Publications

What is the holiday of Nauryz?

18 March 2017
646
0
What is the holiday of Nauryz?
Nauryz is a holiday of spring renewal. It arose among the peoples of the East long before the adoption of Islam; therefore it is devoid of religious ritual and orientation

We bring to your attention 10 interesting facts related to the holiday of Nauryz.

1. Celebration of Nauryz before began with the traditional meeting of the dawn. This is associated with one of the old rituals - "If you see a spring, then clear its source."

2. Nauryz holiday does not belong to religion. The exact history of Nauryz is not known, but it originates in pre-Islamic times. Scientists today assume that, most likely this holiday goes back to the Zoroastrian and pagan times.

3. In Atyrau and Mangistau regions Nauryz is celebrated starting on March 14 and is called "Amal". The traditional element of this holiday is the rite of "Korisu". On this day everyone should shake hands, necessarily with both hands. It is also customary to greet each other with the words "Zhyl kutty bolsyn!" which means "Happy New Year!"

4. The children born during Nauryz were called names that are single-root or derived from the name of the holiday. Names that have survived to this day are Nauryzbek, Nauryzbay and Nauryzgul.

5. The fall of fresh snow on this day our ancestors considered a good sign. You can find in the ancient Kazakh legends that the beauty of the girl was compared with the white snow of Nauryz. Not surprisingly, because in March, usually not prickly, but very soft snow with a special whiteness.

6. In Kazakhstan there was a time when Nauryz was not publicly celebrated: 1926 - 1988. In 2001 Nauryz was declared a state holiday in our country. After 8 years (2009), a decree was signed that for the celebration of Nauryz and rest, Kazakhstanis are now given three days in a row.

7. Nauryz is celebrated not only in Kazakhstan. The countries of the near abroad, which share the joy of spring and Nauryz - Azerbaijan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and even Russia! But this is not all; there is a far abroad, where this holiday is awaited with impatience - Afghanistan and Iran.

8. Nauryz has its own traditional dish, Nauryz kozhe. It consists of 7 components. This figure contains a deep meaning, it symbolizes the days of the week, i.e. the temporal units of infinity of our universe. And with this figure are associated some rituals and rites. At the celebration opposite the aksakal it is customary to put 7 bowls filled with Nauryz kozhe. And everyone during Nauryz must necessarily visit 7 houses and invite 7 guests to his house.

9. In Uzbekistan, the traditional dish on Nauryz is considered to be Sumalak. In it there are some references to Nauryz kozhe. It also consists of 7 ingredients, which must be of plant origin.

10. In one of the first three days of Nauryz, according to the belief of the Kazakh people, a special hum should pass through the earth. Knowledgeable people say that sheep, who come from paradise, feel this special hum one of the first and their shepherds can learn about it. On such a day all nature, animals and people acquire life. It is believed that on such a day you can not cut hair and nails so as not to get paralyzed. All living things get special energy after "Az". Among the people there is a winged expression: "Until Az not pass, do not rejoice."

 

By Makhabbat BOLSHINA

Translated by Raushan MAKHMETZHANOVA

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111).

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What historical movie about the Kazakh-Dzungarian wars did you like best?

Публикации

Чем интересен праздник Наурыз мейрамы?

18 Марта 2017
620
0
Чем интересен праздник Наурыз мейрамы?
Наурыз мейрамы - праздник весеннего обновления. Он возник у народов Востока задолго до принятия мусульманства, поэтому лишен религиозной обрядности и направленности

Предлагаем вашему вниманию, 10 интересных фактов, связанных с праздником Наурыз.

1. Праздновать Наурыз раньше начинали с традиционной встречи рассвета. Это связанно с одним из старинных ритуалов – «Если видишь родник, то расчищай его исток».

2. Праздник Наурыз не относится к религии. Точная история Наурыза не известна, но он берет свое начало в доисламские времена. Ученые на сегодняшний день предполагают, что, скорее всего этот праздник уходит корнями в зороастрийские и языческие времена.

3. В Атырауской и Мангистауской областях праздновать Наурыз начинают с 14 марта и называют «Амал». Традиционным элементом этого праздника является обряд «көрiсу». В этот день все должны обмениваться теплыми рукопожатиями, обязательно обеими руками. Также принято приветствовать друг друга словами «Жыл құтты болсын!», что означает «С новым годом!»

4. Рожденных во время Наурыза детей называли именами, однокоренными или производными от названия праздника. Имена, дошедшие до наших дней - Наурызбек, Наурызбай, Наурызгуль.

5. Выпадение свежего снега в этот день наши предки считали добрым знаком. Можно найти в старинных казахских легендах, что красоту девушки сравнивали с белым снегом Наурыза. Не удивительно, ведь в марте обычно не колючий, а очень мягкий снег с особенной белизной.

6. В Казахстане было время, когда Наурыз всенародно не праздновали: 1926 - 1988 годы. В 2001 году в нашей стране Наурыз объявили государственным праздником. Спустя 8 лет (2009 год) был подписан указ о том, что на празднование Наурыза и отдых казахстанцам теперь отводится три дня подряд.

7. Наурыз празднуют не только в Казахстане. Страны ближнего зарубежья, разделяющие радость весны и Наурыза - Азербайджан, Таджикистан, Узбекистан, Кыргызстан, Туркменистан и даже Россия! Но это не все, есть еще дальнее зарубежье, где этот праздник ждут с нетерпением - Афганистан и Иран.

8. У Наурыза есть свое традиционное блюдо, «Наурыз көже». Оно состоит из 7 компонентов. В эту цифру заключен глубокий смысл, она символизирует дни недели, т.е. временные единицы бесконечности нашей вселенной. И с этой цифрой связаны некоторые обряды и ритуалы. На праздновании напротив аксакала принято ставить 7 чаш, наполненных наурыз-коже. И каждый во время Наурыза должен обязательно посетить 7 домов и пригласить к себе в дом 7 гостей.

9. В Узбекистане традиционным блюдом на Наурыз считается «Сумалак». В нем есть некоторые отсылки к Наурыз-коже. Оно так же состоит из 7 ингредиентов, которые должны быть растительного происхождения.

10. В один из первых трех дней Наурыза, по поверью казахского народа, по земле должен пройти особенный гул. Знающие люди говорят, что овцы, выходцы из рая, ощущают одними из первых этот гул и их пастухи могут узнать об этом. В такой день вся природа, животные и люди обретают жизнь. Считается, что в такой день нельзя стричь волосы и ногти, чтобы не заболеть параличом. Все живое вокруг обретает особенную энергию толь после «Әз». В народе есть крылатое выражение: «Пока не пройдет Әз, не радуйся».

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Одаривание зарубежных гостей казахским национальным чапаном – это: