Home History of Kazakhstan Ancient Kazakhstan Tribal alliances and early states on the territory of Kazakhstan Economy of Kipchaks

Economy of Kipchaks

28 October 2014
642
0

09 January 2015

The wealth of Kipchaks was measured not only by the territory, but also by herds. A horse was the most valuable animal in the conditions of nomadic life. Mobility and endurance of this animal served in the war and in hunting. Mare’s milk was used in production of curative drink — kumyz. The horse meat was preferable rather than beef and mutton among nomads as it was very healthy.

Kipchak racers were very demanded not only locally, but also in other states. So, the horses taken out from Desht-i Kipchak cost at least «hundred dinars of silver» for an ordinary horse, and from 500 and above for a good racer [1]. Depending on belonging to one of numerous breeding groups, horses differentiated by the original color. Sometimes named of these or those horses were determined by color of a horse (for example, the tribe of "bulanoloshadnik" (kulabaogly) was a part of Western Kipchak union).

As an example, the fact of donation in 1223 of Mongolian commander Dzhuchi to his father Genghis Khan of 20 thousand white Kipchak horses, from Desht-i Kipchak [2].

Nomads of that time bred not only horses, but also sheep, cows, bulls and camels. As the result of sheep breeding not only the reserves of meat and fat had been increased, but also winter clothes from wool and sheepskin both for soldiers and for population were sewed.

Moreover, poor people, who had no cattle, used to grew up grain and bean crops, mostly millet. The researcher of 12th century Petakhya, after his visit in Desht-i Kipchak wrote: "bread is not popular in this land, only rice and millet" [3].

One of sources of existence of Kipchak was fishing, also hunting with use of falcons, hawks, golden eagles and hounds of dogs. Along with individual hunting the type of hunting for large animal where it was expelled from its place was practiced. It was organized as a special training of military skills.

Furs of sables, foxes, martens and ermines (which according to Mahmoud Kashgaria called "idzhuk" at Turkic peoples, and on the Arab sources, "course") were the most valuable goods which were exported to other countries.

Despite continuous wars, trade ways between countries of Eastern Europe, the Caucasus, the Volga Bulgaria, Byzantium, Central Asia and China had special value for Kipchak khans. In Old Russian chronicles the episode when merchants easily moved to the heat of military operations on Kipchak stays was recorded. Other sources also witness about big scales of international trade and stable transit through Desht-i Kypshak in the 11th-12th centuries.

Kipchaks used to wander during the summer on coast of Volga, the Urals, Tobol and Irtysh. During winter they used to stay on coast of Syr-Darya, the Aral and Caspian seas. These stable routes helped in creation of most various internal communications among Desht-i Kochak nomads, by promoting unity of language, traditions, political ideology, spiritual outlook and economic relations. Scientists worldwide recognize Kazakhs as linear descendants of Kipchaks.


Literature:

1. Ibn Battuta. Tuhfan-nuzzar fi garaib Al-amsar// Volume 1, page 287.
2. V. Bartold, Turkestan during an era of the Mongolian invasion, Composition 1, p. 522.
3. P. Margolin, Three Jewish travelers of 11th- 12th centuries, 1881, p. 4.

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в древности Союзы племен и ранние государства на территории Казахстана Хозяйство кыпчаков

Хозяйство кыпчаков

28 Октября 2014
1183
0

Богатство кыпчаков измерялось не только территорией, но и стадами.

В условиях кочевого быта ценнейшим животным считалась лошадь. Подвижность и выносливость этого животного служила на войне и в облавной охоте. Из молока кобылиц изготовляли целебный напиток – кумыс, конина пользовалась большой популярностью среди кочевников благодаря хорошим мясо-сальным качествам. Ее кыпчаки предпочитали говядине и баранине.

На кыпчакских скакунов был высокий спрос не только в сопредельных, но и в отдаленных странах. Так, лошади, вывозимые из Дешт-и Кыпчака в Индию, стоили не менее «ста динаров серебром» за рядового коня, и от 500 и выше – за хорошего скакуна [1]. В зависимости от принадлежности к одной из многочисленных племенных единиц, лошади отличались своей оригинальной мастью. Подчас по масти лошади определялись названия тех или иных племен (к примеру, племя «буланолошадников» (кулабаоглы) входило в состав западнокыпчакского объединения).

Уместно также привести в качестве примера факт дарения в 1223 году монгольским полководцем Джучи своему отцу Чингисхану 20 тысяч белых кыпчакских конеq, пригнанных из Дешт-и Кыпчака [2].

Кроме лошадей, кочевники того времени разводили овец, коров, быков и верблюдов. За счет овцеводства не только быстро восполнялись запасы мяса и жира, но и шилась теплая одежда из шерсти и овчины как для воинов, так и для населения.

Более бедные слои населения, у которых отсутствовал скот, выращивали зерновые и бобовые культуры, преимущественно просо. Исследователь XIIвека Петахья после пребывания в Дешт-и Кыпчаке писал: «хлеба не едят в этой земле, а только рис и просо» [3]. 

Одним из источников существования кыпчаков служили рыбалка, а также охота с использованием соколов, ястребов, беркутов и гончих собак. Наряду с индивидуальной охотой практиковалась и облавная, которая являлась своеобразной тренировкой военных навыков.

Пушнина соболей, лисиц, куниц и горностаев (которая по Махмуду Кашгари у тюрков называлась «иджук», а по арабским источникам, «курс») была ценнейшим товаром, который вывозился в другие страны.

Несмотря на постоянные войны, торговые пути между странами Восточной Европы, Кавказом, Волжской Булгарией, Византией, Средней Азией и Китаем имели особое значение для кыпчакских ханов. В древнерусских летописях зафиксирован эпизод, когда в самый разгар боевых действий купцы беспрепятственно перемещались по кыпчакским кочевьям. Другие источники также свидетельствуют о больших масштабах международной торговли и стабильном транзите через Дешт-и Кыпшак в XI-XII веках.

Кыпчаки, кочевавшие летом на берегах Волги, Урала, Тобола, Иртыша, зимовали на берегах Сырдарьи, Аральского и Каспийского морей. Эти стабильные маршруты способствовали порождению самых разнообразных внутренних связей среди кочевников Дешт-и Кыпчака, способствуя единству языка, традиций, политической идеологии, духовного мировоззрения, хозяйственных отношений. Как единодушно признают ученые всего мира, казахский народ стал одним из прямых потомков кыпчаков.


1.  Ибн Баттута. Тухфатан-нуззар фи гараиб ал-амсар. //СК ИЗО, т. 1, с. 287.
2.  Бартольд В.В. Туркестан в эпоху монгольского нашествия. Соч. I, с. 522.

3.  Марголин П.В. Три еврейских путешественника XI-XII вв. Ч. III, СПб, 1881. – С. 4.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь