«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future»
N.A.Nazarbayev

Researchers are exploring caves in Katyn-kamali in Zhanakorgan area

1465 0
Researchers are exploring caves in Katyn-kamali in Zhanakorgan area
The lower reaches of the Syr Darya is a land of ancient capitals, historical heritage which is priceless. The region has preserved many ancient monuments still causing a keen interest of historians.

The lower reaches of the Syr Darya is a land of ancient capitals, historical heritage which is priceless. The region has preserved many ancient monuments still causing a keen interest of historians.

In Zhanakorgan area in the foothills of Karatau there is a unique cave Katyn-Kamal. In different times it served as protection from the locals Zhungar invasion and destruction of enemies. Unexplored history of ancient settlements Kumyan and Kyrozgent is also interesting.

Advanced technology in the construction of ancient cities Kumyan and Kyrozgent used more in 10th-12th centuries. The evidence of it his 6-foot fortress wall. In width it can accommodate four riders. The high culture and economic prosperity of cities say numerous archaeological finds: fragments of pottery, agriculture and trade items.

Alimzhan Erzhanov, historian:
— During the reign of Janibek Khan coins were minted for Syganak. They were found here in Kumiyane. Here also were found the coins minted during the time of Tamerlane. The latest discovery are 113 silver coins made in Khorezm. Now we are examining the findings. Very little information.
During the Zhungar invasion Kumiyan and Kyrozgent were destroyed by fire. Such a fate befell many ancient settlements and their inhabitants. In order to escape from certain death, people sought shelter in caves of Karatau. One of them is the Katyn-kamal. In order to get to there, several mountain streams should be passed through, and all the time to go up.

Adyrbek Sopybekov, historian:
— At the top of the mountain there is a deep cave. It cannot be seen from the bottom. Entrance to it hidden by large boulders and lush vegetation. According to legend, in the 18th century men from the nearby settlements hid from enemies 40 women and children. However, one of the babies cry draw their attention. So, then Dzhungars found them. They filled up the entrance with stones and buried alive people. Since then, this place called Katyn-Kamal, which means — a place where women are locked.
The nature took care of these poor people. In the cave, contrary to all expectations is light and spacious: the walls from stone, flooring from sand. There is spring water and herbs grow it this place. By the way, there are many of these unique caves at the foot of Karatau. They will be explored by archaeologists.

Source: 24.kz 

 

 

translated by D.TAUKEBAYEVA

June 10, 2014 

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Бас редакторға сұрақ +7 707 686 75 81
Қазақша Русский English

Публикации

В Жанакорганском районе исследователи занимаются изучением пещеры Катын-камал

08 Октября 2013
121
0
В Жанакорганском районе исследователи занимаются изучением пещеры Катын-камал
Низовья Сырдарьи - это край древних столиц, историческое наследие которого бесценно. В регионе сохранилось множество памятников старины, до сих пор вызывающих живой интерес историков.

Низовья Сырдарьи - это край древних столиц, историческое наследие которого бесценно. В регионе сохранилось множество памятников старины, до сих пор вызывающих живой интерес историков.

В Жанакорганском районе в предгорье Каратау есть уникальная пещера Катын-камал. В разные века она служила защитой местным жителям от джунгарского нашествия и уничтожения врагов. Не менее интересна история ещё неизученных древних городищ Кумиян и Кырозгент.

Передовые технологии при строительстве древних городов Кумиян и Кырозгент применяли еще в X-XII веках. Свидетельство тому - вот эта 6-метровая крепостная стена. В ширину она может вместить четверых всадников. О высокой культуре и экономическом процветании  городов говорят многочисленные находки археологов: осколки керамических изделий, предметы земледелия и торговли.

Алимжан Ержанов, историк:

- Во время царствования хана Жанибека были отчеканены монеты для Сыганака. Они найдены здесь - в Кумияне. Здесь же были найдены монеты, отчеканенные во времена Тамерлана. Самая последняя находка - 113 серебряных монет, сделанных в Хорезме. Сейчас мы изучаем находки. Информации очень мало.

Во время джунгарского нашествия Кумиян и Кырозгент были разрушены и уничтожены огнём. Такая участь постигла многие древние поселения и их  обитателей. Спасаясь от неминуемой гибели, люди искали укрытия в пещерах Каратау. Одна из них - Катын-камал. Чтобы добраться до неё, нужно вброд перейти  несколько горных речушек и все время идти вверх.

Адырбек Сопыбеков, краевед:

- На самой вершине есть глубокая пещера. Её не увидишь снизу. Вход в неё скрывают большие валуны и обильная растительность. Согласно легенде, в XVII веке мужчины одного из близлежащих поселений спрятали в ней от врагов 40 женщин и детей. Их внимание привлек плач одного из младенцев. Так джунгары обнаружили спрятавшихся. Они завалили вход камнями и заживо похоронили людей. С тех пор это место и называется Катын-камал, что означает - место, где заперты женщины.

О несчастных позаботилась сама природа. В пещере вопреки всем ожиданиям светло и просторно: стены - из камня, настил - из песка. Здесь растут целебные травы, есть родниковая вода. К слову, таких уникальных пещер у подножья Каратау немало. Археологам ещё только предстоит их изучить.

Источник: 24.kz
Опрос

Как вы оцениваете уровень преподавания истории в школах?