Home History of Kazakhstan Ancient Kazakhstan Tribal alliances and early states on the territory of Kazakhstan Political Structure of Kimaks

Political Structure of Kimaks

28 October 2014
590
0

The Kimaks ruler was powerful. With the social and political development of the Kimaks society from a tribe to a state formation, a gradation was observed in the hierarchy from leaders of the lower level (Shad-tutuk) to the highest leader (the Kagan). In comparative terms, the nobility of the ancient Turks was characterized by the following gradation: Shad, Yabgu (Ulug Shad), Kichig Kagan, Ulug Kagan. Within his territory, the Kagan could appoint governors (owners of domains), selecting them from the tribal nobility.

The institution of hereditary succession of power was not only within the Kagan’s and the Khan’s family, but also within the tribal nobility. Therefore, the domains of 11 rulers of the Kimaks Kagan were inherited by the children of these rulers [1].

The confederation of Kimaks tribes was not a formation based on family ties and kinship. It was based on the principles of territorial-administrative relations. In social terms, the Kimak union was over the tribal structures, and the tribes there were interrelated by hierarchical and vassal relations strictly regulated by the customs of the society [2].

The patriarchal and feudal relations in the Kimaks society served as the basis for the creation of large tribes, which in turn resulted in the emergence of a domain and tribe system. The chiefs of large tribes (which are both rulers and military leaders) received domains from the Kagan for their service, seeking to strengthen individual nomadic domains and to strengthen their political weight. Specific ownership exhibited king as a certain number of troops.

Some rulers became the semi-dependent khans seeking to seize the supreme power in the state under favorable circumstances. However, it was not so easy: the Kagan carefully planned both the policy of retaining the power inside the state and the foreign policy. This contributed to successful campaigns in the south, where they seized the lands of Tokuz-Guzes (the city of Karantia located on the southeastern shore of Lake Gagan, modern Alakol), and raided the city of Jamlekes in East Turkistan [3] and in the territory of the Yenisei Kyrgyzes.

The residence of the rulers were the cities surrounded by walls. Such castles and fortresses were located mainly in high places where the rulers maintained numerous troops. They kept their riches and warehouses in inaccessible, carefully protected mountain areas.

The horde of the Kagan was in the city of Imekia surrounded by a fortified wall with iron gates [4]. The city had the troops and the treasury. There were no differences between the Kagan’s power and the state power. According to the 9th century Persian researcher Gardizi, ordinary people «tended cattle for their masters», «preparing for the winter, they (Kimaks) prepared dried meat of lamb, horse, or cow, each according to their wealth» [5].




1. V. V. Bartold. Hudud al-alam, Sheet 18 b.

2. History of Kazakhstan: Lectures / edited by K. S. Karazhan.  Almaty: NURPRESS, 2011. 432 pp.  P. 47

3. Minorsky v. Hududal-Alam, p. 306.

4. Minorsky v. Hududal-Alam. The Region of the World. A Persian Geography 372 A. h  982 A. D. London, 1937. p 310; al-Idrisi. Nuzkhat ach-mushtak, s. 68 b.

5. V. V. Bartold, Extraction from the composition of Gardizi, page 84, 107.

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в древности Союзы племен и ранние государства на территории Казахстана Политическое устройство Кимакского каганата

Политическое устройство Кимакского каганата

28 Октября 2014
1493
0

Могущество кимакского правителя было значительным. По мере социального и политического развития кимакского общества от племени до государственного образования наблюдалось постепенное движение по иерархической лестнице от глав низшей ступени (шад-тутук) к высшей (каган). В сравнительном плане для знати древних тюрков была характерна следующая градация: шад, ябгу (улуг шад), кичиг каган, улуг каган. В пределах территории своего государства каган мог назначать правителей (владельцев уделов), выбирая их среди представителей племенной знати.

Институт наследственной передачи власти имел место не только внутри каганской семьи и ханского рода, но и наблюдался у племенной знати. Так, уделы 11 управителей кимакского кагана передавались по наследству детям этих управителей [1].

Конфедерация кимекских племен не была образованием, основанным на кровно-родственных связях. Она базировалась на принципах территориально-административных отношений. В социальном плане объединение кимаков стояло над родоплеменными структурами, а племена в нем были связаны между собой иерархическими и вассальными отношениями, строго регламентированными устоями общества [2].

Патриархально-феодальные отношения в кимекском обществе послужили основой создания крупных племен, что в свою очередь привело к зарождению удельно-племенной системы. Главы крупных племен (которые одновременно являлись управителями и военными вождями) получали от хакана за службу уделы, стремясь к укреплению индивидуальных кочевых хозяйств и упрочению своего политического веса. Удельные владения выставляли кагану определенное количество войск. 

Некоторые управители становились полузависимыми ханами, стремившихся при благоприятном стечении обстоятельств к захвату верховной власти в государстве. Но это было не так-то просто: каган тщательно продумывал как политику удержания власти внутри своего государства, так и во внешней политике. Этим и обусловлены успешные походы на юг, где, завладев землями токузогузов (город Карантия, расположенный на юго-восточном берегу озера Гаган, современный Алаколь), они совершали набеги на город Джамлекес в Восточном Туркестане [3] и на территории енисейских кыргызов.

В качестве резиденции управителей служили города, окруженные стенами. Такие замки-крепости располагались главным образом на возвышенных местах, в которых правители содержали многочисленные войска. В неприступных, тщательно охраняемых горных областях хранились богатство и склады.

Орда кагана располагалась в городе Имекия, окруженном укрепленной стеной с железными воротами [4]. В городе находились войска и казна. Отличий между каганской и государственной властью не было. По мнению персидского исследователя XI века Гардизи, обычный народ «пас табуны для своих господ», «на зиму они (кимеки) заготовляют сушеное мясо, баранье, лошадиное или коровье, каждый по мере своих средств» [5].


1.  Бартольд В. В. Худуд ал-алам, л. 18 б.
2.  История Казахстана: Курс лекций / под ред. К. С. Каражана. – Алматы: Изд-во NURPRESS, 2011. – 432 с. – С. 47
3.  Minorsky V. Hudud al-Alam, p. 306.
4.  Minorsky V. Hudud al-Alam. The Region of the World. A Persian Geography 372 A. h – 982 A.D. London, 1937. P 310; ал-Идриси. Нузхат ач-муштак, л. 68 б.

5.  Бартольд В.В. Извлечение из сочинения Гардизи, с. 84, 107.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
Опрос

Интересуетесь ли Вы историей Независимого Казахстана?