Home History of Kazakhstan Ancient Kazakhstan Tribal alliances and early states on the territory of Kazakhstan Political system of Karakhanids

Political system of Karakhanids

28 October 2014
599
0

09 January 2015

The political system of Karakhanid’s state was created in process of the statement of the power on the conquered lands. Ancient Turk’s root of Turgesh, especially khanate of Karluk is the basis of their tradition. The basis of their tradition takes roots from ancient Turk, Turgesh and especially Karluk’s khanate. However, Karakhanids inherited also other traditions of the people subdued by them. External Supreme power in the state was patriarchal (tribal), although, in reality, it was based on the principle of feudal hierarchy.

At an early stage of history of Karakhanid state the power over the conquired areas belonged to leaders of the largest and strong ethno-political associations, first of all leaders chigily and yagma which is confirmed by the set of titles of supreme Karakhanid’s leaders, who were named the titles "arslan" ("lion") and "bogra" ("camel"). Genesis of the titles goes back to very ancient totemic representation. However, in the conditions of development of the social relations these and other honorary titles already reflected hierarchical structure of the political power

The governor chigily worn the title of the arlan-khan (arslan kara-hakan), and the title of bogra (bogra kara-hakan) — the leader of yagma. Arslan kara-hakan was considered as the chief governor, and bogra kara-hakan, perhaps, was the co-governor. In the hierarchy of titles the general titles at different stages was not identical, value of separate titles had changed [1].

Land considered as the property of a ruling dynasty. Kagan was the supreme khan. He often had the status of the tamgach-khan [2]. Hakan, who called "the governor of the world" (azun tutkuchi), had staff court and officials (tapukchi). One of the person who was close to khan was vizier, he compared to stableman, and people with a horse that stand by the gate of the palace [3].

Vizier was close to status of kol-erkin, which existed in Karluk’s khanate. According to Mahmoud Kashgari, kol-erkin were advisers and co-rulers, or supreme governor and were characterized as "mind full, like a lake"[4].

The Karakhanidsky state in fact had specific feudal system with division into large and more small-sized areas — destinies at the head of which there were local governors (most often, representatives of a ruling dynasty) who were often wearing the title "ilik". Such system generated the civil strifes which were accompanied by frequent change of governors. Possessors of large and economically developed provinces usually only nominally recognized the power of the syuzeren.

Karakhanid state in fact had specific feudal system with division into large and more small-sized areas, they were headed by local governors (most often, representatives of a ruling dynasty), who had a title "ilik". Such system generated the infighting, which were accompanied by frequent change of governors. Owners of large and economically developed provinces usually nominally recognized the power of their suzerains.

Literature:

1. History of Kazakhstan: from ancient times up to now in five volumes. Almaty: «Atamura» publishing house, 2010. Volume 1, page 544 – 402.

2. V. Bartold, Sketches of history of Semirechya//Volume 2, part 1, 1963, page 41–47.

3. Yusuf Balasagun. Useful knowledge, 1983, page 187.

4. Mahmoud Al-Kashgari. Divan luga tat-turk, Volume 1, page 107–118.

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to National Digital History portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to kaz.ehistory@gmail.com or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Quiz

Are you interested in the history of independent Kazakhstan?

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в древности Союзы племен и ранние государства на территории Казахстана Политическое устройство караханидов

Политическое устройство караханидов

28 Октября 2014
1266
0

Политический строй государства караханидов формировался по мере утверждения власти на завоеванных землях. В основе традиций лежат древнетюркские корни Тюргешского и особенно Карлукского каганатов. Но караханиды унаследовали и другие традиции покоренных ими народов. Внешне верховная власть в государстве была облачена в патриархальную (родоплеменную) оболочку. Но в действительности она базировалась на принципе феодальной иерархии.

На раннем этапе истории Караханидского государства власть над завоеванными областями принадлежала предводителям самых крупных и сильных этнополитических объединений, в первую очередь вождям чигилей и ягма, что подтверждается титулатурой верховных караханидских правителей, которые именовались титулами «арслан» («лев») и «богра» («верблюд»). Генезис титулов восходит к очень древним тотемическим представлениям, но в условиях развития социальных отношений эти и другие почетные звания уже отражали иерархическую структуру политической власти. 

Титул арслан-хана (арслан кара-хакан) носил правитель чигилей, а титул богра (богра кара-хакан) – вождь ягма. Арслан кара-хакан считался главным правителем, а богра кара-хакан, возможно, являлся его соправителем. В иерархии титулатуры общий набор употребляемых титулов на разных этапах не был одинаковым, значение отдельных титулов менялось [1].

Земли считались собственностью правящей династии. Всем государством правил хан ханов, верховный каган, который чаще всего имел статус тамгач-хана [2]. Хакан, гиперболически именовавшийся «правителем мира» (азун туткучи), имел штат придворных и чиновников (тапукчи). Одним из наиболее приближенных к хану людей был везир, который в источниках нередко сравнивается с конюхом, а народ – с конем, стоящим наготове у ворот дворца [3]. 

Везир был близок к должности коль-эркина, существовавшей у карлуков. По мнению Махмуда кашгари, коль-эркин являлись советниками-соправителями, или наместниками верховного правителя, и характеризовались как «ум полный, подобный озеру» [4].

Караханидское государство по сути имело удельную феодальную систему с делением на крупные и более мелкие области – уделы, во главе которых были местные правители (чаще всего, представители правящей династии), часто носившие титул «илик». Такая система порождала междоусобицы, сопровождавшиеся частой сменой правителей. Владетели крупных и экономически развитых провинций обычно лишь номинально признавали власть своих сюзеренов. 


1.  История Казахстана: с древнейших времен до наших дней в пяти томах. – Алматы: Изд-во «Атамұра», 2010. Том 1. 544 с. – С. 402.
2.  Бартольд В.В. Очерки истории Семиречья// Соч., т. II, ч. I. М., 1963. – С. 41-47.
3.  Юсуф Баласагунский. Благодатное знание. М., 1983. – С. 187.

4.  Махмуд ал-Кашгари. Диван луга тат-турк, т. 1, С. 107-118.

Для копирования и публикации материалов необходимо письменное либо устное разрешение редакции или автора. Гиперссылка на портал National Digital History обязательна. Все права защищены Законом РК «Об авторском праве и смежных правах». kaz.ehistory@gmail.com 8(7172) 79 82 06 (внутр. – 111)

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь
Опрос

какая историческая кинокартина о казахско-джунгарских войнах вам понравилась больше всего?