Home History of Kazakhstan Ancient Kazakhstan Tribal alliances and early states on the territory of Kazakhstan The Huns

The Huns

29 July 2013
3030
0

In the history the name of  Huns is widely known. The name of the disappeared nation  associates with eagerness to fight, cruelty and barbarity. Huns led by Atilla did devastating attacks on the European countries, they began great resettlement of the people. All these are familiar events of the European history.  Asian tribes of the Huns living in Central Asia and in the territory of Kazakhstan in the last centuries BC — the first centuries AD are less known. In the historical literature, they are known as the Xiongnu or the Huns.

The sources tell about the relationship between Hun and Kanguy.

In 55 g there was a division of the powerful Hunn  state into two parts — southern and northern. In northwest Mongolia near the lake Kyrgyz Nur the lord of northern Huns Chzhichzhi founded the residence. From here they made attacks to  the next tribes of  the Usuns. China was in the hostile relations with Chzhichzhi, especially after  Chzhichzhi ‘s order to kill the Chinese official and the ambassador. Sharp rivalry happened between it and head of the southern Huns. In these conditions for Chzhichzhi there was timely a proposal of the possessor of the state Kangyuy which was on coast of Syr-Darya, about the union and joint fight against the state Usun. He invited Chzhichzhi to his east possession — in the Talass valley and provided him  the right to order a kangyuy cavalry. Besides, I gave shany in the wife the daughter, I presented some thousand camels, donkeys, horses. The Kangyuy possessor hoped that Chzhichzhi will soon break army of  Usuns and will take their possession in a valley Ili and Chu. However Chzhichzhi couldn't crush the usuns. Become  conflict between him and deceived in their hopes Kangyuy aristocrats. Soon there was a gap. According to the chroniclers, Shanyu refused to submit to the customs of  kangyuy, "in anger killed the daughter of  Kangyuy Duke, as well as famous people and hundreds of ordinary people, or throwing them into the river Dalai (Talas)." For it Chzhichzhi was expelled from a rate of the kangyuy  possessor and went to upper courses of  Talas where began to build to own city.

Chzhichzhi's strengthening and his proceeding attacks to  usuns seriously disturbed the Chinese empire.Attempt to neutralize Chzhichzhi by diplomatic way didn't crown success, and Chinese began to prepare for war.

Soon the Chinese army acted in attacks. It moved in two ways. Three groups went in southern way through Kashgar, Fergana, passes Chanach on Chatkal  ridge and Karabura on Talass; three groups went in  northern way — from East Turkestan, probably, through the pass Bedel to the Issyk kul hollow where there was usun’s rate Chiguchen, then into the  Chu valley and to Talas. The troops joined at the walls of Chzhichzhi’s city.

Despite the heroic resistance of Huns, Chinese burned an external wooden wall, broke an earth shaft, rushed into the city, took a citadel. Chzhichzhi with confidants was captivated together with numerous relatives, sons, wives and eminent princes in number of 1518 people. All of them were decapitated.

The second wave of resettlement of Huns  began in 93. They moved to the west, submitting one tribes, entraining others, got to Syr-Darya, into Aral areas , the Central and the Western Kazakhstan. In the IV century AD they appeared in Europe.

According to the majority of researchers, Huns were pro-Turkic peoples and the beginning of a tyurkization of the east Iranian kangyuy tribes is connected with their penetration into Kazakhstan.

Since the first half of I millennium BC. changing physical types of  southern Kazakhstan tribes. Appear Mongolian physical characteristics.

Household of  Huns.

The leading role in Huns life took cattle breeding, especially horse breeding. Without horses the nomadic cattle breeding was impossible, in military campaigns horses not only bore on themselves horseback riders, but also supplied with food. Horses on the whole were small growth, thickset, rough brawny addition, with a short wide muzzle. They were hardy, easily climbed up on mountain more coolly and overcame water barriers. "In an ascension on slopes of mountains and descent from them at an entrance to the mountain rivers and an exit  from them a horse of the Middle kingdom concede to syunnuy horses" — the Chinese dignitary Ciao wrote . The sheep was also universal animal.  The economy system of Huns  can be called primitive, or extensive cattle breeding. They had settled life and agriculture. 

In sources it is reported that "in Northern lands the icy cold early comes and though it is inconvenient to sow millet, but in the earth of  Huns sowed".

Hunting also played in life of Huns large role. Sources report about it: "Boys can go astride sheep, pull bows  and shoot birds and mice; having a little grown up, they shoot foxes and hares whom use in food. On customs existing among them, in quiet time follow cattle and in passing hunt on birds and animals, supporting thus existence".

Handicrafts and trade.

The development  of Hun crafts is  known by the finds of metal, bone and horn, stone, clay and wood.  Existence of ceramics in burials, jugs, pots, the mugs made manually and on a potter's wheel, testifies to quite high level of development of potter's art.  Along with subjects of local production at excavation of  hun’s burials things of  an overseas origin meet. The part them got here as a result of trade: silk fabrics, the Chinese luxury goods from a tree, a varnish, a mirror, a hand-made article from nephrite.

