Publications

How was industrialization in Kazakhstan a hundred years ago?

16 March 2017
172
0
How was industrialization in Kazakhstan a hundred years ago?
Today Kazakhstan is implementing the third modernization with the introduction of digital technologies and the Fourth Industrial Revolution is taking place in the world

In 1904 in London, the joint-stock company "Spassky copper ores" was formed. This society was engaged in active buying up of deposits from Russian merchants. Thus, the Spassko-Voskresensky and Uspensky copper mines, the Spassky copper-smelting plant, as well as the Saransk and Karaganda coal mines were bought out. And the shareholders were the citizens of England, France, the USA, Germany, Sweden, Spain and other countries.

 

In 1904, rich deposits of non-ferrous metals from Ridder and Zyryanovsk were purchased by the Austrians.

In 1906 in London, “Atbasar Copper ores” Joint Stock Company was founded, which actively bought up Zhezkazgan mines. This company also bought iron mines, limestone quarries and coal deposits in the Baikonur area.

July 1, 1907 finally formed joint-stock company "Spassky copper ores" with a fixed capital of 3 million pounds sterling. A new period in the life of the Spassky plant, mine and ores began.

In 1908, the plant introduced a new technological process of conversion of matte. For this purpose, two reflecting furnaces and two converters were built. As a result, better rough copper was obtained.

In 1909, 510 workers worked at the Spassky Plant and 311 people worked at the Uspensky mine, and 152 people worked in the coal mines. The total number of workers was 973 people. In 1909, 886 thousand puds of ore and 2 million 76 thousand puds of coal were mined and 141 thousand puds of copper were smelted. The Karaganda deposit caused interest in 1911. During the First World War the Karaganda mine worked stably. In a year 4064 tons of coal was extracted, of which 3,410 tons were sent to the Spassky Plant. By this time, the total number of workers was 453 people. Among them there were 12 employees.

By 1913, the Uspensky mine had developed reserves with a rich copper content. In the process of exploitation at the Uspensky mine area there was a decrease in the copper content in the ore mined by the mines Annenskaya, Vladimirskaya and No. 4. Copper smelters at the Spassky plant could not use low-grade ore. Shareholders purchased equipment for a reflecting furnace. The technological process required the enrichment of ore. Kazakhs of the Kyzyltau volost (aul No. 4) bought a plot of land 2 to 2 versts in size.

Shares of Joint-Stock Company "Spassky Copper Ores"

 

 

Here was built Sarysuysk concentrator. To this end, was invited engineer-designer John Wilford Wardell from the UK to the Kazakh steppes. Later, in the book "In the Kirghiz Steppes," he described in detail the events of the Steppe region. The productivity of the Spassky plant rose to 410 tons of copper per month. The company claimed a plot of 10 to 5 versts. The coal reserves were estimated at 200 million tons. The mines "Carno" and "Herbert" extracted for the company's needs daily up to 80 tons of fuel. Smelt of copper, besides coal, required additives of quartzite. The deposit (2 by 2 versts) was purchased in 1913 through the Omsk Land Department and named Sasyk Karasu.

One of the shops of the Spassky Copper Smelting Plant

Spassk was inhabited by 3,000 residents. 1500 Kazakhs and 300 Russians were engaged in various jobs.

Subjects of the British Empire were getting smaller every year. In 1914 - 18, 1915 - 14, 1918 - 10 and in 1919 were 8 people. Foreigners controlled the process of copper smelting. The main metallurgist A. Turner, who worked almost all his life in the Russian Empire, was assisted by Robson, Peleu, Morgan, Farmer, and Stevenson.

At other sites, accountant Boyce, Secretary Barker and clerk Ristoft were employed. All of them submitted to General Manager Bryant. The Karaganda mine was led by Harbottle and Campbell, and the Uspensky mine - Farmer Sr., Quick, Larsen, Farmer and Purvis. Later Horsley, Hall, Svein and Dobby arrived there.

At the Spassky factory, wages depended on the type of work. In May 1914, the copper smelters worked for 8 hours. The salary of the master was 1.80 rubles, his assistant - 1.70 rubles and workers - 0.60 rubles in a day. In the forge and carpentry shops worked for 9 hours. Here the master was paid 2.40 rubles, his assistant - 1.50 rubles and workers - for 0.70 rubles in a day. The special brigade was engaged in ancillary affairs for 10 hours a day. The ten's manager received 2 rubles, and workers - 50 kopecks each.

The professional organization of labor made it possible to reduce the prime cost of smelting one ton of copper from 140 to 118 rubles.

The first copper concentrate was obtained in June 1916. It was sent to the Spassky factory in packing bags. The number of workers reached 120 people.

In November 1916, Herbert Wulmer, the chief managing director of all British crafts in Central Kazakhstan, left his post after six years of work and left for Moscow. In his place came Jim Beldon with new plans for the development of coal and copper-ore business. Foreign experts developed a project to build a large for that time mine with a capacity of 250 thousand tons of coal.

(To be continued ...)

Materials used: Popov Yu. Karaganda and around it // Industrial Karaganda, September 6, 2016.

 

By Arman SULEIMENOV

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111).

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What do you expect from the V international Qurultay of Kazakhs?

Публикации

Как проходила индустриализация в Казахстане сто лет назад?

16 Марта 2017
1541
0
Как проходила индустриализация в Казахстане сто лет назад?
Сегодня Казахстан реализует третью модернизацию с внедрением цифровых технологий, в мире идет Четвертая промышленная революция. А как Казахстан делал первые шаги индустриализации?

В 1904 году в Лондоне было образовано акционерное общество «Спасские медные руды». Это общество занималось активной скупкой месторождений у русских купцов. Таким образом, был выкуплены Спасско-Воскресенский и Успенский медные рудники, Спасский медеплавильный завод, а также Саранские и Карагандинские каменноугольные копи. А держателями акций были граждане Англии, Франции, США, Германии, Швеции, Испании и других стран.

В 1904 году богатые месторождения цветных руд Риддера и Зыряновска были приобретены австрийцами.

В 1906 году в Лондоне было создано акционерное общество «Атбасарские медные копи», которое активно скупало рудники Жезказгана. Эта компания купила также железные рудники, известковые карьеры, каменноугольные месторождения в районе Байконура.

1 июля 1907 года окончательно сформировалось акционерное общество «Спасские медные руды» с основным капиталом в 3 миллиона фунтов стерлингов. Начался новый период в жизни Спасского завода, рудника и копей.

В 1908 году на заводе был введен новый технологический процесс бессемерования штейна. Для этого были построены 2 отражательные печи и 2 конвертера. В результате была получена более качественная черновая медь.

В 1909 году на Спасском заводе работали 510 рабочих, на Успенском руднике - 311 человек, на угольных шахтах - 152 человека. Всего 973 человека. В 1909 году было добыто 886 тыс. пудов руды и 2 млн 76 тыс. пудов угля, выплавлено 141 тыс. пудов меди. Карагандинское месторождение вызвало интерес в 1911 году. В годы Первой мировой войны Карагандинская копь работала стабильно. В год извлекали на поверхность 4064 тонны угля, из которых 3410 тонн отправляли на Спасский завод. К этому времени общее число рабочих составляло 453 человека. Среди них было отмечено 12 служащих.

К 1913 году на Успенском руднике были отработаны запасы с богатым содержанием меди. В процессе эксплуатации на Успенском руднике площадью в 21 кв. версту отмечено снижение содержания меди в руде, которую добывали шахты «Анненская», «Владимирская» и № 4. Медеплавильные печи на Спасском заводе низкосортную руду использовать не могли. Акционеры приобрели оборудование для отражательной печи. Технологический процесс требовал обогащения руды. У казахов Кызылтаусской волости (аул № 4) был выкуплен участок земли с размерами 2 на 2 версты.

 

Акции Акционерного общества «Спасские медные руды»

 

Здесь была возведена Сарысуйская обогатительная фабрика. Для этого из Великобритании в казахские степи был приглашен инженер-конструктор Джон Уилфорд Уорделл. Позже, в книге «В Киргизских степях» он подробно описал события Степного края. Производительность Спасского завода поднялась до 410 тонн меди в месяц. Общество застолбило участок площадью 10 на 5 верст. Запасы угля предположительно оценивались в 200 миллионов тонн. Шахты «Карно» и «Герберт» добывали для нужд компании ежедневно до 80 тонн топлива. Плавка меди, кроме угля, требовала и добавок в виде кварцитов. Месторождение (2 на 2 версты) приобрели в 1913 году через Омское земельное управление и назвали Сасык Карасу.

Один из цехов Спасского медеплавильного завода

 

В Спасске проживало 3000 жителей. На разных работах заняты 1500 казахов и 300 русских.

Подданных Британской империи с каждым годом становилось все меньше. В 1914-м – 18, в 1915-м – 14, в 1918-м – 10 и в 1919-м – 8 человек. Иностранцы контролировали процесс выплавки меди. Главному металлургу А. Тернеру, проработавшему в Российской империи практически всю свою жизнь, помогали Робсон, Пелью, Морган, Фармер, Стивесон.

На других участках были заняты бухгалтер Бойс, секретарь Баркер и клерк Ристофт. Все они подчинялись генеральному управляющему Брайанту. Карагандинской копью руководили Харботл и Кемпбелл, а Успенским рудником - Фармер-старший, Квик, Ларсен, Фармер и Первис. Позднее прибыли Хорсли, Холл, Свейн, Добби.

На Спасском заводе заработная плата зависела от вида работ. В мае 1914 года медеплавильщики работали по 8 часов. Оклад мастера - 1,80 руб., его помощника - 1,70 руб. и рабочих - 0,60 руб. в день. В кузнечном и столярном цехах трудились по 9 часов. Здесь мастеру платили 2,40 руб., его помощнику - 1,50 руб., рабочим - по 0,70 руб. в день. Особая бригада занималась вспомогательными делами по 10 часов в день. Десятник получал 2 руб., а рабочие - по 50 копеек.

Профессиональная организация труда позволила снизить себестоимость выплавки одной тонны меди со 140 до 118 руб.

Первый медный концентрат был получен в июне 1916 года. Его отправляли на Спасский завод в упаковочных мешках. Число рабочих достигало 120 человек.

В ноябре 1916 года Герберт Вульмер, главный директор-распорядитель всех английских промыслов в Центральном Казахстане, после шести лет работы оставил свою должность и выехал в Москву. На его место прибыл Джим Бельдон с новыми планами развития угольного и меднорудного дела. Иностранные специалисты разработали проект строительства крупной по тем временам шахты с производительностью 250 тысяч тонн угля.

(Продолжение следует…)

Использованы материалы: Попов Ю. Караганда и вокруг нее // «Индустриальная Караганда», 6 сентября 2016 г.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Подпишитесь на наш Telegram канал!

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Чего не хватает национальной сборной Казахстана по футболу, основанной 105 лет назад, чтобы принять участие на ЧМ?