Publications

Reverse effect

17 March 2017
282
0
Reverse effect
On March 17, 1991, the only referendum was held in 70 years of the existence of the Soviet Union

The citizens of the Soviet Union were asked:

“Do you consider it necessary to preserve the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics as a renewed federation of equal sovereign republics, which will fully guarantee the rights and freedoms of man of any nationality?”

The referendum on this issue was held in the RSFSR, the Ukrainian SSR, the Byelorussian SSR, the Uzbek SSR, the Azerbaijan SSR, the Kirghiz SSR, the Tajik SSR, the Turkmen SSR, in the republics that make up the RSFSR, the Uzbek SSR and Azerbaijan SSR, in the Abkhaz ASSR, the Georgian SSR, as well as in the districts and on the sites formed under Soviet institutions and in military units abroad.

In the Kazakh SSR, voting at the referendum of the USSR was held on the issue formulated by the Supreme Council of the Republic: "Do you consider it necessary to preserve the USSR as a Union of equal sovereign states?" At the same time, the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Kazakh SSR officially asked to include the results of voting in the general results of the referendum of the USSR.

 

The decision to hold a referendum was adopted on December 24, 1990 at the Fourth Congress of Soviets of People's Deputies of the USSR.

 

 

 

 

According to the commission of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics as a whole: 185 647 355 people were included in the lists of citizens eligible to participate in the referendum of the USSR; 148 574 606 people took part in voting, or 80% percent. Of them answered: "Yes" 113 512 812 people, or 76.4%; "No" – 32 303 977 people, or 21.7%; were declared invalid – 2 757 817 ballots, or 1.9%.

In the Kazakh SSR, 94.1% of the voters called for the preservation of the Union, 5% answered negatively and 0.9% of the ballots were declared invalid.

The highest percentage - 95 and higher, answered "yes" to the Union showed areas: North Kazakhstan, East Kazakhstan and Kokchetav, as well as the cities of Kustanai, Uralsk and Tselinograd.

Based on the results of the referendum, the draft treaty "On the Union of Sovereign Republics" began to be signed, which was scheduled for August 20, 1991. However, the party elite, realizing that in this way it would lose both power and privileges, organized the August putsch and the signing of the treaty fell through. Created GKChP tried to remove Gorbachev from the post of President of the USSR. A second draft on the "Union of Sovereign States" was also being prepared, but it did not take place because of the strengthening of centrifugal tendencies.

Thus, despite the results of the referendum, the USSR ceased to exist as a result of the signing on December 8, 1991 of the Belovezhsky agreements by the leaders of the RSFSR, Belarus and Ukraine.

 

By Arman SULEIMENOV

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111).

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Quiz

How do you think is it right to give foreign guests Kazakh national chapan?

Публикации

Обратный эффект

17 Марта 2017
1308
0
Обратный эффект
17 марта 1991 года состоялся единственный референдум за 70 лет существования СССР

Перед гражданами Советского Союза был поставлен вопрос:

«Считаете ли Вы необходимым сохранение Союза Советских Социалистических Республик как обновленной федерации равноправных суверенных республик, в которой будут в полной мере гарантироваться права и свободы человека любой национальности?».

Референдум по этому вопросу проводился в РСФСР, Украинской ССР, Белорусской ССР, Узбекской ССР, Азербайджанской ССР, Киргизской ССР, Таджикской ССР, Туркменской ССР, в республиках, входящих в состав РСФСР, Узбекской ССР и Азербайджанской ССР, в Абхазской АССР, входящей в состав Грузинской ССР, а также в округах и на участках, образованных при советских учреждениях и в воинских частях за границей.

В Казахской ССР голосование на референдуме СССР проводилось по вопросу, сформулированному Верховным Советом республики: «Считаете ли вы необходимым сохранение Союза ССР как Союза равноправных суверенных государств?». При этом Президиум Верховного Совета Казахской ССР официально просил включить результаты голосования в общие итоги референдума СССР.

 

 

 

 

Решение о проведении референдума было принято 24 декабря 1990 года на IV Съезде Советов народных депутатов СССР

 

 

 

 

По данным комиссии по Союзу ССР в целом: в списки граждан, имеющих право участвовать в референдуме СССР, было включено 185 647 355 человек; приняли участие в голосовании 148 574 606 человек, или 80% процентов. Из них ответили: «Да» 113 512 812 человек, или 76,4%; «Нет» - 32 303 977 человек, или 21,7%; Признаны недействительными - 2 757 817 бюллетеней, или 1,9 %.

В Казахской ССР 94,1% проголосовавших высказались за сохранение Союза, 5 % ответили отрицательно и 0,9 % бюллетеней были признаны недействительными.

Самый высокий процент – 95 и выше, ответивших «да» Союзу показали области: Северо-Казахстанская, Восточно-Казахстанская и Кокчетавская, а также города Кустанай, Уральск и Целиноград.

Исходя из результатов референдума началась разработка проекта договора «О Союзе Суверенных Республик», подписание которого было запланировано на 20 августа 1991 года. Однако партийная элита, понимая, что таким образом она потеряет и власть, и привилегии, организовала августовский путч и подписание договора сорвалось. Созданный ГКЧП попытался отстранить Горбачева с поста Президента СССР. Готовился и второй проект о «Союзе Суверенных Государств», однако и он не состоялся в силу усиления центробежных тенденций. 

Таким образом, несмотря на результаты референдума, СССР прекратил свое существование в результате подписания 8 декабря 1991 года Беловежских соглашений лидерами РСФСР, Беларуси и Украины.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Подпишитесь на наш Telegram канал!

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Чего не хватает национальной сборной Казахстана по футболу, основанной 105 лет назад, чтобы принять участие на ЧМ?