Publications

Shymkent – the most ancient city of Kazakhstan

12 September 2017
144
0
Shymkent – the most ancient city of Kazakhstan
Each city has its own history. The program "Tugan zher" is directed to the study of the history of the native land. "NDH" portal continues publication of materials about the cities of Kazakhstan

This time we met with the famous local historian, deputy director and editor-in-chief of the newspaper "Southern Kazakhstan" Kenesbay Ismailov. All his life Kenesbay Serikovich devoted to the study of the South Kazakhstan region. We learned a lot of interesting things about beautiful, attractive, warm Shymkent from him.

According to the master plan approved three years ago, the territory of Shymkent is 1170 km ². To visually imagine - this is roughly Moscow inside the Moscow Ring Road, even to compare the city of Almaty (682 km ²) and Astana (801.54 km ²). Shymkent is the largest city in the country. The city is big, but low-rise.

We met with K. Ismailov in the park of Abay. Previously, this was the edge of the city and was called the park 50 years of October. And now it is in the geographical center of the city.

- Before us is a unique museum, which is nowhere else in Kazakhstan, Kenesbay Serikovich is proud. -It is a museum of victims of political repression. The museum presents a unique material, a well-written section on the Suzak uprising of 1930, political repressions of 1937, and deported peoples.

The pearl of the park is the Memorial of Glory. The monument was built in 1979. It has an unusual design. It symbolizes the rear, which was the support of the front during the Great Patriotic War.

- Eternal fire burns here. Surprisingly, when Shymkent experienced a very severe collapse in the 1990s, there was no gas, no light, even in the most difficult years, eternal fire never faded. We found options, opportunities, even on gas cylinders it burned, but this fire never faded. The people of the city have always been so sensitive to the events of the Great Patriotic War.

In 2010, by the 65th anniversary of the Victory, a complete reconstruction was carried out here, and the complex was renamed. The essence of this memorial is that, when preparations were being made for the 65th anniversary of the Victory, it turned out that many people were not recorded as participants in the Second World War.

On the plates in alphabetical order, the names of all South-Kazakhstanis who in 1941-1945 were drafted into the ranks of the Soviet Army were knocked out. Therefore, they decided to engrave the names of all those who were drafted into the ranks of the Soviet Red Army in 1941-1945. According to the documents of the military enlistment office, there were about 90 thousand people.

And then people began to bring documents confirming that their parents were also drafted. A great deal of work was done by the military commissariats. For almost two months the regional newspapers published strip lists with new names. After careful checks, the list of South-Kazakhstanis, who were drafted into the Red Army in 1941-1945, reached 143 thousand people.

This is the Circle of Heroes of the Soviet Union. 51 heroes of the Soviet Union, 8 full Knights of the Order of Glory, and, shortly before his death, Maulen Kalmyrzayev received the title of Halyk Kaharmany (folk Hero) during the Second World War. He was assigned to the title of Hero of the Soviet Union during the war, but for some reason he did not receive it. And justice triumphed; Maulen Kalmyrzayev is the first person from the Syrdarya district, to whom the President signed the Decree on the handing over of Halyk Kaharmany.

- Did not you forget about your fellow Sabyr Rakhimov?

- Sabyr Rakhimov is a native of the Kazygurt district. For a long time it was believed that he was Uzbek, but we managed to prove that he was Kazakh, a native of the South-Kazakhstan region from the Kazygurt district. The Uzbeks now refused him, the district was renamed, even the metro station was renamed, and the monument was moved to the outskirts somewhere. And we do not abandon our heroes, as they say. In our perception, he is the first Kazakh General of the Soviet Army; he is the first Kazakh General.

- And here are all surnames listed? It's such a huge job!

- Here are surnames, in alphabetical order, by districts and cities. It was a tremendous job. Almost two months, it took us only to publish the lists. This is the corner we specifically left for those who suddenly did not appear on the list. And starting from A to Z - these are the names that were later printed, when it was already revealed that 143 thousand people had left to serve in the army. Over 60 thousand of them have not returned from the war. Imagine 60 thousand people lost only the South-Kazakhstan region! Some countries did not lose as much as one region during the Second World War. According to calculations of the Second World War, if you count - 60 thousand people - this is a minimum of seven or eight divisions.

- Why is there an airplane here?

- The fact is that during the Second World War in the South Kazakhstan region, not far from the village of Sayram, there was an airfield. Here from Ukraine was evacuated Chuguyev flight school and trained fighter pilots. The unique fact is that the pilot instructor who trained fighter pilots in Shymkent was the famous Ivan Kozhedub, three times Hero of the Soviet Union. And Ivan Kozhedub went to the war precisely from Shymkent. After the evacuation of the school, he worked as an instructor, then he asked to go to the front - he went to the front, and became three times Hero of the Soviet Union. And this plane was put in memory of the pilots who went to the front from Shymkent, who were trained in the Chuguyev Flight School.

The park of Abay is saturated with various objects, linking the city into one. On the right side is a huge sports complex. There - the famous stadium of Kazhymukan, next to it an indoor swimming pool, a winter pavilion of track and field athletics, a school of sportsmanship. Next is a huge sports complex and a tennis center is attached to it. The tennis center has the status of "Asian Tennis Center".

- There was never a stationary circus in Shymkent, always circus Shapito. Five years ago we built a stationary circus, for almost a thousand spectators.

This road rests directly to the Museum of Art, with a chic picture gallery. And on the right, among the trees, is the large water park "Dolphin".

- The park intersects different vectors and directions of city life. And what can you tell about historical directions?

- Shymkent itself is considered an ancient city. The historical center of the city is in the south. There is a river Kochkar Ata, near which is the citadel of the city. Now the akimat is developing a large project for its reconstruction. They want to raise the walls, excavate the streets, and make the open-air museum. Shymkent is the only regional center that has preserved its citadel untouchable. In Taraz, it remained under the central market, there one small piece was cleared, excavated, and they made the open-air museum. We want the whole citadel to become the open-air museum. Scientists conducted excavations, dug 17 meters to the land area and found artifacts of the fact that there was a permanent settlement of 2200 years old. That officially proved that the city of Shymkent is 2200 years old.

In the next few years we want to reconstruct the old city, the citadel, the old drawings, schemes have been preserved. When all these works are completed, the city will officially apply to UNESCO for the celebration of the 2200th anniversary. In Kazakhstan, the most ancient city was Taraz, its 2000th anniversary was celebrated in the autumn of 2002, and Shymkent will celebrate 2200th anniversary.

- Thus, Shymkent claims the title of the most ancient city of Kazakhstan?

- Yes, officially so. Although there are Syrdarya fortifications which can claim this title, too. All the cities were interconnected, because they were on the Great Silk Road. All the Syrdarya cities were once built by Sogdian merchants. Even since the time of Alexander the Great, maybe earlier. For example, in the Fergana Valley, there is the city of Osh, which officially celebrated its 3000th anniversary in 2000 by UNESCO.

- Ancient cities on the Great Silk Road, even on their Kazakhstan segment, should be, in principle, peers?

- Yes, approximately, plus or minus 500 years, because they were created at first as trading stands, caravanserais, growing gradually to administrative centers.

Part of the complex is the Alley of Soldiers-Internationalists. It's a bullet that stabbed into the heart of a soldier. It was created by the warriors-internationalists of Shymkent. From our region during the Afghan war, 68 people were killed. Here are the names of the guys by year; in what year, how many guys died in Afghanistan. Also, right in the center, there is a monument to the dead border guards.

At the very end of the alley stands a monument to the soldiers of the internal troops, who died in 1995 during the protection of the Tajik-Afghan border. In Shymkent there was a military unit of the Ministry of Internal Affairs. From there the boys left to serve in the Pshikhavrsky gorge. Seventeen guys died there.

Another interesting object of the city is the river Kochkar Ata. The fact is that Shymkent is the only city in the world where the main water artery Kochkar Ata crosses the city center, and originates in the city itself. A huge spring, two arms of the river, about a thousand springs merge into one stream. And from the first source, if you walk a mile and a half down, the river reaches a width of fourteen meters.

Thus, Kenesbay Ismailov revealed to us a new Shymkent: ancient, beautiful, with a rich history and real heroes.

 

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What of the wealth of Zheti Kazyna is the most in demand in modern society?

Публикации

Кенесбай Исмаилов: Шымкент - самый древний город Казахстана

12 Сентября 2017
316
0
Кенесбай Исмаилов: Шымкент - самый древний город Казахстана
У каждого города есть своя история. На изучение истории родного края направлена программа «Туған жер». Портал «NDH» продолжает публикацию материалов о городах Казахстана

На этот раз мы встретились с известным краеведом, заместителем директора-главного редактора газеты «Южный Казахстан» Кенесбаем Исмаиловым. Всю свою жизнь Кенесбай Серикбаевич посвятил изучению Южно-Казахстанского края. От него мы узнали много интересного о красивом, притягательном, теплом Шымкенте.

Согласно генерального плана, утвержденного три года назад, территория Шымкента составляет 1170 км². Чтобы визуально представить – это примерно Москва внутри МКАД, еще для сравнения города Алматы (682 км²) и Астана (801,54 км²). Шымкент по площади – это самый большой город в стране. Город-то большой, но малоэтажный.

Мы встретились с К. Исмаиловым в парке Абая. Раньше это был край города и назывался парк 50 лет Октября. А сейчас он находится в географическом центре города.

 Кенесбай Серикович Исмаилов

- Перед нами уникальный музей, которого в Казахстане нигде больше нет, - гордится Кенесбай Серикович. Это музей жертв политических репрессий. В музее представлен уникальный материал, хорошо составлен раздел по Сузакскому восстанию 1930 года, политическим репрессиям 1937 года, депортированным народам. 

Музей жертв политических репрессий

Жемчужиной парка является Мемориал Славы. Монумент был построен в 1979 году. У него необычная конструкция. Она символизирует тыл, который был опорой фронту в годы Великой Отечественной войны.

- Здесь горит вечный огонь. Что удивительно, когда Шымкент в 90-е годы перенес очень сильный коллапс, газа не было, света, даже в самые трудные годы вечный огонь никогда ни гас. Находили варианты, возможности, даже на газовых баллонах он горел, но этот огонь никогда ни гас. Настолько трепетно жители города всегда относились к событиям Великой Отечественной Войны.

В 2010-м году к 65-летию Победы здесь была проведена полная реконструкция, и комплекс получил название «Даңқ Мемориалы». Суть этого мемориала в том, что, когда шла подготовка к 65-летию Победы, выяснилось, что много людей не были зафиксированы как участники Второй мировой войны.

На плитах по районам в алфавитном порядке выбиты фамилии всех южноказахстанцев, которые в 1941 - 1945 годах были призваны в ряды Советской армии. Поэтому решили выгравировать имена всех, кто был призван в ряды Советской Красной армии в 1941 - 1945 гг. По документам военкомата оказалось фамилии около 90 тысяч человек.

И тут люди стали приносить документы, подтверждающие, что их родители тоже были призваны. Была проведена большая работа военкоматами. Областные газеты почти 2 месяца публиковали полосные списки с новыми фамилиями. После тщательных проверок список южноказахстанцев, которые были призваны в ряды Красной армии в 1941-1945 гг., достиг 143-х тысяч человек.

Круг Героев Советского Союза

Вот это - Круг Героев Советского Союза.С нашей области во время Второй мировой войны вышел 51 герой Советского Союза, 8 полных Кавалеров Ордена Славы, и, незадолго до смерти, Маулен Калмырзаев получил звание Халық қаһарманы. Он во время войны был приставлен к званию Героя Советского Союза, но по каким-то причинам не получил. И вот справедливость восторжествовала, Маулен Калмырзаев - это первый человек из Сырдарьинского района, которому Президент подписал Указ о вручении Халық қаһарманы.

- Вы не забыли про вашего земляка Сабыра Рахимова?

- Сабыр Рахимов уроженец Казыгуртского района. Долгое время считалось, что он узбек, но сумели доказать, что он именно казах, уроженец Южно-Казахстанской области из Казыгуртского района. Узбеки сейчас от него отказались, район его имени переименовали, даже станцию метро переименовали, памятник перенесли на окраину куда-то. А мы своих героев, как говорится, не бросаем. В нашем восприятии это первый казах - генерал Советской армии, это первый казах-генерал.

- А здесь пофамильно все перечислены? Это же какая огромная работа была проведена!

- Здесь пофамильно, в алфавитном порядке, по районам и городам. Это была колоссальная работа. Почти два месяца у нас ушло только на публикацию списков. Вот этот уголок мы специально оставили для тех, кто вдруг не оказался в списке. И начиная с А до Я – это те фамилии, которые были позже допечатаны, когда уже выяснилось, что в армию ушли служить 143 тысяч жителей. Из них с войны не вернулось более 60 тысяч. Представляете, 60 тысяч человек потеряла только Южно-Казахстанская область! Некоторые страны во время Второй мировой войны не теряли столько, сколько одна область. По расчетам Второй мировой войны, если посчитать – 60 тысяч человек – это минимум семь-восемь дивизий.

- Почему здесь стоит самолет?

- Дело в том, что во время Второй мировой войны в Южно-Казахстанской области, недалеко от поселка Сайрам, был аэродром. Сюда из Украины было эвакуировано Чугуевское летное училище и готовили летчиков-истребителей. Уникальный факт заключается в том, что летчиком-инструктором, который готовил истребителей в Шымкенте, был знаменитый Иван Кожедуб, трижды Герой Советского Союза. И на войну Иван Кожедуб ушел именно из Шымкента. После эвакуации училища он проработал инструктором, потом отпросился на фронт – его забрали, и он стал трижды Героем Советского Союза. А этот самолет поставлен в память об авиаторах, которые ушли на фронт из Шымкента, которые прошли обучение в Чугуевском летном училище.

Парк Абая насыщен различными объектами, связывая город в одно целое. С правой стороны - огромный спортивный комплекс. Там - знаменитый стадион Хаджи Мукана, рядом с ним крытый бассейн, зимний павильон легкой атлетики, школа спортивного мастерства. Дальше стоит огромный спортивный комплекс и к нему привязан теннисный центр. Теннисный центр имеет статус «Азиатского теннисного центра».

Аллея ветеранов

- В Шымкенте никогда не было стационарного цирка, всегда приезжали цирки Шапито. Пять лет назад мы построили стационарный цирк, почти на тысячу зрительских мест.

Вот эта дорога упирается прямо в Музей искусств, с шикарной картинной галереей. А справа, среди деревьев, большой аквапарк «Дельфин».

Теннисный центр

- В парке пересекаются разные векторы и направления городской жизни. Исторические в том числе? 

- Сам Шымкент считается древним городом. Исторический центр города находится на юге. Там есть река Кочкар ата, возле которой находится цитадель города. Сейчас акимат разрабатывает большой проект по ее реконструкции. Хотят поднять стены, раскопать улицы, сделать музей под открытым небом. Шымкент единственный областной центр, который сохранил неприкосновенной свою цитадель. В Таразе она осталась под центральным рынком, там один маленький кусочек расчистили, раскопали, сделали музей под открытым небом. Мы хотим, чтобы вся цитадель стала музеем под открытым небом. Ученые проводили раскопки, прорыли 17 метров до самого материковой зоны и нашли артефакты того, что там было постоянное поселение возрастом 2200 лет. То есть официально доказано, что городу Шымкенту 2200 лет.

В ближайшие несколько лет мы хотим провести реконструкцию старого города, цитадели, сохранились старые чертежи, схемы, рисунки. Когда все эти работы будут закончены, город официально подаст в ЮНЕСКО заявку на празднование 2200-летия. В Казахстане самым древним городом считался Тараз, 2000-летие которого праздновали осенью 2002 года, а Шымкент будет праздновать 2200 лет.

- Таким образом, Шымкент претендует на звание древнейшего города Казахстана?

- Да, официально так. Хотя есть, конечно, присырдарьинские городища, которые тоже могут претендовать на это звание. Все города были взаимосвязаны, потому что находились на Великом Шелковом пути. Все присырдарьинские города когда-то строили согдийские купцы. Еще со времен Александра Македонского, может и раньше. Например, в Ферганской долине, есть город Ош, который официально по линии ЮНЕСКО отпраздновал свое 3000-летие в 2000 году.

- Древние города на Великом шелковом пути, даже на его казахстанском отрезке, должны быть, в принципе, ровесниками?

- Да, примерно, плюс-минус 500 лет. Потому что создавались они сначала именно как торговые стоянки, караван-сараи, разрастаясь постепенно до административных центров.

Монумент на Аллее воинов-интернационалистов

Частью комплекса является Аллея воинов-интернационалистов. Это пуля, вонзившаяся в сердце солдата. Ее создали сами воины-интернационалисты Шымкента. Из нашей области во время Афганской войны погибло 68 человек. Здесь фамилии ребят по годам; в каком году, сколько ребят погибло в Афганистане. Также, прямо по центру, установлен памятник погибшим пограничникам.

В самом конце аллеи стоит памятник солдатам внутренних войск, погибшим в 1995 году во время охраны таджикско-афганской границы. В Шымкенте находилась войсковая часть МВД. Оттуда ребята уехали служить в Пшихаврское ущелье. Семнадцать ребят там погибло.

Еще один интересный объект города – это река Кочкар ата. Дело в том, что Шымкент – это единственный в мире город, где основная водная артерия Кочкар ата пересекает центр города, и берет начало в самом городе. Огромный родник, два рукава, около тысячи родников соединяются, сливаются в один поток. И от первого истока, если пройти полтора километра вниз, река достигает ширины уже четырнадцати метров.

Таким образом, Кенесбай Исмаилов открыл нам новый Шымкент: древний, красивый, с богатой историей и настоящими героями.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?