Home History of Kazakhstan Kazakhstan in the Russian Empire The culture of Kazakhstan in 18-20 centuries Abay Kunanbayev - poet and philosopher

Abay Kunanbayev - poet and philosopher

Abai was born August 10, 1845 in Chingiz Mountains Semipalatinsk region (under the current administrative division) from one of the four wives Kunanbai, senior Sultan Karkarala district.

Abay's family was aristocratic, his grandfather (Oskenbay) and grand grandfather (Yrgyzbay) dominated in their tribes as governors and biys (judges) 

Ibrahim was lucky in the sense of coziness and family education, as his mother Ulzhan and grandmother Zere were extremely gifted and charming natures. Due to his attentiveness and thoughtfulness, which differentiated him from other children, his mother changed his name topet name "Abay".

Homeschooling and introduction to the folklore, which were started in early childhood, was continued at madrassas of Imam Ahmad Riza. At the same time Abay studied at Russian school and by the end of the five-year study began to write poetry.

Hegel wrote that philosophy is an epoch grasped in thought. However, to grasp in thought the era, it must be a thinker in the highest sense of the word. Abay Kunanbayev was among one of these thinkers in the second half of 19th century in Kazakhstan.

In this case, under thinker we do not mean someone who works as a monk locked in a narrow cell, delving into ancient manuscripts and trying to fish out some important laws of social development. Despite that Abay belonged to the elite of Kazakh society, he never fenced himself from the disaster and needs ofordinary people. On the contrary, as a philosopher, he lived with what his people lived, shared with them their pain and deprivation. Joys were little, but how he could live and enjoy himself? Abay's feat, in fact his whole life was a real feat and only about the interest of his people, their pain reflected on his big heart, the heart of philosopher and person. 

Wealth and cattle did not concern him. As a thinker and patriot of his homeland, his heart was crying blood, as he knew all the needs and hopes of his people in order to be satisfied with surroundings. 

Communication with exiled Russian social democrats, E.P.Mihoelisom, N.Dolgopolovym and S.Grossom, gave impetus to his potential abilities. Abay's treatment of Russian literature, which experienced creativeimpulse at that time, was natural, where poetic in Eastern tradition was treated very high.

Morality and languages take paramount part at Abay's universal system. He considered that language opens a window into the vast world. Humanity and liberality oblige learn languages of other nations, as only in this way for  human-thinker can feel a connection with the geniuses of the spiritual world.

There are dozens of definitions of man. Certainly, the most acceptable usually relies on scientific: representative of the genus homosapiens. However, is it always that every man justifies such a flattering definition? It is says, that, person is that and that, but sometimes it represented that every definition is not accurate, as some people born to manage and others to obey. They are majority, but Abay as peak of mountain rises high above drab existence of reality of his time.

Abay did not become a follower of German philosophers, despite that he learned their works, for instance, Feurbach's anthropological materialism. On the contrast, he considered the anatomical structure of the human bodies and its organs not as a product of nature, but as a result of the creative activity of God, his wisdom and love to humans. On the other hand, such worldview position did not prevent him to represent a man as unique and high product of his philosophy.

Abay absorbed much of that carried the eastern and Arab culture: the Quran, the thousand and one nights. He was familiar with the works of Ferdowsi, Nizami, Saadi and Navoi, studied the works of Aristotle, Socrates, Spinoza and Spencer.

Poetry of Pushkin, Lermontov, Goethe, Byron and Schiller was extremely congenial to him. As well as he wanted to be introduce his people with top of the world spirit. In his translation into Kazakh languages Abay subtly conveyed the spirit of poems and adapted them into the outlook of his fellow tribesmen.

Within 20 years Abay bloomed as versatile genius. He won extraordinary authority and popularity which were unknown in steppe before. He was surrounded by Akyns (oral improvising poets), singers, composers and young talented people, socio-philosophical and literary schools being established.  

Abay's moral and ethical views were not just a figment of his imagination over the observation of life and social system of Kazakhs. Abay thoroughly studied the works of ancient philosophers such as Plato and Aristotle, as well as works of German philosophers of modern times like Kant, Hegel and Feuerbach. 

Ethical and aesthetic problems, despite their importance could not be resolved without reference to the decision of the more common questions of philosophy. One of such issue was the question of a common basis of existence and cognition, God and man.

Wise Abay used to love to repeat the words of the Prophet Muhammad: "A good man is one that benefits the people" ["Gakliya" - "Words of edification", the  thirty-eighth word] these words can be applied to him but not anyone else.

The essay "Gakliya"("Words of edification") or "Kara soz" (“Book of words”), take a special place in the Abay's art. Under these name combined forty five "Words" - small, carefully crafted, artistic, stylistic completed fragments. The term "penalty" (Black) in combination with the term "Soz" ("The Word") is extremely polysemous. This symbolize sadness, prose, unlike rhymed speech and text. As well as it means something significant, important and paramount in the Turkic tradition.

“Book of words” it is also direct appeal to the readers, like conversation and open talk, unique work “of observation of the cold mind and sorrowful heart markings” and philosophy of life of individual on the background of destiny.

“Book of words” by genre similar to what in Genghis Khan’s tradition called "Bilik" –is a precise expression, a story about life example, having the shape of the sample.

The name “Book of words” or “Words of edification” of Abay, inaccurately transfers the meaning of the philosopher. In European tradition, “Book of words” belongs to the genre of aphorisms and maxims. In fact, it is confession – extremely deep and responsible genre, which requires integrity and sincerity from the writer, in other way, we are facing with “nakedness of soul” of man, poet and philosopher. 

Forty five “Words of edification” is the philosophical reflection of the poet about life problems and deeply sad “face to face” conversation with his audience. Addressing to them, the poet ask himself: maybe “Should I rule the people?”, “Should I multiply knowledge?”, “Should I do religious rites? or “Should I educate the children?”. 

Finally, in this way Abay explains his decision to write down “own thoughts”: “Paper and ink from now on will be my consolation…Maybe someone will like some of my word and he will rewrite it for himself or just remember. If not, then my words, as it says, will stay with me [First word].

Many lines from the “Book of words” became immortal: “Man born crying and grieves when he leaves” [Fourth word]; “Man becomes intellectual, remembering the words of the wises” [Nineteenth word]; “He who seeks praise from loved ones, I am sure he will achieve it, praising and lifting up himself to heaven”[Twenty first word]; “Scientist and philosopher are the pride of humanity. They are those who have more senses and mind. We do not invent science, it appears as a result of our feelings, observation and thoughts about the creation around us and organized world for us” [Word forty third].

On the behalf of Socrates Abay in the “Book of words” said about what he thought thoroughly before, disputing with Aristotle, the philosopher says: “Certainly, you will agree, that the top creation of the creator is a man. However, does not the creator give him five senses, being confident in their necessities for man? Do you find that a man has random organs?

For example, we have eyes to see. If they were not existed, could we enjoy the beauty of the world?  Eyes are gentle and there are eyelids to keep them. They open and close when it necessary from a wind and mote, whereas eyebrows withdraw sweats trickling down from forehead.   

If ears were not existed, people would not be able to hear noise, rattling, would not be able to guard against rustling or cry and would not have enjoyed the sounds of songs or tunes.

If a nose does not smell, people would not able stretch incense and turn away from stench. He would not care.

Finally, if a person would not have palate and tongue, he would be able to recognize sweetness or bitterness of food.

Is that all bad for human?

