«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future»
N.A.Nazarbayev

Bokey Khanate’s establishment

2216 0
Bokey Khanate’s establishment
Economic decline and deepening of land crisis led to the Bokey Khanate’s establishment in 1801. In 1797, as a result of a fierce fighting Kazakhs regained the right to graze cattle.

Economic crisis and lack of land led to the establishment of so called Bokey, or Inner Horde according to its geographic location as it was established between deltas of the Ural and Volga rivers, in 1801. Till the end of the XVIII century this area was called Astrakhan Steppe. There were no permanent settlements of nomads, according to the season it was occupied by Kundrov and Astrakhan Tatars (Nogais), Kalmyks and Kazakhs. Some Cossacks’ settlements and peasant farm were located along the Ural River and along the coast. Since the end of the XVIII century the character, scale and motives of Kazakhs’s removal to the area between rivers had changed. If before horse herds of Sultan’s farms was driven for the winter, then after the suppression of Syrym Datuly’s rebellion the process of resettlement had become mass and incontrollable. In such situation the Government made a decision to promote the wishes of Kazakh nomadic auls. Ceding the territory which was almost inhabited after the flight of Kalmyks to Dzungaria in 1771 the Government planned to reduce the tension of the social fight in the Junior Juz which assumed anticolonial character. Such removal served the colonial interests of Tsarism as it disintegrated power of the Junior Juz, turned the part of Kazakhs into the subject if the Empire, in the similitude of Kalmyks and Bashkirs, as well as promised rise in taxes for Kazakhs and the development of trade relations.

One of the contemporaries of the events indicated that Sultan Bokey decided to remove to the inner side " in consequence of different friendly advices and hints from the Tsarist officials». Even his brother Shigay wrote about it: «in 1801 my late brother Bokey Nuraliev… was invited by the Astrakhan temporal Governor Knorring with the help of the Head of Astrakhan Cordon Popov to move to the inner side of the Ural River and become the constant Russian citizens. Khan Bokey did this with me and other our sultan-brothers and dependent Kazakhs with ten thousand of nomad tents and property».

In political sense this Horde as a special province was legalized only in 1812. That year at one time Sultan Shirgazy was appointed as a Khan in the Junior Juz while Sultan Bokey — in the Inner Horde. Shortly after the delimitation of his estate Khan Bokey died (1815). Till the legal adulthood of his eldest son Sultan Shigay managed the Horde. Zhangir was educated in the house of the Governor in Astrakhan. On July 24, 1924 in Uralsk in front of the highest officials of Boundary Administration of Orenburg Zhangir was declared to be a Khan.

The period of Zhangir’s government was relatively long and constructive in respect of reforms in the social life as well as full of the various events. For the first time in the history of Kazakh Khanates the lands were owned by nomads, becoming settled. He revived the institute of Tarkhans. These steps contributed to the decomposition of the nomadic society of Kazakhs. While enhancing his power Zhangir reformed the old system of taxes: before there was the «zyaket», then — «sotym» and finally «zhasauyl aky», which was the tax on servants’ salary.

Khan established the management body consisted of different functional subdivisions including chancellery, group of delegates, council of twelve biys, institute of yesauls, group of market sultans, Khan’s fourteen orderly men, the post of Akhun, the ecclesiastic of the Khanate, wase established in the Bokey Horde.

Substantial trade centers, one of the main of which was the Khan’s headquarter, appeared on the territory of the Khanate in 30-s. The volume of the trade turnover of the fair established in 1832 was more than one million rubles. Hundreds of thousands of cattle heads were moved to Russia, thousands of merchants from all areas came to the fair. The trade character of Khan’s headquarter can be indicated at least from the fact that among 89 houses 46 hosted shops and 19 had warehouses (1840-s).