Hun’s society.

In the Hun society features of the patriarchal-tribal relations were strong.  According to sources,  Huns  shared on 24 sorts . And at the head of  each sort there were chiefs of generations (elder).  There were a council of elders and the national assembly.  Sources report that " Huns had a usage to go to Luntsi three times in a year where in the first, fifth and ninth moon, in day, under the name "syuy" made a sacrifice to spirit of the sky. At these meetings chiefs of generations argued on public affairs, were amused a horse gallop and run of camels".However in a subsoil of a patrimonial system lines of the new public relations already ripened.  In the basis of this process lay the development of production and relations of production. One of the reasons was the development of trade and commerce. Products from the gold, expensive overseas goods found at excavation, testify the increased requirements of  an upper crust.

Sources report about existence among huns the  family and personal property to cattle private. Besides personal property to cattle in sources there is an instruction on personal property to the earth.

"Everyone too — is told in sources — has the allocated ground" which as some researchers believe, undoubtedly, treat individual farms.

Huns had  slaves who were formed from number of war  prisoners and the population of subject areas.  They were used as house servants, as shepherds, handicraftsmen and grain-growers.

Written sources report also about a form of the power and in hun society. At the head of the country was  Shanyu, who  was unlimited ruler. After Shanyu  were the lords who wore the common name myriarchs.  Under certificates of written sources, they were sons, brothers or close relatives of shanyu.  Total myriarchs was 24, and each of them had his own plot of  land for nomadic camps. In the sources, there is mention of  taxes, as a means of exploitation of the lower classes. 

The appearance of private ownership of  Hun cattle and land, the addition of a primitive bureaucratic apparatus, the introduction of taxes as a form of exploitation, distribution of  literature means thet  they marked a transition to a new stage - a class society and the state. 


Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в древности Союзы племен и ранние государства на территории Казахстана Хунну

Хунну

29 Июля 2013
3081
0

В истории широко известно имя гуннов. Название исчезнувшего народа ассоциируется с воинственностью, жестокостью и варварством. Гунны во главе с Атиллой делали опустошительные набеги на европейские страны, они положили начало великому переселению народов. Все это знакомые события европейской истории. Менее известны азиатские племена гуннов, обитавших в Центральной Азии, в том числе, на территории Казахстана в последние века до н. э. — первые века н. э. В исторической литературе они известны под именем хунну или сюнну15.

В источниках сохранились сведения о взаимоотношениях хунну кангюями.

В 55 г. произошло разделение могущественного гуннского государства на две части — южную и северную. В северо-западной Монголии вблизи озера Кыргыз Нур властелин северных гуннов Чжичжи основал свою резиденцию. Отсюда он совершал походы а соседние племена усуней. Во враждебных отношениях с Чжичжи находился Китай, особенно после того, как тот приказал убить китайского чиновника и посла. Острое соперничество происходило между ним и главой южных гуннов. В этих условиях для Чжичжи оказалось своевременным предложение владетеля государства Кангюй, которое находилось на берегах Сырдарьи, о союзе и совместной борьбе с государством Усунь. Он пригласил Чжичжи свои восточные владения — в Таласскую долину и предоставил ему право командовать кангюйской кавалерией. Кроме того, отдал шаньюю в жены свою дочь, подарил несколько тысяч верблюдов, ослов, лошадей. Кангюйский владетель надеялся, что Чжичжи вскоре разобьет армию усуней, захватит их владения в долине Или и Чу. Однако Чжичжи не смог разгромить усуней. Назревал конфликт между ним и обманувшимися в своих надеждах кангюй-скими аристократами. Вскоре произошел разрыв. По словам летописцев, шаньюй отказался подчиниться обычаям кангюйцев, «в гневе убил дочь кангюйского князя, а также именитых людей и несколько сотен простого народа, или же бросал их в реку Далай (Талас)». За это Чжичжи был изгнан из ставки кангюйского владетеля и ушел в верховья Таласа, где стал строить себе город.

Усиление Чжичжи и его продолжающиеся набеги на усуней серьезно беспокоили Китайскую империю. Попытка нейтрализо­вать Чжичжи дипломатическим путем не увенчалась успехом, и китайцы стали готовиться к войне.

Вскоре китайское войско выступило в поход. Оно двигалось двумя путями. Три отряда шли южным путемчерез Кашгар, Фергану, перевалы Чанач на Чаткальском хребте и Карабура на Таласском; три отряда шли северным путем — из Восточного Туркестана, видимо, через перевал Бедель в Иссык-Кульскую котловину, где находилась ставка усуней Чигучен, затем в Чуйскую долину и к Таласу. Войска соединились у стен города Чжичжи.

Несмотря на героическое сопротивление гуннов, китайцы сожгли внешнюю деревянную стену, проломили земляной вал, ворвались в город, захватили цитадель. Чжичжи с приближенными был пленен вместе с многочисленной родней, сыновьями, женами и именитыми князьями в количестве 1518 чел. Все они были обезглавлены16.

Вторая волна переселения хунну началась в 93 г. н. э. Они двинулись на запад, покоряя одни племена, увлекая за собой другие, проникли на Сырдарью, в Приаралье, Центральный и Западный Казахстан. В IV в. н. э. они появились в Европе.

По мнению большинства исследователей, хунну были протюрками и с их проникновением в Казахстан связано начало тюркизации восточно-иранских племен кангюев. С первой половины I тыс. н. э. меняется антропологический тип племен Семиречья и Южного Казахстана, появляются монголоидные черты.

Хозяйство хунну. Главную роль в жизни хунну играло скотовод­ство, особенно коневодство. Без лошадей кочевое скотоводство было невозможным, в военных походах кони не только несли на себе всадников, но и снабжали пищей. Лошади в массе своей были небольшого роста, коренастые, грубого мускулистого сложения, с короткой широкой мордой. Они были выносливы, легко взбира­лись на горные кручи и преодолевали водные преграды. «В восхождении на склоны гор и спуске с них при входе в горные реки и выходе из них лошади Серединного царства уступают сюннуским», — писал китайский сановник Чао Ко.

Овца была также универсальным животным.

Система хозяйства хунну может быть названа первобытным, или экстенсивным скотоводством. У них существовала оседлость и земледелие. В источниках сообщается, что «в северных землях стужа рано наступает, и хотя неудобно сеять просо, но в земле гуннов сеяли».

Охота также играла в жизни гуннов большую роль. Об этом источники сообщают: «Мальчики могут ездить верхом на овцах, натягивать лук и стрелять птиц и мышей; немного подросши, они стреляют лисиц и зайцев, которых употребляют в пищу... По существующим среди них обычаям, в спокойное время следуют за скотом и попутно охотятся на птиц и зверей, поддерживая таким образом существование».

Ремесла и торговля. О развитии ремесел у хунну известно по находкам изделий из металла, кости и рога, камня, глины и дерева. Наличие в погребениях керамики, кувшинов, горшков, кружек, изготовленных вручную и на гончарном круге, свидетельствует о довольно высоком уровне развития гончарного искусства. Наряду с предметами местного производства при раскопках погребений хунну встречаются вещи иноземного происхождения. Часть их попадала сюда в результате торговли: шелковые ткани, китайские предметы роскоши из дерева, лака, зеркала, поделки из нефрита.

Общество хунну. Вхуннском обществе были сильны черты патриархально-родовых отношений. По сведениям источников, хунну делились на 24 рода, во главе которых стояли начальники поколений (старейшины). Имелись совет старейшин и народное собрание. Источники сообщают, что «у хунну было обыкновение три раза в году собираться в Лунци, где в первой, пятой и девятой луне, в день, под названием «сюй» приносили жертву духу неба... на сих собраниях начальники поколений рассуждали о государствен­ных делах, забавлялись конской скачкой и бегом верблюдов». Однако в недрах родового строя уже зрели черты новых обществен­ных отношений. В основе этого процесса лежало развитие произ­водства и производственных отношений. Одной из причин явилось развитие обмена и торговли. Изделия из золота, дорогие инозем­ные товары, найденные при раскопках, свидетельствуют о возро­сших потребностях верхушки общества.

Источники сообщают о существовании среди хунну частно-семейной и личной собственности на скот. Помимо личной собственности на скот в источниках имеется указание на личную собственность на землю. «Каждый тоже, — говорится в источни­ках, — имеет выделенный участок земли», которые, как полагают некоторые исследователи, несомненно, относятся к индивидуаль­ным хозяйствам17.

У хунну имелись рабы, которые формировались из числа военнопленных и населения подвластных областей. Они использо­вались в качестве домашней прислуги, в качестве пастухов, ремес­ленников и землепашцев.

Письменные источники сообщают также о форме власти и в хуннском обществе. Во главе страны стоял шаньюй, который был неограниченным властелином, за ним шли князья, носившие общее название темников. По свидетельствам письменных источ­ников, они являлись сыновьями, братьями или близкими род­ственниками шаньюя. Всего темников было 24, и каждый из них имел свой участок земли для кочевий. В источниках есть упомина­ние о налогах, как средстве эксплуатации низов.

Появление у хунну частной собственности на скот и землю, сложение примитивного бюрократического аппарата, введение налогов как формы эксплуатации, распространение письменности, знаменовали собой их переход к новому этапу — классовому обществу и государству.


© Институт истории и этнологии им.Ч.Ч. Валиханова КН МОН РК, 2013

Не допускается использование материалов на других веб-ресурсах без согласия авторского коллектива 


Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь