Home Nuclear-free world is our mission The Nevada-Semei anti-nuclear movement

The Nevada-Semei anti-nuclear movement

25 August 2016
3574
0

The movement which was supported by the people of the Republic of Kazakhstan maintained resistance to nuclear explosions and achieved abolishment of nuclear tests at the Semipalatinsk Nuclear Test Site. In 1989 the activity of the movement led to the reduction in the number of explosions. Only 11 out of 18 planned tests were carried out. The last one took place on October 19, 1989.

f19b242fe9967abf58e9ecb7a374a000.JPG

Active members of the movement

It is should be noted that both young and old generation participated in the activity of the movement. And only thanks to them the territory that had been the center of epidemic over half a century was closed.

c94c76169fa604604fd4f482cea2d7d7.JPG

130 thousand miners from Karaganda who were members of the movement adopted the following resolution: in case of continuation of tests to begin termless strike.

2f402970e201ca230d6a5e9d53c92196.jpg

They were supported by workers from Semipalatinsk, Pavlodar, Ust-Kamenogorsk and Dzhezkazgan. At the same time the Supreme Soviet came over to workers’ side

Professor of the Semipalatinsk Medical University, the first Chairman of the Semipalatinsk branch of the Nevada-Semei movement (1989-2000) Marat Mauytkanovich Orazalin recalls first days of the Nevada-Semei movement:

“On February 12-18, 1989 the military without any notifications conducted atomic bomb test. During the test inert gases came out through cracks on the ground. At the very beginning toxic gas covered Shagan city located near Kurchatov city, afterwards the wind arose and removed the gas to Altai outskirts. When the first Secretary of the Semipalatinsk Regional Committee of the Communist Party of the Kazakh SSR Keshirim Boztayev heard about it he sent telegram in code to the Central Committee of the USSR and asked to stop the tests and to help dwellers of that area. This was one of the first measures against atomic weapons tests which was made in opened form. Then on February 28, 1989 O. Suleimenov who was the representative of the Semipalatinsk region on the 1st meeting of the Deputies of the USSR proposed creation of anti-nuclear movement ‘Nevada-Semei’. We, i.e. inhabitants of Semei could not sit idly. Right away we met at the bureau of the Party of the Semipalatinsk Medical University and established Regional branch of anti-nuclear movement ‘Nevada-Semei’. I was elected the Chairman of the branch. The goal of the movement is to arose people, close the test site and achieve adoption of a law on help to victims.

On August 29, 1991 by the Decree of the President N. Nazarbayev was closed. Later this day was proclaimed as International Day against Nuclear Tests. Kazakhstan officially abolished nuclear weapons”.

d1464998923997fe631574fcba291c64.JPG

Mass-meeting in Semei city,1991. Olzhas Suleimenov (second from right)

On February 25, 1989 at the meeting in Almaty Olzhas Suleimenov red his address to all people, creative and religious organizations, soviet committee for the world protection, Greenpeace international organization, committee of the International Fund “Preserve mankind”, members of the movement against nuclear tests in Nevada (USA) and demanded to stop nuclear tests in Kazakhstan.

deca1c751f9f148a67240720130f9e26.jpg

For the first time the Government of the USSR made a decision to abolish nuclear weapon tests and adopted moratorium by the initiative of people. The Declaration on Sovereignty of the Republic of Kazakhstan proclaimed the territory of the states as nuclear-free zone. The Decree of the President of Kazakhstan N.A. Nazarbayev on the closure of the test site was adopted on August 29, 1991. Thus, Kazakh nation demonstrated persistence and achieved its goals.

974389ea237e4b98fc0b0b7e8a9b190b.jpg

Offices of the organization were opened in many other cities and regions of Kazakhstan, Russia, the USA, Italy, Japan, Turkey and so on.

ec0b89196791e3f556d72886580c1908.jpg

Thanks to the active work of the movement the 53rd UN General Assembly adopted the resolution “International Cooperation and Coordination of Activities to Rehabilitate the Population and Environment and to Ensure Economic Development of the Semipalatinsk Region in Kazakhstan”.

23fd1eef413e7e0b4f6457b92408337a.JPG


Karipbek Kuyukov, famous artist, Honorary Ambassador of the ATOM Project, is one of many victims of nuclear tests. Despite the happened misfortune, he took brush and started embodying his ideas into the picture. Within the frameworks of the ATOM Project he had several exhibitions in the USA, Netherlands, Norway, Germany, Austria and Switzerland. According to him, he wants to show consequences of nuclear tests to the foreign countries and become the last victim.

For the present by the initiative of the President Nursultan Nazarbayev August 29 proclaimed as the International Day against Nuclear Tests. The ATOM Project is another initiative of the President. Its mission is to create the nuclear-free world.

More information on the Project: http://www.theatomproject.org/kz 

Olzhas Berkinbayev

The article was prepared with support from the Press Office of the MFA of the Republic of Kazakhstan and historical museum of the Semipalatinsk region.