Khan’s Horde hosted enough Muslim schools (mektebs) and almost each clan and each division of clan had their own mullah. Manu graduates of these schools were sent to madrasah of Bukhara and Tashkent to continue their education. The Khan’s educational concept was implemented in the first secular school not only in the Bokey Horde but in the whole Kazakhstan which was opened in 1841. The first enrollment in that school counted only 12 pupils on 30–40 vacancies. It took two years more to occupy these places. Yevreinov A. wrote that at the school children studied «Tatar, Arab and Russian languages, basic rules of Arithmetic and Grammatics, short course of Geography and History as well as the rules of Smallpox Vaccination… The best graduates enter the Orenburg Nepljuevski Corps». In his most interesting article «Kyrgyz’s notes about Kyrgyzs» (1861) Babajanov S. in details described the educational condition in the Bokey Horde. In particular it was written the following about the scholars of Nepljuevski Corps: «Khan Zhangir tried to improve the education of Horde’s people inside their territory and opened the only such source of that kind in Orenburg where, in accordance with the permission of the authorities, the Second Squadron, or the Asian Division, of established Nepljuevski Cadett Corps admits ten boys from our Horde».

The «weapons locker» occupies the special place among the remarkable events in cultural life of the Bokey Khanate. In opinion of contemporaries, it had a lot of unique exhibits demonstrated complete mastery of Kazakh craftsmen. A lot of items of Eastern origin including «Asian chain armours, helmets, elbow pads and other military armours» were kept in this first museum of Kazakhstan. Among other sabers there were those granted to his clan by the Russian Emperors. There are several versions about the destiny of the precious exhibits of this museum.

In his time Khan Zhangir was elected as a honorary member of scientific-historical society under the Kazan University. He wrote down some epic poems and shezhire of Kazakhs. Khan Zhangir died in 1845 and Khan Regime was not reestablished after him; the Horde was governed by the Provisional Council.


translated by  I.KUZMENKO

June 9, 2014 

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Публикации

Образование Бокеевского ханства

15 Июля 2013
1089
0
Образование Бокеевского ханства
Хозяйственный упадок, усугубление земельного кризиса привели к образованию в 1801 г. Бокеевского ханства. В 1797 г. в результате ожесточенной борьбы казахи вернули себе право пасти скот.

Хозяйственный упадок, углубление земельной тесноты привело к образованию в 1801 г. так называемый Букеевской или Внутренней Орды по географическому расположению, так как она образовалась между низовьями рр. Урала и Волги. До конца XVIII в. эта территория именовалась Астраханской степью. Здесь не было постоянных поселений кочевников, по сезонам ее занимали кундровские и астраханские татары (ногайцы), калмыки и казахи, Отдельные казачьи поселения и крестьянские дворы располагались вдоль р. Урал и по берегам моря. С конца XVIII в. характер, масштаб и мотивы перехода казахов на междуречье изменились. Если раньше на зиму перегонялись табуны лошадей султанских хозяйств, то после подавления восстания Сырыма Датулы процесс переселения стал массовым и трудно регулируемым. Правительство в таких условиях сочло необходимым пойти навстречу желанием кочевых казахских аулов. Уступая территорию, которая почти пустовала после бегства калмыков в 1771 г. в Джунгарию, правительство рассчитывало разрядить напряженность социальной борьбы в Младшем жузе, принимавшую антиколониальный характер. Такое переселение отвечало колониальным интересам царизма: оно раздробляло силы Младшего жуза, превращало часть казахов в подданных империи, наподобие калмыков и башкир, сулило усиление поборов с казахов, развитие торговых отношений.

Один из современников событий указывал, что султан Букей решился перейти на внутреннюю сторону «вследствие разных дружеских советов и внушений со стороны царских чиновников». Об этом писал также и его брат Шигай: «покойный брат мой Букей Нуралиев прошлого 1801 ... приглашен был Астраханским временным губернатором Кноррингом через присылаемого Астраханского кордона начальника Попова перейти на внутреннюю сторону р. Урал во всегдашнее подданство России. Хан Букей перешел со мною и другими султанами-братьями нашими и подвластными казахами с десятью тысячами кибиток, со всем скотом и имуществом».

