Publications

“Akyn Tarazi” – “Poet Taras”

15 April 2017
282
0
“Akyn Tarazi” – “Poet Taras”
If Abai is an unsurpassed great poet of the Kazakh steppe, then Ukraine does not have a brighter personality than Shevchenko - one of the unifying spiritual ties for the Ukrainian and Kazakh peoples

Taras Shevchenko left a notable mark not only in Ukrainian culture, but also in Kazakh. He was a talented poet, prose writer, artist, and an outstanding thinker. He spent 10 years on the Kazakh land, being in exile under the tsarist decree. These years were the most difficult in his biography, but at the same time very fruitful. He was able not only to realize himself as a creative person, but also brightly captured and sang the life of the Kazakhs.

Taras Grigoryevich Shevchenko was born in 1814 in the village of Morintsy of the Kiev province (now Cherkassy region, Ukraine), in a large family of a simple peasant Grigory Shevchenko. According to family legends his ancestors were free people - Cossacks, who served in the Zaporozhian host.

His family lived poorly. At the age of 9 he was left without a mother, and two years later his father died. Taras had to serve rich people. Being very talented, he soon learned to read and write.

Working at the landowner Engelhardt, young Taras was fond of drawing, tried to copy pictures of great masters of painting. At the age of 15, Taras went with his landowner to Vilna (now Vilnius, Lithuania), where he stayed for two years and tried to attend lectures on the art of drawing.

Soon Engelhardt moved to Petersburg and took with him Taras Shevchenko. Realizing how profitable it is to have a court painter, he gave him "to science" to the master of painting Vassily Shiryaev.

In St. Petersburg, Taras began to write poetry, met with democratically minded and influential cultural figures. They, having seen a rare talent in young Shevchenko, bought him out of serf bondage.

From 1838 to 1845, T. Shevchenko studied at the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts, showing outstanding abilities in painting. His teacher was one of the largest Russian painters Karl Bryullov. In the years of study, Shevchenko read a lot, was fond of history and philosophy, and was formed as a poet.

He traveled a lot around Ukraine, collected folklore and ethnographic material, sketched historical and architectural monuments, and practiced poetry.

In 1846 he joined the Cyril and Methodius Brotherhood - a secret political organization. In the spring of next year, the collection of poems of the poet "Three Summers" came into the hands of the police, in which the anti-popular state system of the Russian Empire was sharply exposed. He was arrested in Kiev and sent to St. Petersburg under escort. He was accused of trying to revive the power of Ukrainian hetmans and create a separate Ukrainian state.

In the summer of 1847 by the tsarist decree of Nicholas I, Taras Shevchenko, at the age of 33, was exiled to Kazakhstan in a separate Orenburg corps as an ordinary soldier "under the rigorous surveillance of his superiors, with the prohibition of writing and drawing."

He served in Orsk fortress (now Orsk, Russia). Being on heavy military service for the first year and a half, Shevchenko continued to stealthily write poetry and draw. In the works of the poet and artist almost from the first months of exile, the surrounding reality is reflected - the nature of the region and the life of Kazakhs, whose nomadic places were located near the fortress. Watching the life of the Kazakh people, Taras Grigoryevich in his letters to friends expressed his passionate desire to reproduce it in the drawings. He made sketches, studied Kazakh legends and songs, independently mastered the language of the steppe people.

In 1848-1849 Taras Shevchenko took part in an expedition to study the Aral Sea under the command of Lieutenant-Commander A. Butakov. He was instructed to sketch the views of the Aral coast and the local population.

Upon returning from the expedition, Shevchenko was obliged to return to the place of the soldiers' service. Thanks to A. Butakov's petition, he lived for some time in Orenburg, he put in order the sketches made during the expedition.

However, on the denunciation of one of his colleagues, he was again arrested in the spring of 1850, kept in custody for several months, and then sent to continue his service to the most remote garrison - Novopetrovsk fortification (now Fort-Shevchenko, Kazakhstan, on the Mangystau peninsula).

It was here that until August 1857 the heavy soldier service of the Ukrainian poet and artist continued.

The exile to Kazakhstan became for Taras Grigoryevich not only a time of severe deprivation, but also a period of spiritual growth, creative achievements.

His ten-year exile undermined health, broke physically, but did not shake the spiritually great poet, did not extinguish the fire of his rebellious soul, did not tame the poetic muse, did not clip his wings as a fighter. He proudly declared: "I suffer, but I do not repent!"

The exile poet and artist Taras Shevchenko was keen on the culture of Kazakhstan. The feelings and impressions he experienced reflected in his works.

The prose heritage of the great Kobzar during the exile amounted to about two dozen novels. Only a few of them have reached us: "Princess", "Musician", "Artist", etc. In the story "Twins" he realistically depicted the life of local Kazakhs.

Since the stories of Shevchenko had a pronounced anti-serf attitude, during his lifetime they were never published.

All his works the poet secretly wrote down in small self-made notebooks and hid them in the boot top. They included about 120 works. These are autobiographical, philosophical and historical poems, lyrics with images of Ukrainian and Kazakh nature.

In his works he condemned serfdom, the willfulness of the landlords and the Russian military, and expressed sympathy for the disadvantaged Kazakhs.

Between Taras and the locals a warm and cordial relationship was established. One of the meetings of the poet and artist with the Kazakhs one of his contemporaries wrote:

"The Kazakhs stayed with Taras for several days. Accepting guests, he shared with them all his good."

Despite the fact that Taras Shevchenko was forbidden to write and draw, he continued to do it secretly. Of the entire pictorial legacy of the exile period, numbering about 450 works, almost 350 - are devoted to the life and way of life of the Kazakh people, the nature of Kazakhstan.

Shevchenko devoted most of his paintings and sketches to the hard life of the Kazakh poverty. In his letters he noted: "The Kirghiz are so picturesque ... when I look at them." The most, perhaps, his famous painting is "Kazakh Katya". He painted the type of a Kazakh woman from Katya, who worked in the family of the commandant of Novopetrovsk fortification.

One of the brightest works of that time was the painting "Fire in the Steppe." His other works are widely known: "Baygushi", "Kazakh woman", "Shepherd", "Kazakh on horseback", "Over the steppe", "Buran", "Baygushi under the window (Derzhavny kulak)", "Kazakh in yurt" and a lot others. They realistically represented the life of the steppe people.

In 1857, thanks to the petition of influential people of Russia and Ukraine, Taras Shevchenko was released from further exile and allowed to return to St. Petersburg. In September 1860 the Petersburg Academy of Arts awarded T. Shevchenko the title of Academician of engraving.

In the winter of 1860-1861, the health of T.G. Shevchenko, undermined by the exile, deteriorated sharply. In 1861 he died.

In Kazakhstan they honor the name of the great poet and artist Taras Shevchenko, considering him the son of two peoples who made a great contribution to the cultural heritage of not only the Ukrainian but also the Kazakh people.

The local population respected Taras Grigoryevich. He had many friends among the Kazakhs who called him "Akyn Tarazi" ("Poet Taras"). He often went to visit aul near the fortress, where he listened to songs and legends. Communicating with the local Kazakh population, Shevchenko found much in common in the historical destinies of the Kazakh and Ukrainian peoples.

His work became an integral part of the history and culture of the Kazakhs, an important page in the history of the spiritual kinship between the peoples of Kazakhstan and Ukraine.

With grateful love the Kazakh people answered the great Kobzar for his warm, cordial participation in their destiny. In the people were composed legends about a good, truthful, as "tarazy - scales", fair akyn Tarazi, about "a kind Russian man who stood up for the people and the tsar exiled him". The people of Mangyshlak carefully preserved the tree that T.G. Shevchenko planted and grew from the willow's rod in memory of a soldier who was killed by that rod. So the tree on the trans-Caspian land grew on the soldier's blood and his plentiful tears. Now the garden museum has grown here.

Novopetrovsk fortification, where T.G. Shevchenko spent 7 years in the soldier, was renamed Fort Shevchenko. Here is the memorial museum; Shevchenko's name is appropriated to the republican state gallery, the best streets of cities, collective farms, state farms, and educational institutions of Kazakhstan; in the Kazakh language his immortal works are published, akyns sing songs about him, poets write him poems. The Kazakh people, together with that "great, free and new family" of fraternal peoples, which the poet foresaw in the "Testament", will always remember T.G. Shevchenko with a feeling of deepest love and gratitude.

The name of Taras Shevchenko will always remain in the memory of the Kazakh people. In addition to the city of Fort-Shevchenko, the streets of many cities of Kazakhstan, including Astana, Almaty, Aktau and others bear the name of the great Kobzar.

 

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Quiz

Do you think that NDH Digest magazine will be interesting to the readers if its publications correspond to the historical stages of Kazakhstan's development?

Публикации

«Акын-Тарази» - «поэт Тарас»

15 Апреля 2017
754
0
«Акын-Тарази» - «поэт Тарас»
Если Абай является непревзойденным великим поэтом Казахской степи, то в Украине нет ярче личности, чем Тарас Шевченко. Он один из объединяющих духовных скреп для украинского и казахского народов

Тарас Шевченко оставил заметный след не только в украинской культуре, но и в казахской. Он был талантливым поэтом, прозаиком, художником, выдающимся мыслителем. На казахской земле он провел 10 лет, находясь в ссылке по царскому указу. Эти годы были наиболее трудными в его биографии, но в то же время и очень плодотворными. Он смог не только реализоваться как творческая личность, а также ярко запечатлел и воспел жизнь казахов.

