Publications

A great friend of the Kazakh people

12 April 2017
386
0
A great friend of the Kazakh people
Grigory Potanin is the brightest example of care for the Kazakh people. The well-known Russian travel scientist, ethnographer, folklorist is one of the first discoverers of the region

Potanin Grigory Nikolayevich is an ethnographic scientist, orientalist, a great orientalist-traveler, a connoisseur of Turkic languages, including fluent in Kazakh.

He was born in the family of a Cossack officer. His father – an ensign of the Siberian Cossack army - was imprisoned for a crime. His mother – died. Potanin was left alone.

 

 

 

Alikhan Bukeikhanov said:

"G.N. Potanin is the son of a Siberian Cossack from Kyzylzhar. His father ruled a hundred Russian Cossacks in the village Suyundik of Bayanaul district. As of October 4, 1835 in the city of Yamyshevo, its Kazakh name was Tuzdy kala (Salt City), was born G.N. Potanin. After the boy was three months old, his father moved to Kyzylzhar district. Arriving at the station, the father discovered the loss of his son: the child fell out of the sleigh."

Grigory Nikolayevich joked:

"I wanted to travel around the world at the age of three months, I fell out of the sleigh, and then I was found. Already at that time, I showed a desire to explore the world."

He was educated in the Siberian Cadet Corps. After the end of the corps in 1852 he served in the 8th Siberian Cossack regiment. In 1853 he took part in the Russian campaign in the Zailiyskiy region. In 1855 he was transferred to the Altai, from 1856 he served in Omsk in the control department of the army Cossack government.

The name of the native of the Yamyshevo village in the present Pavlodar region Grigory Potanin is inextricably linked with the name of the outstanding Kazakh scholar-enlightener Chokan Valikhanov. Together they studied at the Cadet Corps and studied the historical and ethnographic heritage of the Kazakh people in the Omsk Regional Archives. Potanin made a huge contribution to the development of Chokan studies, collecting and publishing many-sided and priceless works after his death.

It is appropriate to quote G. Potanin's words at the solemn meeting of the West Siberian Department of Geographical Society:

"Omsk is my spiritual homeland, here I once began with my late friend Chokan Valikhanov to dream about the works that I had to do alone, since my poor friend soon died, but I am sure that in the performance of those tasks that we ourselves planned, he could create a huge name for himself. As for me, I did everything I could without departing from those destinies that we once formed together."

With Chokan Valikhanov they were true friends. For almost forty years he tried, and as a result, in 1904 he published two books by Chokan Valikhanov.

After the end of the corps in 1855 as head of the Russian Cossacks visited Semirechye, Grigory Nikolayevich was the main ideological inspiration for the construction of the city of Almaty.

In 1859 P.P. Semenov, nicknamed Tien-Shansky, returning from Turkestan, met with Gregory and Chokan in Omsk. He felt that there was something special about these two young officers.

"What is there to get confused under your feet, go to Petersburg, study at the university," he advised them.

Young people did so: they entered the university in St. Petersburg. Potanin at the university well mastered botany - plant growing, literature and culture of different peoples, geography.

Here he meets Yadrintsev, Shchukin and other supporters of the Siberian region, who organized the Siberian community in St. Petersburg. For participation in student unrest in 1861 he was arrested, jailed in the Peter and Paul Fortress, and then exiled to Siberia.

In 1862, he arrived in Omsk, where he took an active part in the discussion of the new regulations on the Siberian Cossack Host.

In 1863, he was part of the commission that marked the border between Russia and China; after studying Kazakh literature, he conducted a comparative analysis of Kazakh literature with literature of Altai Turks; he made a significant contribution to the history of human development.

In the fall of 1864 he moved to Tomsk, actively participated in the informal department of the newspaper "Tomsk provincial statements". In 1865 he was arrested and, along with Yadrintsev, transferred to Omsk, where an investigation was carried out into the case of the "Siberian separatists". Together with his comrades he is held first in the prison castle, then at the military guardhouse. At this time, Potanin seeks permission to work during prison with materials from local archives. As a result, he prepared a book "Materials for the History of Siberia", published in Moscow in 1867 and several articles. As "the main attacker", he was sentenced to 15 years of hard labor by the Senate. The State Council and Emperor Alexander II reduced it to 5 years with subsequent lifelong exile to remote areas of the Russian Empire. Before sending to penal servitude over him in Omsk, a civil execution was carried out on the market square. Until November 1871, he was in Sveaborgskaya prison, then exiled to Totma and Nikolsk of the Vologda province. Being in exile, together with Yadrintsev actively cooperated in the "Kamsko-Volzhskaya Gazeta", defending the ideas of the Siberian region.

In 1874, he was released from exile with the right of residence in any city of the country. After his release, he fully devotes himself to scientific work.

Since 1876 G. Potanin has been actively participating in a number of scientific expeditions to collect materials on the geography of poorly studied regions of the Russian Empire, including their ethnography, folklore, botany and economics.

During the expeditions he collected invaluable material about the inhabitants of Mongolia, Greater Khingan, Transbaikal, Altai and the Kazakh steppe - Bayanaul, Syrymbet, Zaisan, Tarbagatai. The study of Kazakh legends and fairy tales recorded both in the original language and in translation into Russian, was reflected in scientific works.

In this noble cause, the scientist-ethnographer closely cooperated with such well-known enlighteners as Abai Qunanbayev, Musa and Sadvakas Chormanovs, Imantai Satpayev (father of Academician Kanysh Satpayev), Alikhan Bukeikhanov, Akhmet Baitursynov, Mirzhakyp Dulatov, Alikhan Yermekov, Zhakyp Akbaev and others.

In 1881, the Russian Geographical Society published the work of Potanin - "Essays of North-Western Mongolia. The results of the journey, executed in 1876-1877" with a map of the trip from Zaisan to Ubsa Lake.

The author of about 240 fundamental works G. Potanin for work on "Legends and tales of Kazakhs and Altai Turks" in 1886 was awarded the Great Konstantin medal of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society. He was one of the founders of the Siberian region; put forward the idea of ​​developing the Siberian region.

Potanin did much for the development of the cultural life of Siberia. He was the initiator of the establishment of scientific societies, museums, newspapers, expeditions and so on. He was the author of many scientific articles, "Memoirs", published in the "Literary Succession of Siberia" in Novosibirsk, in volumes 6 and 7 in 1883 and 1887. In this work he paid much attention to his stay in Omsk.

In the early twentieth century, he became a popular public figure in Siberia. In his speeches and articles "Regional tendency in Siberia" in 1907, "Peoples of Siberia" in 1908 and others, he with new force defends the ideas of the Siberian region, stands for the creation of the Siberian Regional Duma.

In 1915, the City Duma of Omsk awarded him the title of "Honorary Citizen of Omsk" in connection with the 80th anniversary.

In July 1917, Potanin who knew Kazakh language well, participated in the First All-Kyrgyz Congress in Orenburg as a delegate from the Semipalatinsk region and was elected as a delegate to the All-Russian Constituent Assembly.

In October 1917, he became anti-Bolshevik. He formed with Derber the so-called "Potanin-Derber group", which had great influence in Siberia. But as a result of the development of Bolshevism and the intensification of internal strife, the group lost its former influence. He took part in the Siberian congresses of the end of 1917. At the 1st Siberian Emergency December Provisional Regional Congress, the 1st regional organ of Siberia, he was elected the head of the executive committee.

Potanin spent his last years in Irkutsk, Krasnoyarsk and Tomsk, making trips to the Altai, Transbaikal and the Kyrgyz steppe to collect folk legends, fairy tales, and beliefs in order to supplement ethnographic works.

Potanin died in the summer of 1920 in Tomsk at the age of 85 years.

 

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What historical movie about the Kazakh-Dzungarian wars did you like best?

Публикации

Большой друг казахского народа

12 Апреля 2017
831
0
Большой друг казахского народа
Григорий Потанин - ярчайший пример заботы о казахском народе. Известный русский ученый-путешественник, этнограф, фольклорист является одним из первооткрывателей края

Потанин Григорий Николаевич - ученый-этнограф, ориенталист, крупный востоковед-путешественник, знаток тюркских языков, в том числе в совершенстве владевшего казахским.

Родился в семье казачьего офицера. Отец Потанина - хорунжий Сибирского казачьего войска - был посажен в тюрьму за провинность. Мать - умерла, и Потанин мальчиком остался один.

 

 

 

А. Букейханов говорил:

«Г.Н. Потанин - сын сибирского казака уезда Кызылжар. Его отец правил сотней русских казаков в селе Суюндик Баянаульского района. 4 октября 1835 года в городе Ямышевское, казахское его название было Тұзды қала (Соленый город), родился Г.Н. Потанин. После того, как мальчику исполнилось три месяца, его отец переехал в уезд Кызылжар. Приехав на станцию, отец обнаружил пропажу сына: ребенок выпал из саней».

Григорий Николаевич шутил:

«Мне в трехмесячном возрасте захотелось попутешествовать по миру, я выпал из саней, затем меня нашли. Уже в то время я проявил желание изучить мир».

Образование получил в Сибирском кадетском корпусе. После окончания корпуса в 1852 году служил в 8-м Сибирском казачьем полке. В 1853 году принял участие в русском походе в Заилийский край. В 1855 году переведен на Алтай, с 1856 года служил в Омске в контрольном отделе войскового казачьего правления.

Имя уроженца села Ямышево нынешней Павлодарской области Григория Потанина неразрывно связано с именем выдающегося казахского ученого-просветителя Чокана Валиханова. Они вместе учились в Кадетском корпусе и изучали историко-этнографическое наследие казахского народа в Омском областном архиве. Потанин внес огромный вклад в развитие чокановедения, собрав и опубликовав многогранные и бесценные труды после его смерти.

Здесь уместно привести слова Г. Потанина, сказанные им на торжественном собрании Западносибирского отдела географического общества:

«Омск - это моя духовная родина, здесь я когда-то с моим покойным другом Чоканом Валихановым впервые начал мечтать о тех трудах, выполнить которые пришлось мне одному, так как бедный друг мой скоро умер, но я уверен, что при исполнении тех задач, которые мы себе намечали, он мог бы создать себе громадное имя. Что касается меня, я сделал все, что мог, не отступая от тех предначертаний, которые мы себе когда-то вместе составили».

С Чоканом Валихановым они были верными друзьями. На протяжении почти сорока лет он пытался, а в результате в 1904 году все же издал две книги Чокана Валиханова.

После окончания корпуса в 1855 году в качестве руководителя русских казаков побывал на Семиречье, Григорий Николаевич был основным идейным вдохновителем строительства города Алматы.

В 1859 году П. П. Семенов, прозванный Тянь-Шанским, возвращаясь из Туркестана, в Омске встретился с Григорием и Чоканом. Он почувствовал, что в этих двух молодых офицерах есть что-то особенное.

«Чем здесь путаться под ногами, езжайте в Петербург, выучитесь в университете», - посоветовал он им.

Молодые люди так и сделали: они поступили в университет в Петербурге. Потанин в университете хорошо освоил ботанику - растениеводство, литературу и культуру разных народов, географию.

Здесь он знакомится с Ядринцевым, Щукиным и другими сторонниками сибирского областничества, организовавшими в Санкт-Петербурге сибирское землячество. За участие в студенческих волнениях 1861 году был арестован, посажен в Петропавловскую крепость, затем выслан в Сибирь.

В 1862 году он прибывает в Омск, где принимает активное участие в обсуждении нового положения о Сибирском казачьем войске.

В 1863 году он был в составе комиссии, обозначившей границу между Россией и Китаем; изучив казахскую письменность, провел сравнительный анализ казахской литературы с литературой алтайских тюрков; он внес значительный вклад в историю развития человечества.

Осенью 1864 году переезжает в Томск, активно участвует в неофициальном отделе газеты «Томские губернские ведомости». В 1865 году арестован и вместе с Ядринцевым переведен в Омск, где велось следствие по делу «сибирских сепаратистов». Вместе с товарищами он содержится сначала в тюремном замке, затем на военной гауптвахте. В это время Потанин добивается разрешения работать во время тюремного заключения с материалами местных архивов. В результате он подготовил книгу «Материалы для истории Сибири», изданную в Москве в 1867 году и несколько статей. Как «главный злоумышленник», он был приговорен Сенатом к 15 годам каторжных работ. Государственный Совет и император Александр II снизили его до 5 лет с последующей пожизненной ссылкой в отдаленные местности Российской империи. Перед отправкой на каторгу над ним в Омске был совершен обряд гражданской казни на базарной площади. До ноября 1871 года он находился в Свеаборгской тюрьме, потом сослан в Тотьму и Никольск Вологодской губернии. Находясь в ссылке, вместе с Ядринцевым активно сотрудничал в «Камско-Волжской газете», отстаивая идеи сибирского областничества.

В 1874 году освобожден из ссылки с правом проживания в любом городе страны. После освобождения он полностью посвящает себя научной деятельности.

С 1876 года Г. Потанин принимает активное участие в ряде научных экспедиций с целью сбора материалов по географии малоизученных регионов Российской империи, в том числе их этнографии, фольклора, ботаники и экономики.

В ходе экспедиций собрал бесценный материал о жителях Монголии, Большого Хингана, Забайкалья, Алтая и казахской степи - Баянаула, Сырымбета, Зайсана, Тарбагатая. Изучение казахских легенд и сказок, записанных как на языке оригинала, так и в переводе на русский язык, получило отражение в научных трудах.

В этом благородном деле ученый-этнограф тесно сотрудничал с такими известными просветителями, как Абай Кунанбаев, Муса и Садвакас Чормановы, Имантай Сатпаев (отец академика Каныша Сатпаева), Алихан Букейханов, Ахмет Байтурсынов, Миржакып Дулатов, Алихан Ермеков, Жакып Акбаев и другие.

В 1881 году Русское географическое общество издало труд Потанина – «Очерки Северо-Западной Монголии. Результаты путешествия, исполненного в 1876-1877 годах» с картой похода от Зайсана до озера Убса.

Автор около 240 фундаментальных трудов Г. Потанин за работу над «Легендами и сказками казахов и алтайских тюрков» в 1886 году был удостоен Большой Константиновской медали Императорского Русского географического общества. Был одним из основателей сибирского областничества, выдвигал идею развития Сибирского региона.

Потанин много сделал для развития культурной жизни Сибири. Он был инициатором учреждения ученых обществ, музеев, газет, экспедиций и так далее. Являлся автором многих научных статей, «Воспоминаний», опубликованных в «Литературном наследстве Сибири» в Новосибирске, в томах 6 и 7 в 1883 и 1887 годах. В этом труде он уделил большое внимание его пребыванию в Омске.

В начале ХХ века он становится популярным общественным деятелем Сибири. В своих выступлениях и статьях «Областническая тенденция в Сибири» 1907 году, «Народы Сибири» 1908 году и других он с новой силой отстаивает идеи сибирского областничества, выступает за создание Сибирской Областной Думы.

В 1915 году Городская дума Омска присвоила ему звание «Почетный гражданин Омска» в связи с 80-летним юбилеем.

В июле 1917 года прекрасно знавший казахский язык Потанин участвовал в Первом Всекиргизском съезде в Оренбурге делегатом от Семипалатинской области и был избран делегатом на Всероссийское учредительное собрание.

В октябре 1917 года он стал на антибольшевистские позиции. Образовал с Дербером так называемую «группу Потанина – Дербера», имевшую большое влияние в Сибири. Но в результате развития большевизма и усиления внутренних раздоров группа утратила прежнее влияние. Принимал участие в сибирских съездах конца 1917 года. На 1-м сибирском чрезвычайном декабрьском Временном областном съезде (ВОС), 1-м органе областников Сибири, был избран главой исполнительного комитета.

Последние годы жизни Потанин провел в Иркутске, Красноярске и Томске, совершая поездки на Алтай, в Забайкалье и Киргизскую степь для сбора народных легенд, сказок, поверий, чтобы дополнить ими этнографические труды.

Умер Потанин летом 1920 года в Томске в возрасте 85 лет.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?