Политически эта орда как особое владение была оформлена только в 1812 г. В этом году одновременно в Младшем жузе был назначен ханом султан Ширгазыц а во Внутренней орде - султан Букей. Вскоре после разграничения своего владения хан Букей умер (1815 г.). До совершеннолетия его старшего управление ордой осуществлял султан Шигай. Жангир воспитывался в Астрахани, в доме губернатора. 24 июля 1824 г. в г. Уральске в присутствии высших чинов пограничного управления Оренбурга Жангир был провозглашен ханом.

Период ханствования Жангира был относительно продолжительным и конструктивным в плане осуществления преобразований в жизни общества и в то же время насыщенным различными событиями. Впервые в истории казахских ханств осуществил переход земель в частную собственость кочевников, переходящих в оседлость. При нем возрождается институт тарханства Эти меры способствовали разложению кочевой общины казахов. По мере укрепления своей власти Жангир реформировал старую систему налогов, прежде взимался "зякет", затем "сотым" и, наконец, "жасауыл акы"- налог для содержания слуг.

Хан при себе создал аппарат управления, состоявший из ряда функциональных подразделений: канцелярия, депутатская группа, coвет 12 биев, институт есаулов, группа базарных султанов, ханские вестовые из 14 человек, в Букеевской орде была учреждена должность ахуна - главного духовного лица ханства.

2 На территории ханства в. 30-х г. появились значительные торговые центры, одним из значительных является Ханская ставка. Учрежденная в 1832 г. ярмарка имела объем торгового оборота более миллиона рублей. В Россию переправлялись сотни тысяч поголовий скота, на ярмарку приезжали тысячи купцов со всех сторон. Торговый характер Ханской ставки ярко вырисовывается хотя бы из того, что из 89 домов в 46 были лавки, а в19-торговые склады (40-е г.)

В ханской орде было довольно много мусульманских мектебов, практически каждый род, каждое отделение рода имело своего муллу. Немало выпускников этих школ направлялись для продолжения учебы в медресе Бухары и Ташкента. Образовательная концепция хана нашла выражение в открывшейся в 1841 г. первой светской школе не только в Букеевской орде, но и во всем Казахстане. Первый набор в школу составил всего 12 учеников на 30-40 вакансий. Потребовалось еще два года, чтобы заполнить эти места. А: Евреинов писал, что в этой школе преподавали «татарский, арабский и русский языки, начальные правила арифметики и грамматики, в кратком виде - географию и историю, правила оспопрививания... Лучшие выпускники поступают отсюда в Оренбургский Неплюевский корпус». В своей интереснейшей статье «Заметки киргиза о киргизах» (1861 г.) С.Бабаджанов подробно описал состояние народного образования в Букеевской Орде. В частности, о стипендиатах Неплюевского корпуса пишут следующее: «...хан Джангир старался усилить образование ордынцев внутри земли их и открыл единственный источник в этом роде в Оренбурге, где в учрежденный Неплюевский кадетский корпус разрешено начальством принимать из нашей Орды 10 мальчиков во 2-ом эскадроне или азиатском отделении оного».

Среди примечательных явлений в культурной жизни Букеевского ханства особое место занимает "оружейная комната". По отзывам современников, в ней было немало уникальных экспонатов, свидетельствовавших о высоком мастерстве казахских ремесленников. В этом первом музее Казахстана было много вещей восточного происхождения: «азиатские кольчуги, шлемы, налокотники и другие воинские доспехи». В числе сабель были дарованные его роду от российских императоров. Существует несколько версий относительно судьбы ценных экспонантов данного музея.

Хан Жангир был в свое время избран почетным членом научно- исторического общества при Казанском университете. Им был записан ряд эпических поэм и шежире казахов. Умер хан Жангир в 1845 г., и ханская власть после него не восстанавливалась, орда управлялась Временным Советом.

Опрос

Какую национальную одежду вы носите?