Publications

Kalyn mal – ransom for the bride

05 September 2016
1092
0
 Kalyn mal – ransom for the bride
The custom was persecuted by the law in Soviet times.

By definition pf some researchers, the bride price in fact was not ransom, but compensation of expenses expended on girl’s marriage. The parents spent a lot of money on performing of various ritual ceremonies, dowry, wedding expenses and others. The ransom compensates it. 

 Lev Balluseck (1822-1899) gives very interesting information in his work ‘Special aspects of marriage of Kazakh people’. 

 Kalyn mal, the cattle for bride consists of the following parts: 

 1.Valuable ‘heads’ are the most valuable of the necessities for daily life on the farm: a) weapon; b) chain armor; c) horse d) camel. The price of each head was equal to five heads of cattle. People who were not able to pay it, paid 20 heads of cattle in return. Subsequently, valuable ‘heads’ were replaced by household furniture and other things. 

2. Cattle. That was the main part of the dowry. It was paid depending on income.

 3. Ulu. A groom paid that part when he arrived in the village for the first time — from 30 to 80 horses. 

 4. Wedding cattle — cattle on wedding costs. Its amount corresponded to the amount of dowry and was from 20 to 70 heads. In addition, the groom provided the bride’s parents with felt for the yurta. 

 5. Dairy payout. It did not exceed two camels. That also included the most expensive fur coat and a saddle.  Of course, the described form of dowry was only for the rich people and there were other forms of amount for poor Kazakhs, corresponding to their status. 

 The total amount of kalym was divided: 100-150 heads of cattle for wealth feudal aristocracy; 74-100 heads for people of average income; 20-40 heads of cattle for the poor; 10 heads for beggars.

 Interesting thoughts were shared by a scholar G.Akpanbekov. He said that Kalyn mal is just honor given to the bride and her mother. As 47 is not the number of cattle, but ‘seven’ forty times, i.e. forty weeks, 9 months and 9 days (duration of a child’s stay in the womb). So, kalym is in fact, is nothing but a gift to the mother who gave a birth, educated and raised the bride. 


 Used material: 

T.Kuanyshev ‘Kazaktar’ 

Photo: yvision.kz


Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
MOST READ
Quiz

What historical movie about the Kazakh-Dzungarian wars did you like best?

Публикации

Калым или выкуп за невесту

05 Сентября 2016
1182
0
Калым или выкуп за невесту
При советской власти обычай калынмал, обозначающий выкуп за невесту, преследовался законом
По определению некоторых исследователей, калым по сущности является не выкупом, а возмещением расходов, затраченных на выданье девушки замуж. Ибо родители сильно тратятся на выполнение различных обрядовых церемоний, приданое, свадебные расходы и пр. И калым их возмещает.


Лев Баллюзен (1822-1899) в своей работе «Особенности бракосочетания у казахов» приводит интересные сведения.

Итак, қалыңмал, т.е. скот дня невесты состоит из следующих частей.

1. Ценные «головы» — 310 самое ценное из необходимого для повседневной жизни в хозяйстве: а) ружье; б) кольчуга; в) скакун; г) верблюд. Цена каждой «головы» равняется пяти головам крупного скота. Не имеющие возможности выплатить эту часть, выплачивают взамен 20 голов крупною окота. Впоследствии ценные «головы» были заменены домашней обстановкой и пр.

2. Крупный скот. Это основная часть калыма. Его выплачивают в зависимости от собственного достатка.

3. Үлу. Жених выплачивает эту часть при первом приезде в аул — от 30 до 80 голов лошадей.

4. Свадебный скот — скот на свадебные расходы. Его размер соответствует размеру приданого и обычно составляет от 20 до 70 голов. Кроме того, жених должен обеспечить родителей невесты войлоком для юрты.

5. Молочная выплата. Она не превышает двух верблюдов. Сюда также входят самая дорогая шуба жениха и его седло. Конечно, описанная форма калыма под силу лишь богатым, а дня бедных казахов существовали другие, со-ответствующие их положению размеры.


Общие размеры калыма подразделяются так: для состоятельной феодальной аристократии — 100-150 голов крупного скота, для людей среднего достатка — 75-100 голов, для бедных людей — 20-40 голов, для голяков — 10 голов. Интересны размышления ученого Г. Акпанбекова. По его мнению, қалыңмал — это лишь почет, оказываемый невесте и ее матери. Потому что 47 — это не количество скота, а сорок раз по «семь», т.е. сорок недель - 9 месяцев и 9 дней (срок пребывания ребенка в утробе матери). Словом, калым в действительности ни что иное, как подарок матери, родившей, воспитавшей и вырастившей невесту.


Использованная литература: Қазақтар. — Алматы: Қазақстан даму институты: V том. Ата салт. 1998

Фото: yvision.kz




Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

какая историческая кинокартина о казахско-джунгарских войнах вам понравилась больше всего?