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная Безъядерный мир — наша общая цель Антиядерное движение «Невада-Семей»

Антиядерное движение «Невада-Семей»

25 Августа 2016
6056
0

Движение, которое нашло поддержку со стороны народа Республики Казахстан, оказало сопротивление ядерным взрывам и достигло прекращения ядерных испытаний на Семипалатинском ядерном полигоне. В 1989 году деятельность движения привела к сокращению количества взрывов и было осуществлено 11 из запланированных 18. Последний состоялся 19 октября 1989.

7f3e03cbcb98d4502e4af64ce6c03465.JPG

Активисты движения. 

Нужно отметить, что участниками движения был и стар и млад.  И только благодаря им территория, которая полвека была под очагом эпидемии, закрылась

4f04d25630ab3490dc6d85e65f7f6d13.JPG

130 тысяч шахтеров Караганды – участники движения – приняли резолюцию: в случае продолжения испытаний начать бессрочную забастовку.

ae381f0522cd0c6d86fc94e57f564965.jpg

Их поддержали рабочие Семипалатинска, Павлодара, Усть-Каменогорска и Джезказгана. Так же рабочих поддержал и Верховный Совет.

Воспоминания профессора Семипалатинского медицинского университета, первого председателя Семипалатинского отделения движения (1989-2000) Марата Мауыткановича Оразалина о днях начала движения "Невада-Семипалатинск":

«В 1989 году с 12 по 18 февраля военные,заранее никого не предупредив, провели испытание атомной бомбы. Во время испытаний из трещин земли выделялись инертные газы. Сначала ядовитый газ покрыл город Шаган, расположенный возле города Курчатов, позже поднялся ветер и унес газ на окрестности Алтая. Первый секретарь Семипалатинского областного комитета Коммунистической партии Казахской ССР Кеширим Бозтаев услышав об этом, отправляет в Центральный комитет СССР шифрограмму с требованием прекратить испытания и помочь жителям тех регионов. Это была одна из первых мер, которая была сделана в открытом виде против испытания атомного оружия. Тогда в 1989 году 28 февраля О.Сулейменов, участвуя на  I съезде депутатов СССР  от имени Семипалатинской области предложил создать  антиядерное движение «Невада-Семей». Мы, то есть жители  Семея, не могли сидеть сложа руки. Сразу же собрались в комитете партии Семипалатинского медицинского университета и создали областное отделение антиядерного движения «Невада-Семей». Меня избрали председателем отделения.  Цель движения: во-первых, разбудить народ, во- вторых, закрыть полигон, в-третьих, добиться принятия закона о помощи пострадавшему народу.

В 1991 году  29 августа Указом Президента Н.Назарбаева полигон был полностью закрыт. Позже этот день был объявлен Международным днем действий против ядерных испытаний, Казахстан официального отказался от ядерного оружия».

b543ef3fa0786cbc7c6fa185858325ba.JPG

1991 год митинг, прошедший в городе Семей. Справа второй - поэт Олжас Сулейменов.

25 февраля 1989 года Олжас Сулейменов на митинге в городе Алматы прочитал обращение всему обществу, творческим, религиозным организациям, советскому комитету защиты мира, международной организации «Жасыл әлем», комитету международного фонда «Сохранить человечество», сторонникам движения против испытаний в штате Невада (США) и потребовал остановить ядерное испытание в Казахстане.

1c2c2e32b1e4d4d5db0acc51d748760e.jpg

По инициативе народа впервые правительство СССР приняло решение о запрете испытаний ядерного оружия и проведения моратория. В Декларации о суверенитете Республики Казахстан территория страны объявлена безъядерной зоной. Указ Президента Казахстана Н.А. Назарбаева о закрытие полигона вышел 29 августа 1991 года. Таким образом, казахский народ, проявив устойчивость и упорность, достиг своих целей.


ac3eda6cb7a0a91681c25ccaa255565f.jpg

Во многих городах и регионах Казахстана, также в России, США, Италии, Японии, Турции и в др. странах были созданы филиалы организации. 

e89b86a71e9bfc57f4cccc6d6d37f24e.jpg

53-я сессия ГА ООН, благодаря активной работе движения, приняла резолюцию «Международное сотрудничество и координация деятельности в целях реабилитации здоровья населения и природной среды и экономического развития Семипалатинского региона Казахстана».

0bca7c5e100c32e878de022a76d20e3f.JPG

Один из многих пострадавших от ядерных испытаний – известный художник, почетный посол проекта АТОМ  Карипбек Куюков. Несмотря на постигшее его несчастье, он взял  кисть и начал воплощать все свои идеи  в картины. В рамках проекта АТОМ он успел провести несколько собственных выставок в США, Голландии, Норвегии, Германии, Австрии, Швейцарии. Если говорить его словами,  он хочет показать зарубежным странам последствия ядерного испытания и быть последней его жертвой.


На сегодняшний день по инициативе Президента Нурсултана Назарбаева 29 августа объявлен международным днем действий против ядерных испытаний. Также по инициативе главы государства осуществляется проект АТОМ, направленный для создания безъядерного мира. 

Подробнее про проект: http://www.theatomproject.org/kz

Подготовил  Олжас БЕРКИНБАЕВ

Статья подготовлена совместно с пресс-службой МИД РК и историко-краеведческим музеем Семипалатинской области.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь