Publications

Khansha Fatima

11 September 2017
156
0
Khansha Fatima
In the Kazakh patriarchal history, women have always been given a secondary role

Only occasionally flashed examples in which representatives of the fair sex took the reins of government in their own hands and directly influenced the significant events. But sometimes history happens on the sidelines, and we learn about the sources of the results obtained from fragmentary facts and rare documents.

An outstanding woman of her time was Khansha Fatima, the wife of Khan Zhangir. She became famous for her beauty not only in the Kazakh steppe, but also in the Russian Empire. When Zhangir Khan and his wife spent time at a ball in the Kremlin, the young girl was noticed by Emperor Nicholas I. He asked her for a dance, and was pleasantly surprised by Fatima's erudition and sharp mind. Then the emperor asked:

"How can you live in the steppe?" There's nothing there!

To which the wise Khansha responded with famous lines:

“And the smoke of the Fatherland is sweet and pleasant to us, my sovereign!”

Fatima was the daughter of the famous Orenburg Mufti Mukhammedzhan Gusseynov. Her father did not skimp on the education of his children - Fatima except Russian and Tatar, spoke fluent English, French and German, knew court etiquette, knew how to play the piano, and knew the interpretation of the Koran.

It is not surprising that the young Khan was fascinated not only by her beauty, but also by her rich inner world. Zhangir Khan soon married her, he was twenty-one years old, and she was fifteen years old.

But they say that Zhangir Khan knew Fatima, even when she was a little girl - he was acquainted with the mufti. According to other sources, this was only a legend.

Zhangir Khan had four wives in his life; Fatima was the third and most beloved.

Fatima, as an oriental woman, was modest and wore dresses covering her shoulders and décolletage, but she also loved something new, she had a good taste. Her dress in Tatar style was given to the Museum of Kazan University, and a copy is kept in the Ural Museum. Fatima also wore European outfits: small hats, elegant dresses, gloves, and the khan in secular society often wore a military uniform. He had the rank of major general of the Russian army; besides, he had the court rank of aide-de-camp.

Khansha in all was the support of her husband, she was not afraid to interfere in difficult political situations. When Issatay Taymanov surrounded the Khan's rate during the uprising, Zhangir considered that the only way out was to escape, but Fatima stopped him, warning: “If you leave the rate, you will lose the khan's dignity forever”. Thanks to her, Zhangir Khan inclined Issatay to reconciliation, and rich gifts did their job, playing into the hands of the khan.

Zhangir Khan and Fatima enjoyed the special favor of the imperial couple. Empress Alexandra Fyodorovna, through the Minister of the Imperial Court, Prince Volkonsky and the Orenburg military governor Essen, presented a rich gift to her dear subject. In response, the grateful Khansha wrote a letter: "I was fortunate to receive from my husband a diadem, esclavage and earrings of the most beautiful Brazilian topaz, which your imperial majesty was pleased to honor me."

Baron Buhler visited the khan's rate, he wrote about Fatima: "Khan introduced us to his wife. She is very good, though she whitens her face and puts on rouge. She does not need these artificial embellishments. Charming Fatima Khansha, her affectionate reception will always be pleasant to me."

But the happiness of the young was short-lived. Mysterious death of a married couple has generated a lot of rumors. In preparation for the next visit to St. Petersburg Khan Zhangir unexpectedly died, and three months later Fatima died. Until now, the question remains - was there a connection between their death and the planned audience with the emperor…

 

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

Are you interested in the history of independent Kazakhstan?

Публикации

Ханша Фатима

10 Сентября 2017
198
0
Ханша Фатима
В казахской патриархальной истории женщинам всегда отводилась второстепенная роль.

Только изредка мелькали примеры, в которых представительницы прекрасного пола брали бразды правления в свои руки и непосредственно влияли на знаменательные события. Но иногда история творится в кулуарах, а об источниках полученных результатов, мы узнаем по отрывочным фактам и редким документам.

Выдающейся женщиной своего времени была ханша Фатима, жена хана Жангира. Она прославилась своей красотой не только в казахской степи, но и в Российской империи. Когда Жангир-хан с женой проводили время на балу в Кремле, молодую девушку заметил император Николай I. Он попросил ее о танце, и был приятно удивлен образованностью и острым умом Фатимы. Тогда император спросил:

- Как вы можете жить в степи? Там же ничего нет!

На что мудрая ханша ответила знаменитыми строками:

- И дым Отечества нам сладок и приятен, мой государь!

Фатима была дочерью знаменитого оренбургского муфтия Мухаммеджана Гусейнова. Отец не скупился на образование своих детей – Фатима кроме русского и татарского, свободно говорила на английском, французском и немецком языках, отлично знала придворный этикет, умела играть на фортепиано, и знала толкование Корана.

Не удивительно, что молодой хан был очарован не только ее красотой, но и богатым внутренним миром. Жангир-хан скоро женился на ней, ему был двадцать один год, ей пятнадцать лет.

Но говорят, что Жангир хан знал Фатиму, еще когда она была маленькой девочкой – он был знаком с муфтием. По другим данным, это было лишь легендой.

У Жангир-хана за всю его жизнь было четыре жены, Фатима была третьей и самой любимой. 

Фатима, как восточная женщина, была скромной и носила закрывающие руки и декольте наряды, но она любила и что-то новое, ей не было чуждо чувство вкуса. Ее платье в татарском стиле было передано музею Казанского университета, а копия хранится в Уральском музее. Фатима носила также европейские наряды: маленькие шляпки, элегантные платья, перчатки, да и хан в светском обществе чаще всего надевал военный мундир. У него было звание генерал-майора российской армии, к тому же он носил придворный чин флигель-адъютанта.

Ханша во всем была опорой и поддержкой своему мужу, она не боялась вмешиваться и в сложные политические ситуации. Когда Исатай Тайманов во время восстания окружил ханскую ставку, Жангир посчитал, что единственным выходом остается побег, но возлюбленная остановила его, предупредив: «Если вы оставите ставку, то навсегда лишитесь ханского достоинства. Благодаря ей Жангир-хан склонил Исатая к примирению, а богатые подарки сделали свое дело, сыграв на руку хану.

Жангир-хан и Фатима-ханша пользовались особой благосклонностью императорской четы. Императрица Александра Федоровна через министра императорского двора, князя Волконского и оренбургского военного губернатора Эссена вручила богатый подарок своей милой подданной. В ответ благодарная ханша написала письмо: «Я имела счастье получить через супруга моего диадему,  склаваж и серьги из  прекраснейших бразильских топазов, коими Вашему императорскому величию благоугодно было удостоить меня».

В ханской ставке побывал барон Бюлер, он писал о Фатиме: «Хан представил нас своей супруге. Она очень хороша, хоть набелена и нарумянена. Ей эти искусственные прикрасы не нужны. Очаровательная ханша Фатима, ласковый прием которой всегда будет мне приятен».

Но счастье молодых было недолгим. Загадочная смерть супружеской пары породила множество слухов. Во время подготовки к очередному визиту в Санкт-Петербург неожиданно скончался хан Жангир, а через три месяца умерла Фатима. До сих пор остается открытым вопрос – была ли связь между их смертью и запланированной аудиенцией с императором…

Использованы материалы сайта http://kazakh-tv.kz/ 

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?