Publications

QUESTION ABOUT CULTURAL AUTONOMY OF KYRGYZ

03 August 2017
155
0
QUESTION ABOUT CULTURAL AUTONOMY OF KYRGYZ
"Kyrgyz". Under this name in the Omsk newspaper "Siberian Herald" as of July 30, 1918 a message was published with the mention of Alash-Orda and Alikhan Bukeikhanov

“The Council of Ministers established a commission to consider the issue of the cultural autonomy of the Kyrgyz under the chairmanship of the Minister of indigenous affairs Shatilov with the participation of professor Sapozhnikov as deputy to Comrade Minister of Internal Affairs P.N. Mikhaylov, who is in charge of the resettlement department of Yermosh and a representative of the military department. A leader of the Alash Orda Alikhan Bukeikhanov was brought to the commission as its head.”

A small note in a newspaper almost a hundred years ago pushed us to search for answers to many questions: What kind of commission was created by the Council of Ministers? What questions did thet discuss? In which capacity was Alikhan Bukeikhanov invited? What decision was made with respect to Alash-Orda?

Since the formation of the II All-Kazakh Congress in December 1917, the leaders of the Kazakh intelligentsia have faced the most important question: the official recognition of the Kazakh national autonomy. Soon, Alash-Orda began work on establishing relations with the Provisional Siberian Government.

The Siberian government did not presuppose the independence of the Alash-Orda; as a result the relationship between the governing bodies acquired a tense character.

In the "Basic Provisions on the Boundaries of the Cultural Autonomy of the Nationalities of Siberia" published in July, the question of territorial and political autonomy was redirected to the All-Russian Constituent Assembly. This served as the basis for the Siberian government in the non-recognition of the Alash-Orda as the organ of the national-territorial statehood of the Kazakhs. Alash-Orda took measures to establish legal relations and recognize autonomy.

July 10, 1918, A. Yermekov conveyed to the Council of Ministers a note in which, while welcoming the fall of the Bolshevik regime, Alash-Orda called for the unification of efforts to protect the gains of the February revolution "which gave rise to a political revival of the peoples and suburbs of Russia." In the draft agreement proposed by Alash-Orda, the Siberian government had to recognize the national autonomy of Alash, establish borders with the opinion of the population.

July 13, 1918, A. Bukeikhanov sent to the Council of Ministers of Autonomous Siberia government Memorandum of Alash-Orda on the negotiations. The government of Alash-Orda proposed the following points of the agreement for discussion to the government of autonomous Siberia:

1) The Siberian government will exchange mutual recognition with the Alash autonomy.

2) Before the determination of the will of the Russian population in the territory of Alash and the establishment of its borders, considering the demand of the moment, Alash-Orda finds it possible to:

a) Preserve in its present form all mixed institutions: zemstvo, city Dumas under the control of commissars appointed by agreement of the Siberian government and Alash-Orda;

b) The temporary subordination of state and mixed institutions, departments and local governments to the orders of the Siberian government, with the participation of the Alash-Orda representative in resolving the issue;

c) Appointment to responsible positions within the autonomy of Alash should be with the consent of Alash-Orda.

3) Before designing the power recognized by all nationalities of the Alash territory, Alash-Orda is the authority of the Cossack-Kyrgyz people. All national public organizations and institutions are subordinate only to Alash-Orda. It has the right of special taxation, collecting a kibitka pay in its coffers. Alash-Orda organizes national courts, local councils of Alash-Orda, which are in charge of all the national affairs of the Cossack-Kirghiz people, which remain outside the competence of the restored zemstvo and city Dumas.

4) Creation of a national Kazakh army. The organization of the army can and must be carried out only on the initiative of Alash-Orda. The army will be completed territorially and nationally with submission during the war together with the troops of the provisional Siberian government to the general command. The Siberian government must provide the army with weapons, equipment, food and military instructors. The Kazakh army, as a special military unit, should enjoy independent economic and internal management and in all subordinate to the military department of Alash-Orda and its main headquarters. Alash-Orda considers its first task to be cleansing from the Bolshevik gangs of the territory of Alash and rendering assistance to Turkestan and Semirechye.

5) In view of the fact that state banks and other financial institutions within the territory of the Alash autonomy are subordinated to the provisional Siberian government, the need for the Siberian government to provide loans to Alash-Orda.

6) The need to convene in the near future a congress of deputies of autonomous peoples and suburbs cleared of the Bolsheviks in order to create a federal power that will undoubtedly rally the still disparate parts of Russia, weld them with strong cement and raise its strength and power to protect the interests of the Union as from internal, and from external enemies, in this respect, the possibility of a federation of Siberia, Alash, Bashkiria and Turkestan appears in the near future.

July 26, 1918, the Council of Ministers of the Siberian Government considered the memorandum of Alash-Orda with the draft agreement on mutual recognition. Commission under the leadership of the Minister of Education professor V.V. Sapozhnikov discussed the points of the draft agreement.

The clause on mutual recognition was withdrawn from discussion.

The clause about the order of management and activity of bodies of Alash-Orda is preserved.

The issue of granting the loan was redirected to the Ministry of Finance, as well as the issue of the establishment of a national army was transferred to the military department.

The land question on the Semipalatinsk, Akmola and Turgay oblasts was postponed to the All-Russian Constituent Assembly.

A special opinion was expressed by the representative of the Ministry of Agriculture and Colonization A.M. Yarosh. He noted the uncertainty of the "nature of the political structure of the Kyrgyz people and the essence of their state-legal relations to the Russian statehood and autonomous Siberia," which could lead to aggravation of relations in the future. The situation required the adoption of at least temporary legislative norms instead of invalid laws on the situation of the region in the Russian Empire.

It is worth noting that the draft agreement, proposed by the leaders of Alash-Orda, has not gained legal force.

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What historical movie about the Kazakh-Dzungarian wars did you like best?

Публикации

Как решили вопрос о культурной автономии киргиз

03 Августа 2017
434
0
 Как решили вопрос о культурной автономии киргиз
«Киргизы». Под таким названием в омской газете «Сибирский вестник» за 30 июля 1918 года было опубликовано сообщение с упоминанием Алаш-Орды и Алихана Букейханова

«Советом министров образована комиссия для рассмотрения вопроса о культурной автономии киргиз под председательством министра туземных дел Шатилова при участии проф. Сапожникова в качестве заместителя тов. Мин. Внутренних дел П.Н. Михайлова, заведывающего переселенческим отделом Ермоша и представителя военного ведомства. В качестве заведующего лица в комиссию привлечен руководитель «Алаш Орды» Букейханов».

Небольшая заметка в газете почти столетней давности подтолкнула нас к поиску ответов на множество вопросов: Что за комиссия была создана Советом министров? Какие вопросы она обсуждала? В качестве кого был приглашен Алихан Букейханов? Какое решение было принято в отношении Алаш-Орды?

С момента образования на II Всеказахском съезде в декабре 1917 года, перед лидерами казахской интеллигенции стоял важнейший вопрос: официальное признание казахской национальной автономии. Вскоре Алаш-Орда начала вести работу по установлению отношений с Временным Сибирским правительством.

Сибирское правительство не предполагало самостоятельности Алаш-Орды, в результате отношения  между руководящими органами приобрели напряженный характер.

В опубликованных в июле «Основных положениях о границах культурной автономии национальностей Сибири» вопрос о территориально-политической автономии был переадресован Всероссийскому Учредительному собранию. Это послужило основанием Сибирскому правительству в непризнании Алаш-Орды в качестве органа национально-территориальной государственности казахов. Алаш-Ордой были предприняты меры для установления правовых отношений и признания автономии.

10 июля 1918 года А. Ермеков передал в Совет Министров записку, в которой приветствуя падение большевистского режима, Алаш-Орда призывала к объединению усилий для защиты завоеваний февральской революции, «давшей начало к политическому возрождению народов и окраин России». В проекте соглашения, предложенном Алаш-Ордой, Сибирское правительство должно было признать национальную автономию Алаш, установить границы с учетом мнения населения. 