Eyes and nose are located not far from mouth to man to see purity and could smell a food. However, other necessary to person holes, which spew out waste from body and located away from the head. “Could it be possible to say that it’s all random manifestation of the mind of the creator?” [Wordtwentyseventh]

If only in science everything was so clear, so that to know with confidence in which direction to go and what to do. When we are in trouble, we can always rely on a help of wise, we just need to turn to him: “Once power, mind and heart argued, who among them is necessary to person. After they found out that cannot reach the agreement, they turned to Science for help. As I said, get together let heart guide you! If this happens and all of you gather in one person, so he will become righteous.  Dust from the soles of his feet will heal the blinds. Harmony and purity of life is the main meaning of the great world. If you won’t be able to unite, then I will give preference to the heart – the king of human life, thus Science resolve the dispute” [Word seventeenth].

 “Words of edification” is like conclusion and result of life. “Lived I good life up until now, but when we can already see the end of the path, when the soul exhausted and tired. I am convinced that my good intentions being ineffective in the vanity and frailty of human life.

“I am truly dead, despite that I am exist. I cannot understand the reason: whether weak disappointment to relatives, whether in the rejection of himself or something else. In appearance I am quite healthy, as dead inside. Even if laugh I do not feel joy. No matter what I tell you, if I laugh - all this as not mine, but someone else”.

“I do not understand how do I treat my nation: do I dislike or love them? – If I loved them, without any doubt I would agree its morals and among other characters found out even one to be proud of. My love would not allow the faith to go out, as if my people have such qualities inherent of great people. However, I do not have that faith”, – draws a line Abay.

Nine years passed before Abay wrote forty-five “Words-talks”, and expressed in them innermost thoughts, aspirations, mournful complaints indifferent to the poet’s voice contemporaries. “Life is lived – I argued, fought, judged, having only troubles and exhausted on them, tired and convinced in aimlessness of everything done”.

I shouted from the cliff,

Space answered me

But when he heard the sound

I was looking around:

How, where this sound come from?

Was the same rock or different,

There is response, but the response is empty.


I have a great,

Wide kin,

No reason to be alone,

Great family, but I was not understood

And I live alone among,

As the tomb of the shaman,

I am alone - that's my truth!

A careful and thoughtful reading and studying of “Words” will be a tribute to the great and wise Abay, whom can be referred lines, once written by him:  

Can be called the one,

Who gave to the world immortal words.

Abay Kunanbayev is the great poet, writer, public figure, founder of modern Kazakh literature, reformer of culture in the spirit of rapprochement with Russian and European culture on the basis of enlightened Islam.

Gongalo V.M.

(NKSU named after M. Kozybaev)


1.  Abay, “Book of word”.Almaty, 1992. 


To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в составе Российской Империи Культура Казахстана в XVIII- начале XX вв Абай Кунанбаев – поэт, мыслитель

Абай Кунанбаев – поэт, мыслитель

10 Октября 2013
2256
0

Абай родился 10 августа 1845 г. в Чингизских горах Семипалатинской области (по нынешнему административному делению) от одной из четырех жен Кунанбая, старшего султана Каркаралинского окружного приказа.

Семья Абая была аристократической, дед Оскенбай и прадед Иргизбай главенствовали в своём роду в качестве правителей и биев.

Ибрагиму повезло и в смысле уюта и семейного воспитания, поскольку и мать Улжан, и бабушка Зере были чрезвычайно одарёнными и обаятельными натурами. Именно с лёгкой руки матери данное отцом имя было заменено на ласкательное Абай, ибо мальчик отличался от других детей внимательностью и несвойственной детскому возрасту вдумчивостью.

Начатое в раннем детстве приобщение к устному народному творчеству и домашнее обучение было продолжено в медресе имама Ахмед-Ризы. Одновременно Абай учился и в русской школе, к концу пятилетней учёбы он начинает писать стихи.

Философия, писал Гегель, есть эпоха, схваченная в мысли. Но чтобы схватить в мысли эпоху, для этого необходимо быть мыслителем в самом высоком смысле этого слова. Одним из таких мыслителей в Казахстане во второй половине XIX в. был Абай Кунанбаев.

Под мыслителем мы, в данном  случае, подразумеваем  не того, кто творит, как монах, запершись в узкой келье и, копаясь в древних манускриптах, пытаясь выудить оттуда какие-то важные закономерности общественного развития. Абай как мыслитель хотя и принадлежал к элите казахского общества, но никогда не отгораживался от нужд простого народа, напротив, именно как мыслитель он жил тем, чем жил его народ, болел его болями, страдал его лишениями. Радостей же мало выпадало его народу, и как же он мог сам жить и радоваться? В подвиге Абая, а вся его жизнь и была самым настоящим подвигом, ибо он жил интересами своего народа, боль, не чужая, но простых казахов, отзывалась болью в большом сердце Абая – мыслителя и Человека.

Не о преумножении богатства и, прежде всего, скота, радел Абай, как мыслитель и патриот своей  Родины, его сердце плакало кровью, ибо он слишком хорошо знал, нужды и чаяния своего народа, чтобы довольствоваться устроенным для себя  миром.

Импульсом к раскрытию глубоких потенциальных способностей Абая стало его общение со ссыльными русскими социал-демократами Е.П. Михоэлисом, Н. Долгополовым, С. Гроссом. Обращение Абая к русской литературе, которая переживала в то время творческий подъём, было тем более естественным, что в восточной традиции поэтическое слово ценилось чрезвычайно высоко.

В общечеловеческой системе Абая первостепенное значение отводится нравственному примеру и языкам. Через родной язык, отмечает  мыслитель, открывается окно в огромный мир, человечность  и широта взглядов обязывают изучать языки других народов, ибо только таким образом можно  человеку-мыслителю почувствовать связь с гениями мирового духа.

Существуют десятки  определений человека, разумеется, наиболее приемлемым, как правило, полагается научное: представитель рода homosapiens. Но всегда ли и всякий ли человек оправдывает столь лестное для него определение? Говорят, человек это то, то или то, но иногда представляется, что всякое определение не совсем точно, потому что одни люди рождены, чтобы повелевать, а другие  рождаются  для того, чтобы повиноваться. Таковы многие, но Абай же, как горная вершина, высоко возносился над серыми буднями  повседневности, над суровой, чтобы не сказать жестокой, действительностью своего времени.

Хотя Абай хорошо изучил труды немецких философов, но не стал последователем, например,  антропологического материализма Фейербаха, напротив, рассматривал анатомическое строение человека и его органов не как продукт развития природы, а как результат творческой деятельности божества, его мудрости и любви к человеку. С другой стороны, такая мировоззренческая позиция мыслителя не помешала ему, подобно Фейербаху, сделать человека, по сути, универсальным  высшим продуктом  своей философии.

Абай впитал в себя многое из того, что несли восточная и арабская культура: Коран, «Тысяча и одна ночь», был  знаком с творчеством Фирдоуси, Низами, Саади, Навои, изучал  труды Аристотеля, Сократа, Спинозы и Спенсера.

Абаю оказалась чрезвычайно близка по духу поэзия Пушкина, Лермонтова, Гёте, Байрона, Шиллера и он хотел познакомить свой народ с вершинами мирового духа. В своих переводах на казахский язык Абай тонко передавал дух переводимых стихов и адаптировал их к мироощущению своих соплеменников.

На протяжении 20 лет ярко расцветает разносторонний гений Абая, он завоёвывает необычайный авторитет и невиданную доселе в степи популярность. К нему стекаются акыны, певцы, композиторы, вокруг него объединяется талантливая молодежь, создаются социально-философская и литературная школы.

Нравственно-этические взгляды Абая не были  плодом исключительно личного наблюдения за жизнью и общественным устройством казахов. Абай основательно изучал труды философов древности Платона и Аристотеля, а также сочинения немецких философов Нового времени – Канта, Гегеля, Фейербаха.

Этические и эстетические проблемы, при всей их важности не могли быть решены безотносительно к решению  более  общих вопросов философии. Одним из таких вопросов был вопрос об общих основаниях бытия и познания, Бога и человека.

Мудрый Абай любил повторять слова пророка Мухаммеда: «Хороший человек тот, который приносит пользу людям» [«Гаклия» – «Слова назидания», Слово тридцать восьмое]; к нему самому как никому другому можно отнести эти слова.

Сочинение «Гаклия» («Слова назидания») или «Кара соз» («Слова в прозе»),  занимает  особое место в творчестве Абая, – под этим наименованием объединены сорок пять «Слов» – небольших, тщательно обработанных, художественно-стилистических,  законченных фрагментов. Термин «кара» (чёрный)  в сочетании с термином «соз» (слово) чрезвычайно многозначен: это и обозначение печали,  и обозначение прозы, в отличие от рифмованной речи и текста, а также идущее от тюркской традиции обозначение чего-то значительного, важного, первостепенного.

«Слова назидания» – это и непосредственное обращение к читателю, как бы собеседование, и откровенный разговор, своеобразный плод «ума холодных наблюдений и сердца горестных замет», и философия жизни отдельного человека на фоне судьбы народа.

«Слова назидания» по жанру близки к тому, что в чингизовской традиции называлось «биликом» – метким изречением, рассказом о жизненном примере, имеющем форму образца.

Название «Книга слов» или «Слова назидания» Абая не совсем точно передают жанр сочинения мыслителя.  По европейской традиции «Кара-соз» относится к жанру афоризмов и максим, а по сути это исповедь, чрезвычайно глубокий и ответственный жанр, требующий от писателя искренности и предельной  честности, по сути перед нами «обнажение души»  человека,  поэта и философа.

Сорок пять «Слов назидания» – это философские раздумья поэта о волнующих его жизненных проблемах и глубоко грустная беседа «с глазу на глаз» со своим слушателем. И, обращаясь к нему, поэт вопрошает себя: может быть, «править мне народом?», «умножать ли мне знания?», «заняться исполнением обрядов религии?», «заняться воспитанием детей?». 

Наконец, так Абай объясняет решение записать «свои мысли»: «Бумага и чернила станут отныне моим утешением… Может быть, кому-то придётся по душе какое-нибудь моё слово и он перепишет его для себя или просто запомнит, если нет – мои слова, как говорится, останутся при мне». [Слово первое].

Бессмертными стали многие строки из «Книги слов»: «Человек  рождается на свет с плачем и уходит  скорбя» [Слово четвертое];  «Человек набирается ума, запоминая слова мудрых» [Слово девятнадцатое]; «Тот, кто ищет похвалы у близких, уверен, добьётся её, расхваливая и вознося до небес самого себя» [Слово двадцать первое]; «Ученый и мыслитель – гордость человечества. Ими становятся те, у кого больше чувств и ума. И мы не придумываем науку, она появляется как результат наших ощущений, наблюдений и размышлений о созданном вокруг нас и организованном для нас мире» [Слово сорок третье].

В «Книге слов» Абай вкладывает в уста Сократа то, о чём сам прежде основательно размышлял, полемизируя с Аристодимом, философ говорит: «Ты согласишься, конечно, с тем, что вершина творений создателя - это человек. Но разве творец не наделил его пятью органами чувств, будучи уверенным в их необходимости человеку? Неужели ты находишь в человеке случайные, неразумные  органы?

Например, нам даны глаза, чтобы видеть. Если бы их не было, как бы мы могли любоваться красотой мира?  Глаза нежны, и для того, чтобы сохранить их, существуют веки: они открывают и, когда нужно, закрывают глаза от ветра и соринок, а брови отводят пот, стекающий со лба.

Если бы не было ушей, человек не слышал бы ни шума, ни грохота, не настораживался бы от шороха или крика, не наслаждался бы песнями или звуками мелодий.

Если бы нос не чувствовал запахов, человек не тянулся бы к благовониям и не бежал бы от зловония. Ему было бы всё равно.

Наконец, если бы у человека бы отсутствовали небо и язык, то он не смог бы изведать сладость или горечь пищи.

Разве это всё не на пользу человеку?

Глаза и нос расположены недалеко от  рта, чтобы человек видел чистоту и слышал запах принимаемой еды. Однако другие необходимые человеку отверстия, извергающие отбросы из тела, расположены подальше от головы, от благородных органов познания. Разве можно сказать, что это всё случайное проявление разума творца?» [Слово двадцать седьмое].

Если бы только в науке все было так ясно, чтобы можно было с уверенностью знать, в каком направлении следует двигаться, и что делать. Когда мы в затруднении, нам всегда придет на помощь мудрый, стоит только обратиться к нему: «Сила, Разум, Сердце поспорили, кто из них нужнее человеку. Убедившись, что не могут прийти к согласию, они обратились за помощью к Науке… Соединитесь же вместе, и, как я уже говорил, пусть вами руководит сердце! Если это произойдет, и вы сойдетесь в одном человеке, то он станет праведником. Пыль с подошв его ног будет исцелять слепых. В этом – в гармонии и чистоте человеческой жизни и заключается смысл  существования великого мира. Если вы не сможете объединиться, то я отдам предпочтение Сердцу – царю человеческой  жизни. Так решила спор Наука» [Слово семнадцатое].

«Кара-соз» («Гаклия») – это как бы и вывод, и итог жизни: «Хорошо ли я прожил до сегодняшнего дня, но пройдено немало: но вот когда уже виден конец пути, когда обессилел и устал душой, я убеждаюсь в бесплодности своих благих стремлений, в суетности и бренности человеческой жизни».

«Хоть и существую я, но поистине мёртв. Не могу разобраться, в  чём причина: то ли в бессильной досаде на сородичей, то ли в отверженности от самого себя, то ли ещё в чём-то. По внешнему виду я вполне здоров, изнутри же мёртв. Смеюсь ли, не чувствую радости. Что бы ни делал, говорю ли, смеюсь ли – всё это как совсем не моё, а кого-то иного».

«Не пойму, как я отношусь к своему народу: питаю к нему неприязнь или люблю? – Если б любил, то без малейшего сомнения одобрил бы его нравы и среди всех черт нашёл бы хоть одну, достойную похвалы. Моя любовь не давала бы погаснуть вере, будто мои соплеменники обладают качествами, присущими великому народу. Но нет у меня этой веры», – подводит черту Абай.

Прошло девять лет, прежде чем Абай написал все сорок пять «Слов-бесед», и высказал в них сокровенные думы, чаяния, скорбные жалобы на  равнодушных к голосу поэта современников. «Прожита жизнь – спорил я, боролся, судился, имея одни хлопоты, и в них обессилел, устал и убедился в бесцельности всего сделанного»:

Я с утёса кричал,

Мне простор отвечал –

Отвечали горы и дол.

Но услышав звук,

Я искал вокруг:

Как, откуда тот звук пришёл?

Был всё тот же утёс иной, –

Отклик есть, но отклик пустой.

  ***

Велика у меня,

Широка родня, –

Одиноким быть нет причин,

Велика семья, но не понят я

И живу средь людей один.

Как могила шамана, я

Одинок – вот правда моя!

Внимательное и вдумчивое чтение и изучение «Слов», – это и будет данью памяти великому и мудрому Абаю, к которому вполне можно отнести некогда написанные им строки:

Можно ли того назвать умершим,

Кто миру дал бессмертные слова.

Абай Кунанбаев – великий поэт, писатель, общественный деятель, основоположник современной казахской литературы, реформатор культуры в  духе сближения с русской и европейской культурой на основе просвещённого ислама.

Гонгало  В.М.

(СКГУ им. М.Козыбаева)

Литература:

1.  Абай. Книга слов. Алматы, 1992. 

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь