Publications

4 capitals of Syr land

09 August 2017
118
0
4 capitals of Syr land
Kyzylorda region is a region with a rich history where the sage Korkyt-Ata found his peace, cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin conquered the cosmos here, the capitals of our ancestors were here

Since time immemorial, the Syrdarya River has been the cradle where civilization originated. The water artery served as the source of life. Out of gratitude to the river, locals from time immemorial call their land "The Land of Syr." The river has many branches; one of them is Zhanadarya, on the shore of which in the IV-II centuries BC the city of Chirik-Rabat was located.

Chirik-Rabat

Powerful fortress walls about 4 meters in height and deep ditch defended the city's inhabitants from enemies. Archaeological research has shown that initially the city was just a temporary refuge for travelers, but over time it began to expand, turning into an impregnable fortress. Through Chirik-Rabat there were caravan routes and later the city became a rate of the Saka tribes. The artifacts found here, the traces of building and strengthening the buildings, tell us about it with confidence.

If the powerful walls built were able to protect the Saka tribes from the raids of enemies, then the power of nature could overcome them. Such a natural phenomenon as "migration of rivers" dried up the influx of Zhanadarya and made Chirik-Rabat residents move to more favorable areas. According to the candidate of historical sciences Azilkhan Tazhikeyev and a number of other scientists, it was the residents of Chirik-Rabat who founded the settlements of Zhetiasar and Zhankent and originated the so-called Chirik-Rabat and Zhetiasar culture.

After millennia, powerful walls rise above the steppe, recalling the former greatness, and during the flood of the Syrdarya, according to the "old memory" the water runs along the channel of Zhanadarya to the walls of Chirik-Rabat, as if trying to revive the city.

Zhankent                       

More than ten centuries have passed. In Arabic written sources, the capital of Oguz Al Karyat was often mentioned, known in the Turkic writings as Yankigent. The locals called it Zhankent. The ancient settlement of Zhankent existed in the X-XV centuries. It had an advantageous geographical position, was at the junction of large agricultural oases of Central Asia - Khoresm and Mawarannahr. The settlement grew, becoming a major trade center where all the caravans of Central Asia sought. The city was protected by powerful walls with semicircular towers; the citadel of the city was 120 x 120 meters in size.

But a powerful storm called the Mongol invasion changed the course of history. In the XIII century, the eldest son of Genghis Khan, Juchi, besieged the city. After a long siege, the inhabitants had to make a difficult step - to surrender the city to the enemy. This act allowed saving the city from destruction so that we could see it now.

The history of the city of Zhankent became known thanks to the researches of P. Lerch in 1867. In 1946, a new stage of scientific research came, when the Khoresm expedition led by S. Tolstov began a study of the ancient settlements of the Syrdarya river bed. He united Zhankent and the nearby settlements by the term "marsh cities". Then the remains of the site were protected by powerful walls of reeds. According to legends, it was here that the sage Korkyt-Ata was born; hence he began his search for the "Promised Land".

Syganak

If you read Ilyas Esenberlin's immortal novel “The Nomads”, you can see that more than half of the events in the book take place in the city or near Syganak.

The city of Syganak is a city of military glory of the Kazakh people. It was the capital of the Kipchaks in the 12th-14th centuries and the rate of the Kazakh Khanate in the 16th-17th centuries. The fortress wall of the city has a height of up to 7 meters, according to legends even the siege weapons of Genghis Khan could not overpower them. In written sources and in the people's memory, Syganak is known as a city, with continuous caravans from the east to west, full of new and outlandish bazaar goods. Favorable position and ruined the city. The Timurids and Chingisids waged endless wars for the city. The last straw was the "Years of Great Disaster", when the Dzungars captured and destroyed the city.

Today, travelers traveling near the Shieli district of the Kyzylorda region can see the ruined, but also majestic walls of the city.

Ak-Mechet

Centuries passed, the earth and people began to move away from the consequences of the Great Disaster, and again the Syrdarya River became the source of life for the new capital.

In 1817, Kokand Khan Omar ordered to build a fortress on the right bank of the Syr Darya, because there was a caravan route since the times of Chirik-Rabat. The architects approached the matter creatively and built a city of white stone, giving it the appearance of a mosque. So they decided to name the city Ak-Mechet (mosque). Constant increasing taxes and looting of Kokand and Khiva residents forced the local Kazakhs to appeal to the Russian Empire for protection.

In 1853, the corps led by General Perovsky seized the fortress. Becoming part of the Russian Empire fortress, the city received the name Fort Perovsky, steadily grew and strengthened.

In 1862, Perovsky acquired the status of a city, and then became the administrative center of the Syrdarya District. The city has many buildings that still decorate the city.

In 1905, after the construction of the Orenburg-Tashkent railway, a railway station and a depot were built in the city, which still meet guests.

In 1917, the Bolsheviks seized power in the city and in the former empire. The city was given the name Ak-Mechet. But soon, in 1925 it was renamed into Kyzylorda (Red Capital) and the city became the capital of the Kazakh ASSR. Though only 4 years, this event became a symbol of the approach of the age-old dream of the Kazakh people about freedom and independence. In the Soviet period, the city was an industrial center. Here the rice and oil industry was born.

Now the city is growing with new strength and is not inferior to the pace of construction of the capital Astana. Since 2014, the whole city quenches the thirst with water from underground sources, and is heated by associated gas. Two bridges are laid across the river and the construction of the left - historical edge of the city began. According to the idea of ​​the head of the region Krymbek Kusherbayev and architects, the new city will resemble the ancient one, that is, modern buildings will have the stylistics of the medieval eastern city.

The full-water Syrdarya River, as thousands of years ago, gives life and sets the pace of development. New cities are being built along its waters, keeping the history of the old. Maybe Korkyt-Ata was right, and this land, really, has something special …

 

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What of the wealth of Zheti Kazyna is the most in demand in modern society?

Публикации

4 столицы земли Сыра

09 Августа 2017
359
0
4 столицы земли Сыра
Кызылординская область – это регион с богатой историей, где мудрец Коркыт-ата нашел свой покой, отсюда покорял космос космонавт Юрий Гагарин, здесь возникли столицы наших предков

С незапамятных времен, река Сырдарья была колыбелью, где зарождалась цивилизация. Водная артерия служила источником жизни. Из благодарности к реке, местные жители испокон веков называют свою землю «Землей Сыра». Река имеет множество ответвлений. Одна из них - Жанадарья, на берегу которой в IV-II вв. до н. э. располагался город Чирик-рабат.

Чирик-рабат

Мощные крепостные стены высотой около 4 метров и глубокий ров защищали жителей города от врагов. Археологические исследования показали, что изначально город был просто временным пристанищем для путников, но со временем он стал разрастаться, превращаясь в неприступную крепость. Через Чирик-рабат проходили караванные пути и в последствии город стал ставкой сакских племен. Найденные здесь артефакты, следы строительства и укрепления зданий, с уверенностью говорят нам об этом.

Если построенные мощные стены смогли защитить саков от набегов врагов, то сила природы смогла одолеть их. Такое природное явление как «миграция рек» высушило приток Жанадарью и заставило чирикрабатцев переселиться в более благоприятные края. По мнению кандидата исторических наук Азильхана Тажикеева и ряда других ученых, именно жители Чирик-рабата стали основателями городищ Жетыасар и Жанкент и зародили так называемую чирик-рабатскую и жетыасарскую культуру.

Спустя тысячелетия мощные стены возвышаются над степью, напоминая о былом величий, а в период половодья Сырдарьи, по «старой памяти» вода идет по руслу Жанадарьи к стенам Чирик-рабата, будто пытается оживить город.

Жанкент

Прошло более десяти веков. В арабских письменных источниках часто упоминалась столица огузов Аль Карьят, известная в тюркских письменах как Янкигент. Местные жители называли его Жанкент. Городище Жанкент просуществовало в X - XV вв. Оно имел выгодное географическое положение, находилось на стыке крупных земледельческих оазисов Средней Азии - Хорезма и Мавераннахра. Городище разрасталось, становясь крупным торговым центром, куда стремились все караваны Средней Азии. Город защищали мощные стены с полукруглыми башнями, цитадель города была размером 120 x 120 метров.

Но мощная буря под названием монгольское нашествие изменила ход истории. В XIII веке старший сын Чингиз хана – Джучи, осадил город. После долгой осады жителям пришлось сделать трудный шаг – сдать город врагу. Этот поступок позволил спасти город от разрушений, чтобы мы смогли видеть его сейчас.

История города Жанкент стала известна благодаря исследованиям П. Лерха в 1867 году. В 1946 году наступил новый этап научных исследований, когда хорезмская экспедиция под руководством С. Толстова начал исследование городищ русла реки Сырдарья. Он объединил Жанкент и близ лежащие городища термином «болотные города». Тогда останки городища защищали мощные стены камыша. По легендам, именно здесь родился мудрец Коркыт ата, отсюда он начал свои поиски «Земли обетованной».

Сыганак

Если прочитать бессмертный роман Ильяса Есенберлина «Кочевники», то можно заметить, что более половины событий в книге проходит в городе или вблизи Сыганака.

Город Сыганак - это город боевой славы казахского народа. Он был столицей кипчаков в XII-XIV вв. и ставкой Казахского ханства в XVI-XVII вв. Крепостная стена города имеет высоту до 7 метров, по легендам даже осадные орудия Чингиз хана не смогли осилить их. В письменных источниках и в народной памяти Сыганак известен как город, с непрерывными караванами, следовавшими с востока на запад, полными новыми и диковинными товарами базаров. Выгодное положение и погубило город. Тимуриды и чингизиды вели нескончаемые войны за город. Последней каплей стали «Годы великого бедствия», когда джунгары захватили и разрушили город.

Сегодня путники, проезжающие вблизи Шиелийского района Кызылординской области, могут увидеть хоть и разрушенные, но также величественные стены города.

Ак–мечеть

Прошли века, земля и народ начал отходить от последствий «Великого бедствия», и вновь река Сырдарья стала источником жизни новой столицы.

В 1817 году, кокандский хан Омар приказал построить крепость на правом берегу Сырдарьи, так как там еще со времен Чирик-рабата проходил караванный путь. Архитекторы подошли к делу творчески и построили город из белого камня, придав ему вид мечети. Так и решили назвать город Ак–мечеть. Постоянные увеличивающиеся налоги и грабежи кокандцев и хивинцев вынудили местных казахов обратиться к Российской империи с просьбой о защите и покровительстве.

Штурм Ак-мечети. Картина В. Верещагина, 1873 год.

В 1853 году корпус во главе с генералом Перовским захватил крепость. Став частью Российской империи крепость, город получил имя форт Перовский, неуклонно рос и укреплялся.

В 1862 году Перовский обретает статус города, а затем стал административным центром Сырдарьинского округа. В городе строятся здания, которые до сих пор украшают город.

В 1905 году после сдачи железной дороги Оренбург-Ташкент, в городе были построены вокзал и депо, которые до сих пор встречают гостей.

В 1917 году власть в городе и в бывшей империи захватили большевики. Городу вернули название Ак-мечеть. Но вскоре, в 1925 году его переименовали в Кызыл Орду (Красная столица) и город стал столицей Казахской АССР. Хоть и всего 4 года, но это событие стало символом приближения вековой мечты казахского народа о свободе и независимости. В советский период город был индустриальным и промышленным центром, ЦКЗ и обувной завод известные на весь Советский союз находились в городе. Здесь же зародилась рисовая и нефтяная промышленность.

Сейчас город разрастается с новой силой и не уступает в темпе строительства столице Астане. С 2014 года весь город утоляет жажду водой из подземных источников, а отапливается попутным газом. Через реку проложены два моста и началось строительство левого – исторического края города. По задумке главы региона Крымбека Кушербаева и архитекторов, новый город будет напоминать древний, то есть современные здания будут иметь стилистику средневекового восточного города.

Полноводная река Сырдарья, как и тысячи лет назад дарит жизнь и задает темп развития. Вдоль ее вод строятся новые города, хранят историю старых. Может прав был Коркыт ата и в этой земле, действительно есть, что-то особенное…

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Интересуетесь ли Вы историей Независимого Казахстана?