Home History of Kazakhstan Ancient Kazakhstan Tribal alliances and early states on the territory of Kazakhstan Division of the Karakhanids into two Kaganates

Division of the Karakhanids into two Kaganates

28 October 2014
677
0

During the reign of Ibrahim ibn Nasser, Karakhanids were divided into two independent Khanates — Eastern and Western. Ibrahim Tamgach Bogra-Khan moved the capital of the Western Khanate from Uzgend to Samarkand and annexed Fergana. The western Khanate with the center in Bukhara comprised the territories of Mawerannahr up to Khujand, and the eastern Khanate comprised Taraz Isfijab, Shash, Ferghana, Seven Rivers and Kashgar, with the capital in Balasagun.

In 1042, the leader of the Eastern Kanagat, Arslan Khan Suleiman (Sharaf al-Dawla), divided the land among the members of his dynasty, leaving himself Kashgar and Balasagun [1]. This was the beginning of the legal acknowledgement of the actual break-up of the state into independent and semi-independent domains. However, the struggle for power did not stop there: in 1056, Yagan-Tegin Muhammad Bogra-Khan defeated his brother, Arslan Khan, and took his possessions, but then he was poisoned. Afterwards, the head of state was proclaimed the son of Bogra-Khan, Ibrahim, who died soon in the war with the Barskhan ruler, Yinal-Tegin.

Afterwards, in the eastern Kaganate, for 15 years, from 1059 to 1074, the leaders of the Khanate were the sons of Kadyr Khan, Yusuf Togrul Khan and Bograkhan Harun. The border between these two Kaganates was along the Syr-Darya River [2].

When the son of Togrul-Khan, Togrul-Tegin, ascended to the throne, two months later, he was replaced by the uncle of Togrul-Tegin, Bogra-Khan Harun (1074–1102), who possessed the land of Balasagun, Kashgan and Khotan.

During his leadership in 1089, the state of Karakhanids was hit by the Seljuk Sultan, Malik Shah (1072–1092), who invaded Samarkand. After the army reached Uzgend, Bogra Khan surrendered, acknowledging himself a vassal of Malik Shah. Thus, Kharakhanid state fell under the supreme power of Seljukids, but they continued to appoint only agreeable khans from among the members of the Kharakhanid dynasty.
At the same time, Kashgar was besieged by Togrul (possibly, he was the son of Tegin). Bogra-Khan Harun was taken prisoner, but was soon released thanks to the intercession of Yakub, the ruler of Atbashi. Malik Shah concluded an agreement with Yakub and left Uzgend.

In 1102, after the death of Bogra-Khan, the ruler of Taraz and Balasagun, Kadyr-Khan Jabrail rebelled against Seljuks. Capturing all the land up to the Amu Darya, he tried to conquer the Seljuk Termez, but he was defeated, captivated and executed [3].

During the reign of Sultan Sanjar (1118–1157), Seljukids had maximum influence in Mawerannahr. During this period, there was a political decline of Karakhanids.

By the resolution of the Seljuk Sultan, Sanjar, the great-grandson of Ibrahim Tamgach-KhanArslan-Khan (1102–1130) was appointed governor of Mawerannahr, who tried to pursue an independent policy. He appointed his son, Nasser, to be a co-governer, but the Muslim clergy tops conspired and Nasser was killed. Then, Arslan-Khan called for the help of Sultan Sanjar, who raided with his army to Maweranahr, besieged Samarkand in 1130, and took it. Arslan Khan, who suffered from a serious illness, died shortly after in Balkh.

In the first half of the 12th century, the state of Karakhanids descended from the historical scene. This happened because of the attack by Karakitays (Khitans), who conquered the Seven Rivers Regions with Balasagun and all the domains of the eastern Karakhanids, after which they began to claim the western domains of the state.

After the defeat of the Karakhanid-Seljuk troops in 1141, the power over the state of the two khanates of Karakhanids went to Karakitays. In 1210, after Karakitays defeated Naimans, the eastern Karakhanid dynasty ceased to exist. In 2012, the Khorezm Shah Muhammad killed the last western Kagan, Osman from Samarkand.



1. Ibn al-Asir. Al-kamilfi-t-tarikh, IX, p. 356.
2. V. V. Bartold. History Essays of the Seven River Region. // Essays, v. II, p. I. M., 1963, p. 44.
3. Ibn al-Asir. Al-kamilfi-t-tarikh, Volume X, p. 239–240.

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в древности Союзы племен и ранние государства на территории Казахстана Разделение государства на два каганата

Разделение государства на два каганата

28 Октября 2014
1270
0

При Ибрахиме ибн Наср произошло окончательное разделение Караханидов на два самостоятельных каганата – Восточный и Западный. Ибрахим Тамгач Богра-хан перенес столицу Западного каганата из Узгенда в Самарканд и присоединил Фергану к своим владениям. Если к западному ханству с центром в Бухаре относились территории Мавераннахра вплоть до Ходжента, то к восточному относились Тараз, Испиджаб, Шаш, Фергана, Семиречье и Кашгар со столицей в Баласагуне.

В 1042 году лидер Восточного каганата Арслан-хан Сулейман (Шараф ад-Даула) разделил земли между членами своей династии, оставив себе Кашгар и Баласагун [1]. Так начинается юридическое закрепление фактического распада государства на самостоятельные и полузависимые уделы. Но с этим борьба за власть не прекратилась: в 1056 году Яган-тегин Мухаммад Богра-хан разгромил своего брата, Арслан-хана и его владения, но затем был отравлен. После этого в качестве главы государства был провозглашен сын Богра-хана, Ибрагим, который вскоре погиб в войне с барсханским правителем Йинал-тегином.

После этого в Восточном каганате в течение 15 лет, с 1059 по 1074 годы, руководителями каганата были сыновья Кадыр-хана Юсуфа Тогрул-хан и Бограхан Харун. При них граница между двумя каганатами проходила по реке Сырдарье [2].

После того, как на престол взошел сын Тогрул-хана, Тогрул-тегин, спустя два месяца его сменил дядя Тогрул-тегина, Богра-хан Харун (1074-1102), в ведении которого были земли Баласагуна, Кашгана и Хотана.

Во время его лидерства в 1089 году государству караханидов пришлось принять удар со стороны сельджукского султана Малик-шаха (1072-1092), который захватил Самарканд. После того, как войско дошло до Узгенда, Богра-хан вынужден сдаться, признав себя вассалом Малик-шаха. Таким образом, Караханидское государство подпало под верховную власть Сельджукидов, но они ограничились назначением угодных им ханов из числа членов караханидской династии.

В это же время Кашгар был осажден Тогрулом (возможно, он был сыном Тегина). Богра-хан Харун был взят в плен, но вскоре был отпущен благодаря заступничеству Якуба, владетеля Атбаши. Малик-шах заключил соглашение с Якубом и покинул Узгенд.

В 1102 году после смерти Богра-хана владетель Тараза и Баласагуна Кадыр-хан Джабраил восстал против сельджуков. Захватив все земли до Амударьи, он пытался захватить у Сельджукидов Термез, но потерпел поражение, был взят в плен и казнен [3].

При правлении султана Санджара (1118-1157 гг.) сельджукиды добились максимального влияния в Мавераннахре. В этот период наметился политический упадок караханидов.

Распоряжением сельджукского султана Санджара правителем Мавераннахра был назначен правнук Ибрахима Тамгач-хана Арслан-хан (1102-1130 гг.), который попытался вести независимую политику. Он назначил соправителем своего сына Насра, но в результате заговора верхушки мусульманского духовенства Наср был убит. Тогда Арслан-хан призвал на помощь султана Санджара, тот двинулся с войском в Мавераннахр, осадил Самарканд в 1130 году, взял его. Арслан-хан, страдавший тяжелым недугом, вскоре скончался в Балхе.

В первой половине XII века государство Караханидов фактически сошло с исторической сцены. Это произошло в результате нападения каракитаев (киданей), завоевавших Семиречье с Баласагуном, а затем и все владения восточных караханидов, после чего они начали претендовать на западные владения государства.

После разгрома караханидо-сельджукского войска в 1141 году власть над обоими ханствами государства караханидов перешла к каракитаям. В 1210 году после того как каракитаи одержали победу над найманами, восточная караханидская династия прекратила свое существование. А в 1212 году Хорезм-шах Мухаммед убил последнего западного кагана Османа из Самарканда.


1.  Ибн ал-Асир. Ал-камил фи-т-тарих, IX, с. 356.
2.  Бартольд В. В. Очерки истории Семиречья // Соч., т. II, ч. I. М., 1963, с. 44.

3.  Ибн ал-Асир. Ал-камил фи-т-тарих, т. X, с. 239-240.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь