Home Interdisciplinary Studies Ethnography The Nomadic Civilization and shezhire

The Nomadic Civilization and shezhire

Most of the ancient civilizations like Egypt, Mesopotamia, Ancient Greece, Rome, China and others, originated in the subtropical zone. The subtropical climatic conditions determined the farming as the most efficient type of agriculture. These civilizations that arose in different places and at different times, formed around certain centers where we could find a large number of artefacts. Their main value was the fertile land. Moreover, all the relationships in society were based on ownership of the land. A large concentration of population created these unique pockets of ancient civilizations for centuries.

Unlike the agricultural civilizations, the nomadic culture originated in the steppe. If you look at the map, it is clear that a significant part of the Eurasian land is occupied by the steppe. Steppe is a place of residence of the Turkic peoples. The special form of farming – the nomadic herding originated here for a few decades before our era. It has survived to the present day, as it is the best way of life in the desert. All pastures were divided between tribes. The genealogical unification of people gave a number of advantages, thus it was easier to hold the territory and easier to farm.

Under the conditions of nomadic pastoralism, tribe was the main structural unit of the state. The property and social status of each person is determined by its position within the genus. During the hostilities, each tribe sent a certain number of soldiers. The head of the clan was the main person to do the business among the tribe members. The large tribes were subdivided into the subgenus, while the tribes were united in the labor unions or zhuzes. The head of State Hagan or Khan solved all the major issues of governance with the heads of the tribes and zhuze . This structure has been unchanged for centuries. Therefore, for each individual was vital to know that he or she belong to the genus. Without belonging to his tribe, the person could be thrown out of society.

The nomadic pastoralism do not require a sufficient number of workers, but it gave a large gain of the product. With proper management of the farmstead, the number of livestock will grow rapidly and provide nomads with everything they need - food, clothing, shelter. Therefore, a portion of the released people could develop other activities: mining and processing of metals, wood, ceramics production, tanning leather, cloth, felt, production, jewelry, medicine, astronomy, science and religion. In the oases of the steppe, where the conditions are suitable, it is possible to develop the agriculture. The population out there led a sedentary life and built the city. The availability of settled and nomadic population has led to differences in the production and as a consequence to the emergence of barter and trade.

The availability of human resources in the desert with well-developed skills to overcome the long distances, the well-developed horse and camel breeding, as well as the invention of the wheel and the wagon led to intensive development of trade. That is how the Great Silk Road was created. It lasted for more than three millennia, until the 16th century AD, until the sea route from Europe to Asia was established and America was discovered.

The Kazakhs cherish their genealogy. It sits deep in the subconscious even in the minds of the modern Kazakhs. People are not always aware of why they store their shezhire, but they firmly believe that it is very important. Many people do not even know all their pedigrees, but they clearly know to which tribe they belong. Every Kazakh family has shezhire. Shezhire is the genealogical records. They are passed from father to son and consist of several generations of ancestor’s on the male line. Sometimes these records include the most outstanding women. In addition, these records contain the biography, history and geography of the most significant events and legends. Often the families kept the following things as the relics of their ancestors: books, saddles, clothing, jewelry, etc. Often these things are from 16-18 centuries. It is very natural thing for Kazakhs to know their shezhire and it is not perceived as something unusual. But if you look at it from the point of view of other people, this phenomenon looks extraordinary. Many of our friends were quite surprised when they heard that we know about thirty generations of our ancestors.

The current situation with the genealogical heritage of Kazakhs is ambiguous. On the one hand, the historians collect the shezhire materials and study them, the Kazakh language media published a lot of interesting materials on this topic. But due to the fact that in today's society of Kazakhstan, the Russian-speaking population is dominating, including Kazakhs themselves, these media do not have enough audience. In the Russian media, which have both popularity and influence, the topic is not addressed. The popular initiatives lies in the fact that the representatives of large tribes such as naiman, dzhalair, argyn and other published books on the genealogy of a kind, containing of more than 50 000 names. The official structures are not trying to help, they afraid of tribalism and a split within the Kazakhs zhuzes and tribal affiliation. Of course, this is the legacy of the Soviet era, when it was a taboo subject and the influence of the media that speculated on the popularity of shezhire, and wrote the scandalous articles about the fact that the government officials are secretly carried out the personnel policy of tribal affiliation.

We got a rich heritage from the ancient civilizations of the steppe. However, there are still many white gaps and the time distortions much is not understood. We want to contribute to the study and promotion of the history and culture of the Kazakh and other Turkic peoples for mutual understanding, and mutual rapprochement people. Recently, with the fading of the nomadic civilization its values have been lost. The generation of our fathers and grandfathers will end soon, and with them the memories. Another couple of generations and the shezhire will be forgotten. We would like to preserve this heritage of ancient civilizations.


To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная Междисциплинарные исследования Этнография Кочевая цивилизация и шежире

Кочевая цивилизация и шежире

08 Августа 2013
1261
0

Кочевая цивилизация и шежире

Большинство древних цивилизаций: Египет, Междуречье, Древняя Греция, Рим, Китай и др. возникли в субтропическом поясе. Климатические условия субтропиков определяют наиболее эффективным видом ведения хозяйства - земледелие. Эти цивилизации, возникшие в разных местах и в разное время, формировались вокруг определенных центров, где в последствии мы находим большое количество памятников материальной культуры. Главной ценностью их была плодородная земля. И все отношения в обществе строились на основе собственности этой земли. Большая концентрация населения на протяжении многих веков создавала эти уникальные очаги древних цивилизаций.

В отличие от земледельческих цивилизаций кочевая культура возникла в степи. Если посмотреть на карту, то видно, что значительную часть Евразии занимают степи. Степь - это место проживания тюркских народов. За тысячелетия до нашей эры здесь возникла такая форма ведения хозяйства как кочевое скотоводство. Оно сохранилось до наших дней, так как является наиболее оптимальным способом жизни в степи. Все пастбища были разделены между родами. Объединение людей по родовому признаку давало ряд преимуществ: легче было удерживать территорию, легче вести хозяйство.

В условиях кочевого скотоводства структурной единицей государства был род. Имущественное и социальное положение каждого человека определялось его положением внутри рода. Во время военных действий каждый род выставлял определенное количество воинов. Внутри рода все дела решал глава рода. Большие рода подразделялись на подрода, рода же в свою очередь объединялись в союзы родов - жузы. Глава государства каган или хан решал все основные вопросы управления государством с главами родов и жузов. Эта структура была неизменной на протяжении столетий. Поэтому для каждого индивидуума было жизненно важно знать свою принадлежность к роду. Без принадлежности к своему роду человек был выкинут из жизни общества.

Кочевое скотоводство не требуя больших затрат людских резервов, дает большой прирост продукта. При правильном ведении хозяйства, скот быстро размножался и с избытком обеспечивал кочевников всем необходимым - пищей, одеждой, жильем. Поэтому часть высвободившихся людей могло осваивать другие виды деятельности: добыча и обработка металлов, деревообработка, изготовление керамики, выделка кож и тканей, войлочное производство, ювелирное искусство, медицина, астрономия, наука и религия. В оазисах степи, где были подходящие условия, развивалось земледелие. Там население вело оседлый образ жизни, строились города. Наличие оседлой и кочевой части населения вело к различиям в производстве продуктов и как следствие к возникновению товарообмена и развитию торговли.

Наличие свободных человеческих ресурсов в степи с хорошо развитыми навыками преодоления больших расстояний, развитое коневодство и верблюдоводство, изобретение колеса и повозки привело к интенсивному развитию торговли. Так возник Великий Шелковый путь, который просуществовал более трех тысячелетий, вплоть до 16 века нашей эры, пока не был проложен морской путь из Европы в Азию и открыта Америка.

Казахи все до единого бережно хранят свою генеалогию. Это сидит глубоко в подсознании даже современных казахов. Люди не всегда отдают себе отчет для чего они хранят свои шежире, но они твердо уверены, что это очень важно. И пусть многие не знают наизусть всю свою родословную, но они однозначно знают к какому роду принадлежат. В каждой казахской семье есть шежире. Шежире - это генеалогические записи. Они передаются от отца к сыну и состоят из нескольких поколений предков мужской линии. Иногда в эти записи включают и наиболее выдающихся женщин. Кроме имен эти записи содержат биографии, историю и географию наиболее значимых событий, легенды. Часто в семье хранят как реликвии вещи своих предков: книги, седла, одежду, украшения и т.д. Нередко это вещи 16-18 веков. Знание своей родословной казахами является естественной вещью и не воспринимается как что-то необычное. Но если посмотреть на это с точки зрения других народов, то это явление выглядит неординарно. Многие наши друзья не казахи очень удивилялись, узнав, что мы знаем около тридцати поколений своих предков.

Современное положение с генеалогическим наследием казахов неоднозначно. С одной стороны, историки собирают шежире, изучают, казахоязычные СМИ публикуют много интересного материала на эту тему. Но в связи с тем, что в современном казахстанском обществе, подавляющее количество населения русскоязычное, включая самих казахов, эти СМИ не имеют достаточной аудитории. В русскоязычных СМИ, которые имеют и популярность, и влияние, эта тема практически не затрагивается. Народные инициативы заключаются в том, что представители больших родов, таких как найманы, джалаиры, аргыны и другие издают книги о генеалогии своего рода, содержащих по 40 - 50 тысяч имен. Официальные структуры отмалчиваются, боясь трайбализма, раскола внутри казахов по жузовой и родовой принадлежности. Конечно, это и наследие советских времен, когда это было запретной темой и влияние СМИ, которые, спекулируя популярностью шежире, пишут скандальные статьи о том, что чиновники тайно проводят кадровую политику по родовой принадлежности.

Богатое наследие досталось нам от древних цивилизаций, существовавших в Степи. Много белых пятен, временных искажений, многое не понято. Мы хотим внести свой вклад в изучение и популяризацию истории и культуры казахского и других тюркских народов в целях взаимопонимания, взаимообогащения и сближения людей. В последнее время с угасанием кочевой цивилизации теряются и ее ценности. Уходит поколение наших дедов и отцов, а с ними и память. Еще пару поколений и забудутся шежире. Нам хотелось бы сохранить это наследие древних цивилизаций

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь