Publications

Fight for freedom

12 November 2017
67
0
Fight for freedom
In the 20-40s of the XIX century the Kazakhs experienced hard times - different states looked at their lands, but the most aggressive policy toward the Kazakh steppes was conducted by tsarist Russia,

the Khiva and Kokand khanates

Despite the different levels of development of these states, the differences in the aims pursued, the ethnic and cultural characteristics, the aggression of the invaders was powerful and comprehensive - the Kazakh Khanate began to weaken, moreover, torn apart by internal strife, socio-economic division, when the Russian government began to gradually pull to its side feudal nobility, bribing it with special privileges and additional regalia, as marks of attention from the tsar, it could not give a serious rebuff without a popular leader, who could instill rebellion in the mass.

To solve this situation could be a shrewd person with a strong character who has an idea of ​​both the life and everyday life of ordinary people and is familiar with military and political affairs. Such a man was Kenesary Kasymov.

Kasym-sultan himself was half of the Dzungarian origin - he was born from the native daughter of the Dzungarian Huntaiji Galdan-Tseren.

In Kasymov, the blood of a warrior and a fighter for justice flowed.

The Kazakh Khanate, represented by the three zhuzes, rallied and supported Kenesary, seeing him as a fighter for independence, who could achieve a common goal.

The Russian Empire always kept the neighboring land in view, but it acquired special significance in the first third of the nineteenth century during the aggravation of Anglo-Russian rivalry over the Khiva-Bukhara-Kokand line.

Including because of its geographical location, the Kazakh lands were a tasty morsel for large empires. Kazakhstan opened an outlet to Central Asia.

The spread of Russian influence took place in several stages:

  1. The construction of fortified lines with the provision of garrisons and the creation of Cossack settlements near the fortresses.
  2. Formation of districts and district orders. The introduction of a distant system, which was a territorial-administrative division, in which the senior sultans had their own distance, and they in their turn were subordinated to the auls. As a result of such a management system, the rights of the local population were often infringed upon.
  3. Economic implementation. The use of Kazakh lands for Russian needs, the introduction of taxes and monopolies on the use of natural resources, fishing, and logging.

Central Asian khanates pursued their predatory policy. The Syrdarya Kazakhs complained to bi Dospol who was loyal to Kenesary: "Now the Uzbeks have surpassed the Russians".

The revolt of Kenesary stretched for 10 years. There were a lot of losses, but also a lot of victories in this long war. Most importantly, the leader of the movement managed to rally the Kazakh people and inspire new conquests. One of these conquests is the Aktau Fortress. The Russian Empire used it to dispose of its military units. But the fortress expanded.

Significant is the fact that 180 years ago, on November 10, 1837, a Russian decree was signed to the commander of the Siberian Separate Corps, on the definition of a priest to the church, supposed to be built in the outer districts of the Kyrgyz steppe. That is, the fortress was expanding; the foreign power increased its social and cultural infrastructure.

Scientists suggest that in August 1838 Kenesary attacked the fortress, which soon fell. But the insurgents could not stay there for long, because Russian reinforcements arrived in time for help. Around 1858 the fortress finally ceased to exist - Kenesary Kasymov was killed, by this time the process of joining the three zhuzes to Russia was almost completed.

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

Are you interested in the history of independent Kazakhstan?

Публикации

Борьба за свободу

11 Ноября 2017
422
0
Борьба за свободу
В 20-40 годы XIX века казахи переживали тяжелые времена – на их земли заглядывались разные государства,

но самую захватническую политику в отношении казахских степей вела царская Россия, Хивинское и Кокандское ханство.

Несмотря на разные уровни развития этих государств, различия в преследуемых целях, национально-этнические и культурные особенности, агрессия захватчиков была мощной и всесторонней – Казахское ханство начало слабеть, к тому же раздираемое внутренними распрями, социально-экономическим делением, когда русское правительство начало постепенно перетягивать на свою сторону феодальную знать, подкупая ее особыми привилегиями и дополнительными регалиями, как знаки внимания от царя, оно не могло дать серьезный отпор без народного лидера, который вселил бы в массы бунтарский дух.

Решить эту ситуацию мог проницательный человек, обладающим сильным характером, имеющий представление как о жизни и быте простых людей, так и знакомый с военным и политическим делом. Таким человеком был Кенесары Касымов, который родился от первой жена Касыма-торе.

Сам Касым-султан был наполовину джунгарского происхождения – он родился от родной дочери джунгарского хунтайджи Галдан-Цэрэна.

В Касымове текла кровь воителя и борца за справедливость.

Казахское ханство, представленное тремя жузами, сплотилось и поддержало Кенесары, видя в нем борца за независимость, который смог бы добиться общей цели.

Российская империя всегда держала в поле зрения соседнюю землю, но особенное значение для нее она приобрела в 1-й трети XIX века во время обострения англо-русского соперничества за линию Хива-Бухара-Коканд.

В том числе из-за своего географического расположения казахские земли представляли лакомый кусочек для крупных империй. Казахстан открывал выход в Центральную Азию.

Распространение российского влияния происходило в несколько этапов:

  1. Сооружение укрепленных линий с предоставлением гарнизонов и создание рядом с крепостями казачьих поселений.
  2. Образование округов и окружных приказов. Введение дистаночной системы, которая представляла собой территориально-административное деление, при котором старшие султаны обладали своей дистанцией, а им в свою очередь подчинялись аулы. Вследствие такой системы управления чаще стали ущемляться права местного населения.
  3. Экономическое внедрение. Использование казахских земель для российских нужд, введение налогов и монополий на использование природных ресурсов, рыболовство, лесозаготовку. 

Свою хищническую политику проводили и среднеазиатские ханства. На хивинцев бию Досполу, который лояльно относился к Кенесары,  жаловались сырдарьинские казахи  «Ныне по своей тягостности узбеки превзошли русских».

Восстание Кенесары растянулось на 10 лет. Было много потерь, но и множество побед в этой долгой войне. Самое главное – лидеру движения удалось заново сплотить казахский народ и вдохновить на новые завоевания. Одним из таких завоеваний является Актауская крепость. Российская империя использовала ее для расположения своих военных единиц. Но крепость расширялось.

Знаменательным является тот факт, что 180 лет назад, 10 ноября 1837 года, был подписан российский указ командиру Сибирского Отдельного корпуса, об определении священника к церкви, предполагаемой к сооружению во внешних округах киргизской степи. То есть крепость расширялось, иноземная власть увеличивала свою социально-культурную инфраструктуру.

Ученые предполагают, что в августе 1838 года Кенесары напал на крепость, которая вскоре пала. Но долго задерживаться там восставшие не могли, так как на помощь подоспело российское подкрепление. Около 1858 года крепость окончательно прекратила свое существование – Кенесары Касымов был убит, к этому времени был практически завершен процесс присоединения трех жузов к России.

 

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Интересуетесь ли Вы историей Независимого Казахстана?