13 июля 1918 года А. Букейханов отправил в Совет министров автономной Сибири правительства Докладную записку Алаш-Орды о переговорах. Правительство Алаш-Орды предложило на обсуждение правительству автономной Сибири следующие пункты соглашения: 

1) Сибирское правительство обменяется с автономией Алаш взаимным признанием.

2) До выявления воли русского населения на территории Алаш и установления границы ее, считаясь с требованием момента, Алаш-Орда находит возможным:

а) сохранение в настоящем виде всех смешанных учреждений: земств, городских дум под контролем комиссаров, назначаемых по соглашению сибирского правительства и Алаш-Орда;

б) временное подчинение государственных и смешанных учреждений, управлений и самоуправлений распоряжениям сибирского правительства, при участии в этом последнем при решении вопроса представителя Алаш-Орда;

в) назначение на ответственные посты в пределах автономии Алаш должно быть с согласия Алаш-Орды.

3) До конструирования власти, признаваемой всеми национальностями территории Алаш, Алаш-Орда является органом власти казак-киргизского народа. Все национальные общественные организации и учреждения подчиняются только Алаш-Орде. Она имеет право специального обложения, сбора кибиточной подати в свою казну. Алаш-Орда организует национальные суды, местные советы Алаш-Орды, ведающие на местах всеми национальными делами казак-киргизского народа, остающимися за пределами компетенции восстановленных земств и городских дум.

4) Создание национальной казахской армии. Организация армии может и должна быть проведена только по инициативе Алаш-Орды. Армия будет комплектоваться территориально и национально с подчинением во время войны совместно с войсками временного сибирского правительства общему командованию. Сибирское правительство должно обеспечить армию вооружением, снаряжением, продовольствием и военными инструкторами. Казахская армия, как особая военная единица, должна пользоваться самостоятельным хозяйственным и внутренним управлением и во всем подчиняться военному отделу Алаш-Орды и главному штабу при нем. Первой своей задачей Алаш-Орда считает очищение от большевистских банд территории Алаш и оказание помощи Туркестану и Семиречью.

5) Ввиду того, что государственные банки и другие финансовые учреждения, имеющиеся в пределах территории автономии Алаш, подчинены пока временному сибирскому правительству, необходимость обеспечения сибирским правительством займа Алаш-Орде.

6) Необходимость созыва в ближайшее время конгресса депутатов автономных народов и окраин, очищенных от большевиков, с целью создания федеральной власти, которая, несомненно, сплотит еще теснее разрозненные части России, спаяет их прочным цементом и поднимет силу и мощь ее для защиты интересов Союза как от внутренних, так и от внешних врагов, в этом отношении представляется в ближайшее время возможность федерации Сибири, Алаш, Башкирии и Туркестана.

26 июля 1918 года Совет Министров Сибирского правительства рассмотрел докладную записку Алаш-Орды с проектом соглашения о взаимном признании. Комиссия под руководством министра просвещения проф. В.В. Сапожникова обсуждала пункты проекта соглашения.

Пункт о взаимном признании был снят с обсуждения. 

Сохранился пункт о порядке управления и деятельности органов Алаш-Орды.

Вопрос о предоставлении займа был переадресован министерству финансов, также, как и вопрос о создании национальной армии передали военному ведомству.

Земельный вопрос по Семипалатинской, Акмолинской и Тургайской областям был отложен до Всероссийского учредительного собрания.

Особое мнение выразил представитель министерства земледелия и колонизации А.М. Ярош. Он отметил неопределенность «природы политического устройства киргизского народа и сущности государственно-правовых отношений его к российской государственности и автономной Сибири», что может вызвать в будущем обострение отношений. Ситуация требовала принятия хотя бы временных законодательных норм вместо утративших силу законов о положении края в Российской империи.

Стоит отметить, что проект соглашения, предложенный лидерами Алаш-Орды, так и не обрел юридическую силу.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Как вы думаете, является ли мавзолей Алаша хан, который находится в Улытау, местом захоронения Чингис хана?