Publications

The historical discourse in the Addresses of President N.A.Nazarbayev

06 September 2016
1632
0
The historical discourse in the Addresses of President N.A.Nazarbayev
Occasional emergence of ‘history’ in the political discourse is a common phenomenon all over the world.

It is well known that forming historical consciousness and collective memory, history plays and important role in the formation of identity and forming national idea and ideology of the country. Therefore, the occasional emergence of ‘history’ in political discourse is a common phenomenon all over the world. 

 History is given a significant place in independent Kazakhstan and various public events, large-scale programs as ‘Cultural heritage’ and ‘People in the flow of history’; celebrations of anniversaries of historical dates, commemoration of the tragic events can be the evidence of it. 

 History has a special role in the speeches of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev. The objective of the article is to analyze the use of term ‘history’ and historical discourse in the speeches of the head of the state on the examples of annual addresses of President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev to the people of Kazakhstan. 

 President’s Address is a traditional that started in 1997. 20 addresses have been issued during that period (1997-2015). The following should be noted in the analysis of address content: 

 -Address of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev to Kazakhstan people (September 1999) — ‘Stability and safety of the country in the new century’. In comparison with the Addresses that issued before and after, a significant place is given to the history of the country in the Address of 1999. The first paragraph of the Address is called ‘History and independence’, which briefly describes history of the country: from emergence of states of ancient Turks in Eurasia to historical significance of the first decade of the country’s independence.

 — Address of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev to the people of Kazakhstan (April 2003) — ‘Main directions of internal and foreign policy’. During the Address, President announced launching the program ‘Cultural heritage’ and its aims. ‘Cultural heritage’ aimed at the study, restoration and conservation of historical and cultural heritage of the country, revival of historical and cultural traditions, propaganda of cultural heritage of Kazakhstan abroad is one the largest programs, which has no analogies in the former Soviet space.

 -Address of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev to the people of Kazakhstan (December 14, 2012) — ‘Strategy ‘Kazakhstan −2050’: New political course of the established state’ emphasized the necessity of works on formation of the nation’s historical consciousness.

 -The national idea of ‘Mangilik El’ is revealed in the Address of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan (November 11, 2014) — ‘Nurly zhol — a way to future’. 

 Historical discourse is more common in Addresses of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev than it was mentioned above. The word ‘history’ is found 71 times in twenty Addresses, ‘tarikh’ — 5, ‘historical’ — 44, ‘tarikhi’ — 3. 

 Being an integral part of the public consciousness, history represents a unique phenomenon — human memory, which serves as a lesson and example for the next generation. Through the comparison of historical events and eras, analysis of past experience, President called for an objective assessment of sociocultural, political and economic challenges of our time. For instance, it states in the Address of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev to the people of Kazakhstan (October, 1997): ‘Many of us are having difficult times. But when it was easy? Was it easy for our grandfathers and fathers in this century: in civil war, in times of famine and pestilence, in the years of mass repressions, in the Great Patriotic War or in the post-war devastation? It is history, of course. Even today 800 million people are starving every year, many hundreds of millions people have no roofs over their heads. Millions are dying in bloody wars...’. 

 Another aspect of the use of history is directly related to the celebration of anniversaries, for instance, the 550th anniversary of the Kazakh Khanate, the 20th anniversary of Constitution and Assembly of People of Kazakhstan, celebration of victory in the Great Patriotic War (occurs several times in connection with 60, 65 and 70th anniversaries of victory). Thus, the analysis of Address texts emphasizes the special role of history in public policy, where it appears in various forms: history — lesson, history — memory, history —experience. 


 By А.Т. Smetova 

Photo: http://pm.kz/

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Make sure to subscribe to our Telegram channel!

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Quiz

What has to be done to have Kazakhstan with its 105 years history to participate in the World Cup?

Публикации

Исторический дискурс в Посланиях Президента РК Н.А. Назарбаева

05 Сентября 2016
1583
0
Исторический дискурс в Посланиях Президента РК Н.А. Назарбаева
Периодическое появление «истории» в политическом дискурсе является обычным явлением во всем мире
Общеизвестно, что формируя историческое сознание, коллективную память, история играет важную роль в формировании идентичности и в строительстве национальной идеи, идеологии страны. Поэтому периодическое появление «истории» в политическом дискурсе является обычным явлением во всем мире.

В независимом Казахстане истории также уделено значимое место, чему служит доказательством различные государственные мероприятия, масштабные программы как «Культурное наследие» и «Народ в потоке истории», празднования юбилейных исторических дат, коммеморация трагических событий.


В выступлениях Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева история занимает особую роль. Целью данной статьи является анализ использования термина «история» и исторического дискурса в выступлениях Главы государства на примере ежегодных Посланий Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева народу Казахстана.


Послания Главы государства — традиция, которая берет свое начало с 1997 года. За этот период (1997-2015 гг.) вышло в свет 20 посланий. В результате контент анализа текста посланий, особо следует отметить следующие:


- Послание Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева народу Казахстана (сентябрь 1999 г.) — «Стабильность и безопасность страны в новом столетии». В сравнении с Посланиями, вышедшими до и после, в Послании 1999 года значительное место уделено истории страны. Первый параграф Послания называется «История и независимость», в котором кратко повествуется об истории страны: от возникновения на просторах Евразии государств древних тюрков завершая исторической значимостью первого десятилетия независимости страны.

- Послание Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева народу Казахстана (апрель 2003 г.) — «Основные направления внутренней и внешней политики». Во время Послания, Президентом было объявлено о начале программы «Культурное наследие» и об ее целях. Программа «Культурное наследие», направленная на изучение, восстановление и сохранение историко-культурного наследия страны, возрождение историко-культурных традиций, пропаганду культурного наследия Казахстана за рубежом является одной из самых масштабных, не имеющая аналогов на всем постсоветском пространстве.

Послание Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева народу Казахстана (14 декабря 2012 г.) — «Стратегия „Казахстан-2050“: Новый политический курс состоявшегося государства» подчеркнуло о необходимости работы по формированию исторического сознания нации. 

В Послании Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева народу Казахстана (11 ноября 2014 г.) — «Нұрлы жол — путь в будущее» раскрывается национальная идея «Мәңгілік Ел».

В Посланиях Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева исторический дискурс, в целом, встречается чаще, чем приведено выше. В двадцати посланиях слово «история» встречается 71 раз, «тарих» — 5, «исторический» — 44, «тарихи» — 3.


Будучи неотъемлемой частью общественного сознания, история представляет собой уникальный феномен — память человечества, который служит уроком и примером следующему поколению. Через сравнение исторических событий и эпох, анализ прошлого опыта, Президент призывает к объективной оценке социокультурных, политических и экономических вызовов современности. Например, в Послании Президента Республики Казахстан Н.А. Назарбаева народу Казахстана (октябрь 1997 г.) говорится: «...Да, сегодня многим из нас очень трудно. А когда было легко? Разве было легко нашим дедам и отцам в этом столетии: в гражданскую войну, в периоды голода и мора, в годы массовых репрессий, в Великую Отечественную войну или в послевоенной разрухе? Разве было легко в прошлом и позапрошлом веке? Конечно, — это история. Но ведь и сегодня на нашей планете ежегодно голодают и недоедают 800 миллионов человек, многие сотни миллионов людей не имеют крыши над головой. Миллионы гибнут в кровопролитных войнах...».


Другой аспект использования истории, непосредственно связан с празднованием юбилейных дат, например, 550-летие Казахскому ханству, 20-летний юбилей Конституции и Ассамблеи народа Казахстана, празднование победы в Великой Отечественной войне (встречается несколько раз, в связи с 60-летним, 65-летним, 70-летним юбилеем победы). Таким образом, анализ текста Посланий еще раз подчеркивает особую роль истории в государственной политике, где она предстает в разных видах: история — урок, история — память, история — опыт.


А.Т. Сметова

Фото: http://pm.kz/

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?