Тарас Григорьевич Шевченко родился в 1814 году в с. Моринцы Киевской губернии (ныне Черкасская область, Украина), в многодетной семье простого крестьянина Григория Шевченко. По семейным преданиям предки его были вольными людьми – казаками, служили в Запорожском войске.

Семья его жила бедно. В 9-летнем возрасте он остался без матери, а через два года умер и отец. Тарасу пришлось прислуживать у богатых людей. Будучи очень способным, он вскоре научился грамоте.

Работая у помещика Энгельгардта, юный Тарас в свободные минуты увлекался рисованием, пробовал копировать картины великих мастеров живописи. В 15-летнем возрасте Тарас выехал вместе со своим помещиком в г. Вильно (ныне г. Вильнюс, сто¬лица Литвы), где пробыл два года и старался посещать лекции по искусству рисования.

Вскоре Энгельгардт переехал в Петербург и взял с собой Тараса Шевченко. Понимая, как выгодно иметь придворного художника, он отдал его «в науку» мастеру живописи Василию Ширяеву.

В Петербурге Тарас начал писать стихи, встречался с демократически настроенными и влиятельными деятелями культуры. Они, разглядев в молодом Шевченко редкий талант, выкупили его из крепостной неволи.

С 1838 по 1845 год Т.Шевченко учился в Петербургской Академии художеств, проявив незаурядные способности в живописи. Его учителем был один из крупнейших русских живописцев Карл Брюллов. В годы учебы Шевченко много читал, увлекался историей и философией, формировался как поэт.

Он много путешествовал по Украине, собирал фольклорный и этнографический материал, зарисовывал исторические и архитектурные памятники, занимался поэзией.

В 1846 году вступил в Кирилло-Мефодиевское братство – тайную политическую организацию. Весной следующего года в руки полиции попал сборник стихов поэта «Три лета», в которых остро обличался антинародный государственный строй Российской империи. Его арестовали в Киеве и под конвоем отправили в Петербург. Он был обвинен в попытке возрождения власти украинских гетманов и создании отдельного украинского государства.

Летом 1847 года Тарас Шевченко в 33-летнем возрасте по царскому указу Николая I был сослан в Казахстан в отдельный Оренбургский корпус рядовым солдатом «под строжайшее наблюдение начальства, с запрещением писать и рисовать».

Солдатскую службу он проходил в Орской крепости (ныне г. Орск, Россия). Находясь на тяжелой воинской службе первые полтора года, Т.Шевченко продолжал украдкой писать стихи и рисовать. В творчестве поэта и художника почти с первых месяцев ссылки находит отражение окружающая действительность – природа края и быт казахов, кочевья которых располагались вблизи крепости. Наблюдая за жизнью казахского народа, Тарас Григорьевич в письмах к друзьям выражал свое страстное желание воспроизвести ее в рисунках. Он делал зарисовки, изучал казахские легенды и песни, самостоятельно освоил язык степняков.

В 1848-1849 годах Тарас Шевченко принял участие в экспедиции по изучению Аральского моря под командованием капитан-лейтенанта А.Бутакова. Ему было поручено зарисовывать виды Аральского побережья и местное население.

По возвращении из экспедиции Т.Шевченко обязан был вернуться к месту солдатской службы. Благодаря ходатайству А.Бутакова, некоторое время жил в Оренбурге, приводил в порядок зарисовки, сделанные во время экспедиции.

Однако по доносу одного из сослуживцев он вновь был арестован весной 1850 году, несколько месяцев содержался под стражей, а потом был отправлен для продолжения службы в самый отдаленный гарнизон – Новопетровское укрепление (ныне г. Форт-Шевченко, Казахстан, на полуострове Мангыстау).

Именно здесь до августа 1857 году продолжалась тяжелая солдатская служба украинского поэта и художника.

Казахстанская ссылка стала для Тараса Григорьевича не только временем тяжелых лишений, но и периодом духовного роста, творческих свершений.

Десятилетняя ссылка подорвала здоровье, надломила физически, но не поколебала духовно великого поэта, не погасила огонь его мятежной души, не укротила поэтическую музу, не обескрылила его как борца. Он гордо заявлял: «Караюсь, мучаюсь, но не каюсь!»

Ссыльный поэт и художник Тарас Шевченко трепетно относился к культуре Казахстана. Испытываемые им чувства и впечатления он отразил в своих произведениях.

Прозаическое наследие великого Кобзаря во время ссылки составило около двух десятков повестей. До нас дошли только некоторые из них: «Княгиня», «Музыкант», «Художник» и др. В повести «Близнецы» он реалистически изобразил жизнь местных казахов.

Поскольку повести Т.Шевченко имели ярко выраженную антикрепостническую направленность, при его жизни они так и не были напечатаны.

Все свои произведения поэт тайком записывал в маленькие самодельные тетрадки и прятал их в голенище сапога. В них вошло около 120-ти произведений. Это автобиографические, философские и исторические стихотворения, лирика с образами украинской и казахской природы.

В произведениях он осуждал крепостничество, своеволие помещиков и российскую военщину, выражал сочувствие обездоленным казахам.

Между Тарасом и местными жителями установились теплые и сердечные взаимоотношения. Об одной из встреч поэта и художника с казахами один из современников писал:

«Казахи гостили у Тараса несколько дней. Принимая гостей, он делился с ними всем своим добром».

Несмотря на то, что Тарасу Шевченко было запрещено писать и рисовать, он продолжал делать это тайно. Из всего изобразительного наследия периода ссылки, насчитывающего около 450-ти работ, почти 350 – посвящены жизни и быту казахского народа, природе Казахстана.

Тяжелой жизни казахской бедноты Т.Шевченко посвятил большинство своих картин и зарисовок. В своих письмах он отмечал: «киргизы так живописны, ... когда смотрю на них». Самая, пожалуй, знаменитая его картина – «Казашка Катя». Тип женщины-казашки он рисовал именно с Кати, работавшей в семье коменданта Новопетровского укрепления.

Одной из самых ярких работ того времени стала картина «Пожар в степи». Широко известны и другие его произведения: «Байгуши», «Казашка», «Пастух», «Казах на коне», «Над степью», «Буран», «Байгуши под окном (Державный кулак)», «Казах в юрте» и многие другие. В них реалистично представлена жизнь степняков.

В 1857 году благодаря ходатайству влиятельных людей России и Украины Тараса Шевченко освободили от дальнейшей ссылки и разрешили вернуться в Петербург. В сентябре 1860 года Петербургская Академия художеств удостоила Т. Шевченко звания академика гравюры.

Зимой 1860-1861 года здоровье Т.Г. Шевченко, подорванное ссылкой, резко ухудшилось. В 1861 году он умер.

В Казахстане чтят имя великого поэта и художника Тараса Шевченко, считая его сыном двух народов, внесшим огромный вклад в культурное наследие не только украинского, но и казахского народов.

Местное население уважало Тараса Григорьевича. У него было много друзей среди казахов, называвших его «акын-Тарази» («поэт Тарас»). Он часто ходил в гости в аул возле крепости, где слушал песни и легенды. Общаясь с местным казахским населением, Т.Шевченко находил много общего в исторических судьбах казахского и украинского народов.

Его творчество стало неотъемлемой частью истории и культуры казахов, важной страницей истории духовного родства народов Казахстана и Украины.

Признательной любовью ответил казахский народ великому Кобзарю за это теплое, сердечное участие в его судьбе. В народе слагались предания о добром, правдивом, как «таразы — весы», справедливом акыне Таразы, о «добром русском человеке, который заступался за народ, за что царь отдал в солдаты». Бережно сохранили жители Мангышлака дерево, которое посадил и вырастил Т.Г. Шевченко из прута вербы в память о забитом тем прутом солдате. Так выросло на крови солдатской да на его обильных слезах дерево в Закаспийской земле. Теперь здесь разросся сад-музей.

Новопетровское укрепление, где Т.Г. Шевченко провел в солдатчине 7 лет, было переименовано в Форт Шевченко. Здесь открыт мемориальный музей; имя Шевченко присвоено республиканской государственной галерее, лучшим улицам городов, колхозам, совхозам, учебным заведениям Казахстана; на казахском языке издаются его бессмертные произведения, о нем поют песни акыны, пишут стихи поэты. Казахский народ вместе с той «великой, вольной и новой семьей» братских народов, которую предвидел поэт в «Завещании», всегда будет помнить Т.Г. Шевченко с чувством глубочайшей любви и признательности.

Имя Тараса Шевченко навсегда останется в памяти казахского народа. Кроме города Форт-Шевченко, имя великого Кобзаря носят улицы многих городов Казахстана, в том числе и в Астане, Алматы, Актау и других.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

какая историческая кинокартина о казахско-джунгарских войнах вам понравилась больше всего?