«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future»
N.A.Nazarbayev

Akmola oblast: a historical feature

2186 0
Akmola oblast: a historical feature
The history of the region goes back to the 19th century, when a significant part of the economy was occupied by nomadic cattle rising.

Akmola oblast was established on October 21, 1868 and was finally formed in January 1869. It initially included Akmola, Kokchetav, Petropavlovsk and Omsk districts. Oblast was part of Stepnoi Governorate General and occupied a vast territory of Central and North Kazakhstan. It bordered Tobolsk Governorate in the north, Turgay oblast in the west, the Syrdarya in the south and Semipalatinsk oblast in the east. The largest cities of the oblast were Omsk, Akmolinsk, Kokchetav, Petropavlovsk and Atbasar.

 The main sector of economy in Akmola oblast was nomadic cattle rising. The population owned a different kind of cattle in the amount of 2 217 151, including 171 265 of settled population and 2 045 886 of nomadic one by January 1, 1887. One average, there was 1.3 cattle for one settled inhabitant, 6.1 cattle for a nomadic one. This ratio indicates different value of herding for these population groups: it is the only source of wealth for nomads. The nomadic population of southern regions — Akmola and Atbasar owned about 70% of the cattle, while the northern districts Kokchetav, Petropavlovsk and Omsk owned 30%.

ee221546c0c56c8de05fb8fa0b5bb1e5.jpg

 Summer stand on the tract in Akmola oblast

 Development of agriculture and farming in particular, in the second half of XIX — early XX centuries did not reach the desired level. The reason was in unfavorable soil and climatic conditions of the steppe areas of the oblast with its rich meadow spaces more favorable to nomadic cattle rising. The development of capitalism in the center had a huge impact on the economy of the village, growth of cities, revival of activities of urban and steppe fairs, the emergence of credit-banking institutions. The largest fairs were summer ones: Tainchikulskaya (Tainchakulskaya) in Petropavlovsk County, Konstantinovskaya in Akmolinsk, Petropavlovskaya in Atbasar County with a turnover of over 7 million rubles each (1912): autumn: Znamenskaya in Atbasar, Pokorvskaya in Kokchetav, Aleksandrovskaya in Aryk-Balykskaya station, Vvedenskaya in Omsk with a turnover of 6400.800 rubles each. In 1907, there were more than 100 fairs and markets, the trade turnover reached up to 80 million rubles, including 50 in import and more than 20 million in export. Trade was carried out in three forms: permanent — in towns and villages, barter — with Kazakh nomads and recurrent — in fairs. The main trade centers were Petropavlovsk, Omsk and Akmolinsk. 

 

5777ff8acf7c0197a3e5c89b5dbbc3f5.jpg

Well in Akmola steppes. From exposition of Omsk Regional History Museum

 The construction of Trans-Siberian railway, the weakening of patriarchal-feudal relations under the influence of capitalism and village retraction in market relations, the need of acceleration of economic development in Akmola oblast led to creation of lending financial institution network. In 1913, lending-financial institutions were opened in Akmola, Petropavlovsk and Atbasar counties, in all towns, districts and villages with self-administration. There were two and more lending institutions in some places. Different types of crafts covered all social groups of villages but in different degrees. In 1909, there were 44 different types of crafts due to «Materials on Kyrgyz land use» and «Kyrgyz agriculture of Akmola oblast». 

d81b61ee11df81a39280f6098133a241.jpg

Nomads. Akmola oblast 

In 1752, the line of military fortifications of 10 fortresses and 53 redoubts closing Uiskaya line with Irtysh one was built. That line named Novo-Ishimskaya connected Omsk fortress with Zverinogolovskaya one. In the result, Russian border was extended for 50-200 miles deep into the Middle Zhuz lands. The Kazakhs were forbidden to pass the Irtysh and move closer than 10 miles from the river and 30 miles in the area of fortresses and outposts. 

 7 districts had been opened during 10 years from 1824 to 1834. In 1830, Akmola (Akmolinsk) was founded and in 1832 — Akmolinsk external district. In 1835, the county consisted of 15 Kazakh districts with population of 71 262 people and one Russian settlement with 9 houses, one forge and one windmill. The center of the district was Akmolinsk fortification (founded in 1830), called Akmola Cossack station since 1845, which was granted the city status in 1862. Initially, it was intended to build the fortification on the Nura, in the tract Akmola in 30 miles from the contemporary city. The place was uncomfortable, the Nura and the Ishim flooded a huge area. The construction was moved on the Ishym, to the tract Kara-Utkul and the original name remained behind the fortress. 

133582586768a7b77126c83319dc0808.jpg

 Temporary housings of resettlers in Akmolinskaya oblast. 1913 

The tract Akmola was called due to limey hill, which preserved the traces of burial on the top (white mazar). Byzantine writer Procopius claimed that the Huns called a high mound, fortress «mola». Subsequently, Akmola became the center of trade fairs, where merchants from all regions of Kazakhstan, Russia, Central Asia, India and other countries came and sold a huge number of cattle, those fairs were famous for abundance and rich range of dairy products (kumys, shubat and others), which gave an additional meaning to the name of the place (literally «ak mol» means white abundance). In 1869, a town became the center of Akmola district of Akmola Region established in accordance with approved «Provisional Regulation on Administration of Orenburg and West-Siberian Governorate Generals in the steppe regions» on October 21. The newly formed region included the territory of modern regions: Akmolinskaya, North Kazakhstan, Kokshetau (at that time they were called counties), parts of Karaganda and a part of Omsk region ceded to Russia. It bordered Tobolsk Governorate from the north, Turgay Region from the west, the Syrdarya from the south. Akmola region included Akmolinsk, Omsk, Petropavlovsk, Kokshetau, Sarmsu (since 1878 — Atbasar) counties. Omsk was the administrative and military center of the region, a residence of West-Siberian (since 1891 — Stepnoy) Governorate General, an appointed hetman of the Cossack troops and a commander of the district were located there. The territory of entire region was 492.455,8 square miles in 1914. 


 Used material: АKMOLA: Encyclopedia — Аlmaty: Аtamura, 1995.- 400 p.


Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Публикации

Акмолинская область: исторический очерк

08 Июля 2016
925
0
Акмолинская область: исторический очерк
История региона уходит корнями в 19 век, когда значительную часть хозяйства занимало кочевое скотоводство.
Акмолинская область была образована 21 октября 1868 года, окончательно оформилась в январе 1869 года. В ее состав вначале вошли Акмолинский, Кокчетавский, Петропавловский и Омский уезды. Область находилась в составе Степного генерал-губернаторства, занимала обширную территорию Центрального и Северного Казахстана. На севере она граничила с Тобольской губернией, на западе с Тургайской областью, на юге — с Сырдарьинской и на востоке — с Семипалатинской областями. Наиболее крупными городами области являлись Омск, Акмолинск, Кокчетав, Петропавловск, Атбасар.


Основной отраслью хозяйства Акмолинской области было кочевое скотоводство. К 1 января 1887 население области владело разного рода скотом в количестве 2 217 151 голов, в т. ч. у оседлого населения насчитывалось 171 265 голов, у кочевого — 2 045 886 голов скота. В среднем на одного оседлого жителя приходилось 1,3 головы скота, на одного кочевника 6,1 головы. Такое соотношение указывает на неодинаковое значение скотоводства для этих групп населения: для кочевника оно — единственный источник материального состояния. Кочевое население южных уездов области — Акмолинского и Атбасарского — держало около 70% скота, тогда как северные уезды — Кокчетавский, Петропавловский и Омский — 30%. 

f8c28d446daaf3bd2e4345d6c0688dd5.jpg

Летняя стоянка на тракте в Акмолинской области

Развитие земледелия вообще и хлебопашества, в частности, во 2-й пол. 19 — нач. 20 вв. не достигло желаемого уровня. Причины заключались в не совсем благоприятных почвенных и климатических условиях степных районов области с их обильными луговыми пространствами, более благоприятными для кочевого скотоводства. Развитие капитализма в центре оказывало огромное влияние на экономику аула, рост городов, оживление деятельности городских и степных ярмарок, появление кредитно-банковских учреждений. Крупнейшими ярмарками были летние: Таинчикульская (Таинчакульская) в Петропавловском уезде, Константиновская в Акмолинске, Петропавловская — в Атбасарском уезде с оборотом свыше 7 млн. рублей каждая (1912): осенние: Знаменская — в Атбасаре, Покровская — в Кокчетаве, Александровская в станице Арык-Балыкской, Введенская — в Омске с оборотом 6400.800 рублей каждая. В 1907 в Акмолинской области было более 100 действующих ярмарок и «торжков», торговые обороты которых достигали до 80 млн. руб., в т. ч. по привозу 50 и по сбыту — более 20 млн. рублей. Торговля осуществлялась в трех формах: постоянная в городах и селениях, меновая — с казахами-кочевниками и периодическая — на ярмарках. Главными торговыми пунктами были города: Петропавловск, Омск, Акмолинск.

eef1e85b603bcf2021ada1556b1bf00d.jpg

Колодец в Акмолинской степи. Из экспозиции Омского областного историко-краеведческого музея

Строительство транссибирской магистрали, ослабление патриархально-феодальных отношений под воздействием капитализма и втягивание аула в рыночные отношения, потребности ускорения хозяйственного освоения Акмолинской области обусловили создание сети кредитно-финансовых учреждений. В 1913 в Акмолинском, Петропавловском и Атбасарском уездах кредитные учреждения были открыты во всех городах, волостях и селах, имеющих самостоятельное управление. Кое-где — по два и более кредитных учреждения. Различные виды промыслов охватили все социальные группы аула, правда, в разной степени. В «Материалах по киргизскому землепользованию» и в книге «Киргизское хозяйство Акмолинской области» содержатся сведения о различных видах промыслов, которых в 1909 насчитывалось 44.

6119317a9c67db0287ff84f19568e29a.jpg

Кочевники. Акмолинская область

В 1752 была построена линия военных укреплений из 10 крепостей и 53 редутов, сомкнувших Уйскую линию с Иртышской. Эта линия, названная Ново-Ишимской, соединила Омскую крепость с Звериноголовской. И в результате русская граница была выдвинута на 50-200 верст вглубь земель Среднего жуза. Казахам запрещалось переходить за Иртыш и кочевать ближе 10 верст от реки и 30 верст в районе крепостей и форпостов.


В течение 10 лет с 1824 по 1834 г.г. было открыто 7 округов. В 1830 г. была основана Акмола (Акмолинск), а в 1832 г.— Акмолинский внешний округ. В 1835 в округе насчитывалось 15 казахских волостей с населением 71 262 чел. и лишь одно русское поселение с 9 деревянными домами, одной кузницей и одной ветряной мельницей. Центром округа служило Акмолинское укрепление (осн. в 1830), называвшееся с 1845 Акмолинской казачьей станицей, в 1862 получившей статус города. Первоначально укрепление намеревались строить на Нуре, в урочище Акмола, в 30 верстах от современного города. Место оказалось неудобным; Нура и, Ишим, выходя из берегов, затопляли огромный район. Строительство перенесли на Ишим, в урочище Кара-Уткуль, а первоначальное название так и осталось за крепостью. 

9ffbc73824a96692dd7743ccb46edd21.jpg

Временные жилища переселенцев в Акмолинской области. 1913 год

Урочище Акмола называли по известковой сопке, сохранившей на своей вершине следы погребения (белый мазар). По утверждению византийского писателя Прокопия гунны называли «молой» высокий курган, крепость. Впоследствии местность Акмола стала центром проведения торговых яр¬марок, куда приезжали торговцы из всех регионов Казахстана, России, Средней Азии, Индии и других стран и где продавалось огромное количество скота и которые славились изобилием и богатым ассортиментом молочных товаров (кумыс, шубат и т. д.), что придало дополнительное значение названию местности (в буквальном переводе "ак мол" — белое изобилие). В 1869 город стал центром Акмолинского уезда в составе Акмолинской области, созданной в соответствии с утвержденным 21 октября «Временным положением об управлении в степных областях Оренбургского и Западно-Сибирского генерал-губернаторств». Вновь образованная область включала в себя территории современных областей: Акмолинской, Северо-Казахстанской, Кокшетауской (которые в то время назывались уездами), части Карагандинской и отошедшей к России Омской области. С севера она граничила с Тобольской губернией, с запада — Тургайской обл., с юга — Сырдарьинской. В Акмолинскую область, кроме упомянутого Акмолинского, вошли Омский, Петропавловский, Кокшетауский, Сармсуский (с 1878 — Атбасарский) уезды. Административным и военным центром области был г. Омск, где находились резиденция Западно-Сибирского (с 1891 — Степного) генерал-губернаторства, наказного атамана казачьего войска и командующего войсками округа. Территория всей области в 1914 составила 492.455,8 кв. верст. 


Использованная литература: АКМОЛА: Энциклопедия- Алматы: Атамура, 1995.- 400 стр.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
САМЫЕ ЧИТАЕМЫЕ
Опрос

Что из богатств Жети казына является наиболее востребованным в современном обществе?