора в столице Казахстана.

В число официально признанных праздничных дней в Казахстане вошел православный праздник Рождества Христова (7 января). Этот день является в республике выходным.

В последние годы осуществляется структурная реформа православия в нашей стране. В мае 2003 г. Священный синод Русской православной церкви принял решение о создании в Республике Казахстан Митрополичьего округа в составе Астанайской, Уральской и Шымкентской епархий. Митрополичий округ – это особая форма объединения епархий, существующая в рамках РПЦ только в Казахстане. Округ был создан в целях координации религиозно-просветительской, издательской, социальной и другой общественно-значимой деятельности епархий на территории Республики Казахстан. В 2003-2010 гг. округ возглавлял митрополит Мефодий (Немцов). В 2010 г. главой округа назначен митрополит Астанайский и Казахстанский Александр (Могилев).

В июле 2010 г. Священный синод Русской православной церкви принял ряд документов, определяющих статус Казахстанской митрополии как нового канонического подразделения Русской православной церкви, наделенного значительными правами самостоятельности – Митрополичьего округа в Республике Казахстан (Православной Церкви Казахстана). 26 июля 2010 г. Священный синод РПЦ утвердил устав самостоятельной канонической структуры в республике – Митрополичьего округа во главе с митрополитом Александром.

В последние годы происходит реформирование структуры Православной церкви Казахстана. До октября 2010 г. Митрополичий округ включал три епархии с центрами в гг. Астане, Чимкенте и Уральске. В 2010-2011 гг. решением Священного синода РПЦ созданы шесть новых епархий с центрами в гг. Караганде, Костанае, Павлодаре, Кокшетау, Петропавловске и Усть-Каменогорске.

Таким образом, в состав Митрополичьего округа в настоящее время входят девять епархий:

– Астанайская и Алматинская епархия, с центром в г. Астане, включающая приходы городов Астаны, Алматы и Алматинской области;

– Карагандинская, с центром в г. Караганде, включающая приходы Карагандинской области;

– Кокшетауская епархия, с центром в г. Кокшетау, включающая приходы Акмолинской области;

– Костанайская, с центром в г. Костанае, включающая приходы Костанайской области;

– Павлодарская, с центром в г. Павлодаре, включающая приходы Павлодарской области;

– Петропавловско-Булаевская епархия, с центром в г. Петропавловске, включающая приходы Северо-Казахстанской области;

– Уральская епархия, с центром в г. Уральске, включающая приходы Актюбинской, Атырауской, Западно-Казахстанской и Мангистауской областей;

– Усть-Каменогорская епархия, с центром в г. Усть-Каменогорске, включающая приходы Восточно-Казахстанской области;

– Чимкентская епархия, с центром в г. Чимкенте, включающая приходы Жамбылской, Кызылординской и Южно-Казахстанской областей.

29 мая 2012 года в г. Астане было открыто здание Синода Православной Церкви Казахстана и Духовно-культурно-просветительского центра имени равноапостольных Кирилла и Мефодия.

В 2010 г. была открыта Духовная семинария в г.Алматы – высшее богословское учебное заведение православной церкви (ранее там действовало лишь духовное училище).

Православная церковь сотрудничает с рядом этнокультурных центров, общественных организаций, в том числе с фондом «Светоч», который поддерживает связи с общественными организациями и учебными заведениями России.

Серьезное внимание уделяется работе с подрастающим поколением. Следует отметить, что в настоящее время в каждой православной церкви работают молодежные группы (в дополнение к воскресным школам), и ими занимается специально закрепленный священник-руководитель. В феврале 2012 г. состоялся I Cъезд православной молодежи Республики Казахстан, на котором было принято решение о создании Православного молодежного движения Казахстана.

Православная церковь является постоянным участником диалога религий и цивилизаций. Представители православия активно выступают в ходе форумов, конференций, круглых столов различного уровня. Делегации высокого уровня представляли Русскую православную церковь на всех четырех съездах лидеров мировых и традиционных религий в Астане. Для участия в работе IV Съезда в 2012 г. в столицу Казахстана прибыл Патриарх Московский и всея Руси Кирилл.

В своем выступлении он подчеркнул: «Казахстан и его гостеприимная столица уже в четвертый раз становятся глобальной площадкой обсуждения проблем общемирового характера на основе диалога религиозных традиций. Нельзя не порадоваться тому, что при участии государственных структур лидеры мировых и традиционных религий имеют здесь прекрасную возможность собраться вместе и поразмыслить о том, как ответить на вызовы, единые не только для наших религиозных общин, но и для большинства народов мира».

С самого начала истории независимого Казахстана Русская православная церковь, в частности, ее митрополичий округ в РК, была и остается по сей день надежным партнером государства в проведении политики укрепления межконфессионального мира и стабильности в обществе.

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь

Тилеу Нурсултанов17.03.2014, 19:04

http://rusk.ru/st.php?idar=1001036