Publications

History of Kazakh language graphics

14 April 2017
340
0
History of Kazakh language graphics
The question of the transition of the letter to the Latin is very complicated. It requires a comprehensive study based on the experience of developing the language factor in the countries of the East

The greatest invention of the people is writing. Its origin is one of the complex problems of modern linguistics. The basis of modern writing is the ancient letter. The writing of the peoples of Central Asia and Kazakhstan arose in the early Middle Ages. The ancient Turkic peoples, who later became ancestors, including modern Kazakhs, played an important role in the history of Eurasia. And the Turkic language from the 5th to the 15th century was the language of interethnic communication for the most part. For example, with the Mongolian khans Batyi and Munke all official documents in the Golden Horde, international correspondence, besides the Mongolian, were also conducted in the Turkic language.

The formation and development of a language close to the modern Kazakh language took place in the 13th-14th centuries. One of the oldest types of letter script is the ancient Turkic script, which arose in the 6th-7th centuries.

One of the early monuments of such writing was discovered in 1896-1897 in Kazakhstan near Aulie-Ata (now the city of Taraz). There were found 5 stones with ancient Turkic inscriptions. And in 1940 in East Turkestan were found well-preserved 4 manuscripts of the ancient Turkic writing of the middle of the VIII century. These findings were of great scientific importance.

Arabic script was used in Central Asia and Kazakhstan in the spiritual and secular schools, in official correspondence. Columns, cornices, domes of buildings and structures were decorated with its beautiful ornament. Scientists and poets wrote their works in Arabic, decorating their pages with drawings executed often at a high artistic level. All the works of the outstanding thinkers of the East are written in Arabic and Farsi (Persian), because these languages ​​were considered international.

In Kazakhstan, Arabic graphics were used for 900 years from the 10th to the 20th century. In 1912, Akhmet Baytursynov reformed the Kazakh script on the basis of Arabic graphics, making it possible to use it to millions of Kazakhs living abroad. He excluded all the purely Arabic letters not used in the Kazakh language, and added letters specific to the Kazakh language. The new alphabet, called "Zhana Yemle" ("New Spelling"), is still used by Kazakhs living in China, Afghanistan, and Iran. After 1917, the movement for the transition to the Latin alphabet began in Kazakhstan. The Arab letter, which in its time played a positive role in social development, now seemed to be a brake on historical progress.

In Kazakhstan, the movement for the transition to the Latin letter began in 1923. After numerous discussions in 1929, the Kazakh alphabet was translated into Latin script (latinization). Newspapers and magazines were printed in Latin script, and the Latin alphabet was introduced in schools. All this required a new form of training, huge expenditures on the production of fonts, the publication of textbooks and the training of teachers. The Kazakh alphabet on the Latin basis had 30 letters with the necessary additions to them for the transmission of specific sounds of the Kazakh language. However, the life of the Latin letter in Kazakhstan was short-lived from 1929 to 1939.

The hopes of the supporters of the Latin alphabet to grasp with its help the European culture did not materialize. Mastering the Latin letter mechanically did not ensure the mastery of the achievements of the European level of cultural development. Latinists were not able to organize in the school even the study of foreign languages. And yet this was a certain period in the development of Kazakh writing and book printing. The books of this period were included in the national fund in the form and content of the culture of the Kazakh people.

Then the translation into Cyrillic was carried out. The project of a new alphabet based on Russian graphics, consisting of 42 letters in accordance with the phonetic features of the Kazakh language, was proposed in 1940. Since that time, the printing of Kazakh books, newspapers and magazines, official correspondence and instruction in schools was conducted on the new Kazakh alphabet.

After gaining independence before the republics of the former USSR, the question of the Latin graphics again became. So, for example, in Moldova the decision to switch to the Latin graphics was made already in 1989, that is, even under the USSR. The same republics as Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan began the transition to the Latin alphabet in the first years after gaining independence. Of course, their experience is very important in the transition to the Latin graphics of our country.

From the day of the founding of the Turkish Republic, the main principle of M.K. Ataturk was the implementation of ways to bring the Turkish society and the state closer to Western civilization. The Ottoman Empire was an Islamic state, and the alphabet was Arabic. In the written language of the Ottoman Empire, there were many Arabic and Persian words. Proceeding from this, it can be said that the common people did not understand the basic written speech of the Ottoman Empire. Also in the Arabic alphabet there were no letters replacing some letters of the Turkish language. Namely, in Arabic there were only 3 vowel sounds.

In connection with the strengthening in the twentieth century of nationalist ideas in the Ottoman Empire in 1851-1928, disagreements arose over the Turkish language and its future.

During the transition to the Latin alphabet of the Turkic-speaking countries of the Soviet Union, the reform on writing in Turkey had a special impact.

 

In 2012, the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev instructed to switch from the Kazakh alphabet to Latin by 2025, and in the program article "Looking into the Future: Modernization of Public Consciousness" stated that by the end of 2017 it is necessary, with the help of scientists and the general public, to adopt a single standard version of the Kazakh alphabet in a new graphics.

According to a Leader of the Nation, the transition to the Latin alphabet also has its own deep historical logic. These are the features of the modern technological environment, and the features of communications in the modern world, and the features of the scientific and educational process in the 21st century.

 

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Quiz

How do you think is it right to give foreign guests Kazakh national chapan?

Публикации

История графики казахского языка

14 Апреля 2017
821
0
История графики казахского языка
Вопрос перехода письма на латинский алфавит весьма сложный. Он требует комплексного изучения на основе опыта развития языкового фактора в странах Востока

Величайшее изобретение народа — письменность. Ее происхождение является одной из сложных проблем современного языкознания. В основе современной письменности лежит древнее письмо. Письменность народов Средней Азии и Казахстана возникла в раннем средневековье. Древние тюркские народы, впоследствии ставших предками, в том числе и современных казахов, сыграли заметную роль в истории Евразии. А тюркский язык с V по XV век был языком межнационального общения на большей ее части. Например, при монгольских ханах Батые и Мунке все официальные документы в Золотой Орде, международная переписка, помимо монгольского, велись и на тюркском языке.

Становление и развитие языка, близкого к современному казахскому языку, происходило в XIII-XIV веках. Одним из древнейших типов буквенного письма является древнетюркская письменность, возникшая в VI-VII веках.

Один из ранних памятников такой письменности был обнаружен в 1896–1897 годах в Казахстане близ Аулие-Аты (ныне город Тараз). Там были найдены 5 камней с древнетюркскими надписями. А в 1940 году в Восточном Туркестане были обнаружены хорошо сохранившиеся 4 рукописи древнетюркского письма середины VIII века. Эти находки имели огромное научное значение.

Арабское письмо применялось в Средней Азии и Казахстане в духовных и светских школах, в официальной переписке. Его красивым орнаментом украшали колонны, карнизы, купола зданий и сооружений. Ученые и поэты писали свои труды на арабском языке, украшая их страницы рисунками, выполненными нередко на высоком художественном уровне. Все работы выдающихся мыслителей Востока написаны на арабском и фарси (персидском), так как эти языки считались международными.

В Казахстане арабская графика применялась в течение 900 лет с X по XX век. В 1912 году Ахмет Байтурсынов реформировал казахскую письменность на основе арабской графики, дав возможность пользоваться ею миллионам казахов, живущих за границей. Он исключил все чисто арабские буквы, не используемые в казахском языке, и добавил буквы, специфические для казахского языка. Новый алфавит, получивший название «Жана емле» («Новая орфография»), до сих пор применяется казахами, живущими в Китае, Афганистане, Иране. После 1917 года в Казахстане началось движение за переход на латинский алфавит. Арабское письмо, сыгравшее в свое время положительную роль в общественном развитии, теперь казалось многим тормозом в историческом прогрессе.

В Казахстане движение за переход на латинское письмо началось в 1923 году. После многочисленных дискуссий в 1929 году был осуществлен перевод казахского алфавита на латинскую графику (латинизация). Газеты и журналы печатались на латинском шрифте, а в школах был введен латинский алфавит. Все это потребовало новой формы обучения, огромных расходов на изготовление шрифтов, издание учебников и подготовку учителей. Казахский алфавит на латинской основе насчитывал 30 букв с необходимыми добавлениями к ним знаков для передачи специфических звуков казахского языка. Однако жизнь латинского письма в Казахстане была недолгой с 1929 по 1939 год.

Надежды сторонников латинского алфавита постичь с его помощью европейскую культуру не оправдались. Овладение латинским письмом механически не обеспечивало овладения достижениями европейской уровня развития культуры. Латинисты не смогли организовать в школе даже изучения иностранных языков. И все же это был определенный период в развитии казахского письма и книгопечатания. Книги этого периода вошли в фонд национальной по форме и содержанию культуры казахского народа.

Затем был осуществлен перевод на кириллицу (кириллизация). Проект нового алфавита на основе русской графики, состоящего из 42 букв в соответствии с фонетическими особенностями казахского языка, был предложен в 1940 году. С этого времени печатание казахских книг, газет и журналов, официальная переписка и обучение в школах велось на новом казахском алфавите.

После обретения независимости перед республиками бывшего СССР вновь стал вопрос о латинской графике. Так, например, в Молдавии решение о переходе на латинскую графику было принято уже в 1989 году, то есть еще при СССР. Такие же республики как Азербайджан, Узбекистан, Туркменистан начали переход к латинице в первые годы после обретения независимости. Безусловно, их опыт имеет очень важное значение при переходе на латинскую графику нашей страны.

Со дня основания Турецкой Республики основным принципом М.К.Ататюрка было осуществление путей сближения турецкого общества и государства к западной цивилизации. Османская империя была исламским государством, и алфавит был арабский. В письменном языке Османской империи было много арабских и персидских слов. Исходя из этого можно сказать, что простой народ не понимал основную письменную речь Османской империи. Также в арабском алфавите не было букв, заменяющих некоторые буквы турецкого языка. А именно, в арабском было только 3 гласных звуков.

В связи с усилением в ХХ веке националистических идей в Османской империи в 1851-1928 годы появились разногласия по поводу турецкого языка и его будущего.

В период перехода на латинский алфавит тюркоязычных стран Советского Союза особое влияние оказала реформа по письменности в Турции.

В 2012 году Президент Казахстана Нурсултан Назарбаев поручил до 2025 года перейти с казахского алфавита на латинский и в программной статье «Взгляд в будущее: модернизация общественного сознания» заявил, что до конца 2017 года необходимо с помощью ученых и широкой общественности принять единый стандартный вариант казахского алфавита в новой графике.

По мнению Лидера нации, переход на латиницу также имеет свою глубокую историческую логику. Это и особенности современной технологической среды, и особенности коммуникаций в современном мире, и особенности научно-образовательного процесса в XXI веке.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Какая из задач, поставленных Президентом Казахстана на ХХV сессии АНК, является наиболее важной для укрепления национального единства и согласия: