Publications

Presentation of the book in English

08 August 2016
1428
0
Presentation of the book in English
On July 25, British writer and journalist Nick Fielding presented a book in English at National Academic Library of Kazakhstan.

A meeting with the descendants of the British traveler and researcher Thomas Atkinson was held along with the presentation of the book «South to the Great Steppe: The Travels of Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in Eastern Kazakhstan, 1847-1852». Local historian, writer and translator Natalya Volkova from Barnaul was invited to the presentation as a guest. In 2012, she translated chapters from English into Russian from the book ‘East and West Siberia’ by Thomas Atkinson and his wife Lucy Atkinson’s book ‘Memories about Tatar Steppes and its inhabitants’, which were devoted to the journey of British explorers in Ural, Siberia and Kazakhstan steppes. One of the chapters of Lucy’s book ‘Letter from Kapal of October 17, 1848’ devoted to the journey of Thomas and Lucy in Kazakhstan steppes and Lucy told about it in details and with warmth.  

Nick Fielding tried to repeat the route, once done by his countrymen, travelers Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in XIX century. He described the story of the British explorers of XIX century in the book «South to the Great Steppe: The Travels of Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in Eastern Kazakhstan, 1847-1852» fascinatingly.  

Thomas and Lucy Atkinson explored the lands of Kazakhstan. Travelling on horses, they rode hundreds of thousand miles to the South from Siberia across the territory of the Great Steppe. In September, 1848 Thomas and Lucy arrived to the settlement Kapal, located in the foothills of Dzhungar Alatau, where their son was born after two months. They called him Alatau Tanshybulak after the famous spring in Kapal. 

4d44f2d881b4250a075bc47b748ecf41.JPG

db1cd38437d5f79f00fc73eec8d1a8fa.JPG

5ed692b950985088c1abe00d4e95564a.JPG

A famous English writer and journalist Nick Fielding, the great-grandson of Thomas Atkinson — Paul Dahlquist, the great-granddaughter of Thomas Atkinson — Belinda Brown, Philippa Smith, Rose Whitehead and their family presented the book too.

 Paul Dahlquist told about life and work of his famous relatives:

‘Parents of my great-great-grandfather Thomas Atkinson were poor, his mother was a housewife and his father was involved in construction. Thomas had no opportunity to study, as there was no money for education. Helping his father, he became an architect soon. For instance, a church in London, observatory in Yorkshire, building in Manchester are among the large works of Thomas Atkinson. 

My great-grandmother was also very talented. She painted pictures from Alatau. Some of them were brought to the book presentation. 

737ed64494ff61f6fb03795e3acb3f60.JPG

1988e327b60fe8969ef7b9083cca2708.JPG

126a1ccdd40cfaf6f886c62a3c921b45.JPG

 Also, Thomas and Lucy Atkinson kept diaries —5 diaries remained, which are available at Royal Geographical Society in London. It should be noted that the paper was expensive at that time. 

 The fact, that my great-great grandparents came to Kazakhstan from Hawaii in 1840 is amazing. Even in our time, the distance between two places is too far. 

 We are curious to see the changes that have happened in the country after our arrival to Kazakhstan’. 

 Descendants of Thomas Atkinson arrived in Kazakhstan to visit lands and places, which were explored by their famous ancestors, to experience the events of that time, to pay tribute to their memory. The guests visited Almaty and Almaty Region after Astana. The meeting in Kazakhstan was initiated by the Embassy of the Republic of Kazakhstan in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and National Academic Library of the Republic of Kazakhstan. 

ee72313a537f6e43e377fa1ffc651ecb.JPG

50a9b49f6d80f8565ff49982c3565b7e.JPG

 Such issues as the unification of English and Kazakhstan scholars’ efforts in the study of research history about Kazakhstan, in-depth study of books, documents, handwritings of Great Britain’s libraries related to history and culture of Kazakhstan, acquisition of historical materials copies, translation of the book by Nick Fielding «South to the Great Steppe: The Travels of Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in Eastern Kazakhstan, 1847-1852» in Kazakh and Russian languages, presentation to the wide audience, strengthening of cultural and scientific cooperation between Kazakhstan and Great Britain. 

 The book by Nick Fielding consists of nine chapters: ‘Introduction’, ‘An architect becomes a painter’, ‘Arrival in Saint-Petersburg’, ‘1847: Single journey of Thomas to Ural, Altai and Northern Kazakh Steppes’, ‘Lucy’s fire baptism’, ‘Desert and snow storm’, ‘Life in Kapal’, ‘Exploring Dzhungar Alatau’, ‘Short return’. It is based on the unique records about Kazakh society of XIX century. Thomas and Lucy met with Kazakh people, well-known sultans and biys during their journeys. They stayed in villages and talked to Kazakh families, recorded their conversations and described their way of life. No writer described the life of steppe nomads and created their portraits in details as T.Atkinson did. The book contains notes, diaries and letters that were kept in the private archive of one of T.Atkinson’s descendants and high-quality copies of lithographs and engravings as well. It contains East Kazakhstan map with the route passed by the Atkinson family, painting reproduction, correspondence of T.Atkinson with the Russian authorities. T.Atkinson’s portraits about the Kazakh leaders of that time are of great value.

f15ac2e001958754205a02cc808e1b88.JPG

The materials of studies by Thomas and Lucy Atkinson gave evidence of the rich history of the Great Steppe and are invaluable contribution in the cultural heritage of Kazakhstan, in study of its history, geography, culture and traditions. During the past 160 years since the visit of British traveler, Kazakhstan has passed a thorny historical path of development and today it is positioned as a modern state with a stable and dynamically developing economy. 

04cc079cadf51d6d122e3ea538125b11.JPG

 The book exhibition ‘Kazakhstan in the flow of history’ is formed especially for the presentation. It consists of three sections: ‘Scientific works of foreign scholars’, ‘Science of Kazakhstan’, ‘Book is the mirror of era’. The books of foreign researchers of Kazakhstan steppes, works of Kazakhstan scholars and books about the history of our country, as well as rare editions and handworks from the library funds are presented here. 


 By Malika MURSALIMOVA


Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Quiz

Are you interested in the history of independent Kazakhstan?

Публикации

Презентация книги на английском языке

03 Августа 2016
1296
0
 Презентация книги на английском языке
25 июля в Национальной академической библиотеке РК состоялась презентация книги на английском книги известного британского писателя и журналиста Ника Филдинга
Наряду с презентацией книги под названием «South to the Great Steppe: The Travels of Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in Eastern Kazakhstan, 1847-1852» («На юг в Великую степь: Путешествие Томаса и Люси Аткинсон в Восточный Казахстан в 1847-1853 годы») прошла встреча с потомками британского путешественника и исследователя Томаса Аткинсона. В качестве гостя на презентацию приглашена краевед, писатель, переводчик Наталья Волкова из Барнаула. В 2012 году ею был осуществлен перевод с английского языка на русский главы из книги Томаса Аткинсона «Восточная и Западная Сибирь» и книги его жены, Люси Аткинсон, «Воспоминания о Татарских Степях и их жителях», которые посвящены путешествию британских исследователей по Уралу, Сибири и степям Казахстана. Одна из глав книги Люси «Письмо из Копала от 17 октября 1848 года» посвящена путешествию Томаса и Люси Аткинсон в степи Казахстана и об этом Люси рассказывает подробно, интересно и в теплотой.

Ник Филдинг попытался повторить маршрут, некогда проделанный его соотечественниками, путешественниками Томасом и Люси Аткинсон в XIX веке. Историю британских исследователей XIX века он увлекательно и интересно описал в книге «South to the Great Steppe: The Travels of Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in Eastern Kazakhstan, 1847-1852».

Томас и Люсия Аткинсон исследовали просторные земли Казахстана. Путешествуя на лошадях, они проехали сотни тысяч милей на юг от Сибири по всей территории Великой степи. В сентябре 1848 года Томас и Люсия прибыли в местность Капал, находившейся у подножия гор Джунгарского Алатау, где через два месяца у них родился сын. Они назвали его Алатау Тамшыбулак в честь знаменитого родника в Капале.

efb40e943f82e30b41b52acbb05fd239.JPG

340deb8117746cd7050439bbf7388e55.JPG

86db121c75de54a839a171e976a8d256.JPG


Книгу презентовали также известный английский писатель и журналист Ник Филдинг, праправнук Томаса Аткинсона — Пол Далквист, праправнучки Томаса Аткинсона — Белинда Браун, Филиппа Смит, Роуз Уайтхед, а также их семьи.

Пол Далквист пролил свет на жизнь и деятельность своих знаменитых родственников: 

«Родители моего прапрадедушки Томаса Аткинсона жили бедно, его мама занималась хозяйством, а отец — строительством. У Томаса не было возможности учиться, так как средств на образование не хватало. Помогая отцу, он впитал любовь к зодчеству и впоследствии стал архитектором. Например, среди крупных ваяний Томаса Аткинсона — церковь в Лондоне, обсерватория в Йоркшире, сооружение в Манчестере.

Моя прапрабабушка также была весьма талантлива. Она писала картины с Алатау. Некоторые из них привезены на данное презентацию книги.

095d76a44894491b8f58610d4e2890a1.JPG

a778524f0b22f05c9073be0280f64a40.JPG

c7d26775e43408c75796e0f818e2ae2d.JPG

Также, Томас и Люси Аткинсон вели дневник — всего сохранилось 5 дневников, которые доступны в Национальном Географическом Обществе Лондона. Хотелось бы заметить, что в то время бумага была на вес золота.

Тот факт, что еще в 1840 году мои прапрадедушка с прапрабабушкой прибыли в Казахстан из далеких Гавайев поразителен. Ведь даже в наше время расстояние между двумя местностями далеко не малое.

Приехавши в Казахстан после столь продолжительного времени, нам любопытно посмотреть на изменения, произошедшие в данной стране».

Потомки Томаса Аткинсона прибыли в Казахстан, чтобы посетить земли, места, которые исследовали их знаменитые предки, чтобы прочувствовать события того времени, отдать дань уважения их памяти. После Астаны гости посетили Алматы и Алматинскую область. Данная встреча на казахстанской земле была инициирована Посольством Республики Казахстан в Объединенном Королевстве Великобритании и Северной Ирландии и Национальной академической библиотекой Республики Казахстан.

c94d9ce76d6471be70c28e38a4c0a032.JPG

41bb2928e8ee15c419021e45ff4077f1.JPG

В ходе презентации книги будут рассмотрены такие вопросы как объединение усилий английских и казахстанских ученых в изучение истории исследований о Казахстане, углубленное изучение книг, документов, рукописей библиотек Великобритании, относящихся к истории и культуре Казахстана приобретение копий этих исторических материалов, перевод книги Ника Филдинга «South to the Great Steppe: The Travels of Thomas and Lucy Atkinson in Eastern Kazakhstan, 1847-1852» на казахский и русский языки, презентация их широкой аудитории; укрепление культурного и научного сотрудничества между Казахстаном и Великобританией.

Книга Ника Филдинга состоит из девяти глав: «Введение», «Зодчий становится живописцем», «Прибытие в Санкт-Петербург», «1847: Одиночное путешествие Томаса на Урал, Алтай и Северные Казахские Степи», «Боевое крещение Люси», «Пустыни и снежные бури», «Жизнь в Капале», «Исследование Джунгарского Алатау», «Недолгое возвращение». Она составлена на основе уникальных записей о казахском обществе XIX века. Томас и Люси во время своих путешествий встречались с простыми казахами, со многими известными султанами и биями. Они останавливались в аулах, общались с казахскими семьями, записывали их разговоры и описывали их образ жизни. Ни один писатель не описывал жизнь степных номадов и не создавал их портреты так детально, как это сделал Т.Аткинсон. В книге содержатся записки, дневники и письма, хранившиеся в частном архиве одного их потомков Т.Аткинсона, а также высококачественные копии литографий и гравюр. В ней содержатся карта Восточного Казахстана с изображением маршрута, пройденного семьей Аткинсон, репродукция картин, переписка Т.Аткинсона с российскими властями. Портреты Аткинсона о предводителях казахов того времени представляют большую ценность.

81bb79c53617493852f5a44c271de29a.JPG

Материалы исследований Томаса и Люси Аткинсон свидетельствуют о богатой истории Великой Степи и являются бесценным вкладом в культурное наследие Казахстана, в изучение его истории, географии, культуры, традиций. За прошедшие 160 лет со времени визита британского путешественника, Казахстан прошел тернистый исторический путь развития и сегодня позиционируется как современное государство со стабильной и динамично развивающейся экономикой.

2200210f32c79f51c195061062c26af4.JPG

Специально к презентации оформлена книжная выставка «Казахстан в потоке истории». Она состоит из трех разделов: «Научные труды зарубежных ученых», «Наука Казахстана», «Книга — зеркало эпохи». Здесь представлены книги зарубежных исследователей степей Казахстана, труды ученых Казахстана и книги, посвященные истории нашей страны, а также редкие издания и рукописи из фонда библиотеки.




Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?