«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future»
Бас редакторға сұрақ +7 707 686 75 81
Қазақша Русский English

Events calendar

30 December

30 December 1998

The Year of continuity of generations has been declared

About the announcement of 1999 as the year of unity and continuity of generations

Considering opinion and public offers, for development of interrelation of generations and strengthening of unity of the Kazakhstan people I decide:

1. To declare the year 1999 as the Year of unity and continuity of generations.

2. To the government of the Republic of Kazakhstan:

1)  To create the State Commission for the Year of unity and continuity of generations

To suggest to be a part of the state commission heads of political parties, other public associations, national and cultural centers, creative unions, religious organizations;

To charge to akims of Astana and Almaty areas, and to heads of the central executive bodies to create the similar commissions;

2) To approve the plan of measures on carrying out Year of unity and continuity of generations by January 20, 1999

3) Make financing of actions of "Year of unity and continuity of generations" in an order established by the legislation;

4) To provide extended and timely coverage of a course of realization of the actions provided within a Year of unity and continuity of generations in mass media;

5) To charge to the state commission on carrying out Year of unity and continuity of generations to offer the work which was carried out in days of a national consent and memory of victims of political repressions, national unity and national history.

3. The present Decree comes into force from the date of publication.

President of the Republic of Kazakhstan

30 December 1922

The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) was formed.

The Soviet Union occupied the eastern half of Europe and the northern third of Asia. USSR was created on December 30, 1922, when the First Congress of Soviets adopted the Declaration on the creation of the USSR. The date, when the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR) has teamed up with the Ukrainian and Belorussian Soviet Socialist Republics and with the Transcaucasian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic, is considered as the day of the USSR. These republics emerged after the October Revolution of 1917 and the collapse of the Russian Empire. Originally there were only four Soviet republics in the USSR, and in subsequent years this number was extended.

From 1956 to 1991 the USSR included 15 Union republics: the Russian SFSR, Ukrainian SSR, Belorussian SSR, Uzbek SSR, Kazakh SSR, Georgian SSR, Azerbaijan SSR, Lithuanian SSR, Moldavian SSR, Latvian SSR, Kyrgyz SSR, Tajik SSR, Armenian SSR, Turkmen SSR, and Estonian SSR.

Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia seceded from the Union in September 1991.

On December 8, 1991, the leaders of the Russian Federation, Ukraine and Belarus, during the meeting at the Bialowieza forest, announced that the Soviet Union ceased to exist, and agreed to form a new association, the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

On December 21, in Almaty, the leaders of 11 republics signed an agreement on the formation of this community.

  On December 25 the first and last Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev resigned, and on the next day the Soviet Union was dissolved.

Source: http://www.calend.ru/event/4837/