«We need to look into the past in order to understand the present and foresee the future»
N.A.Nazarbayev

Myths are dispelled

769
0

In 2006, the comedy documentary film «Borat», the protagonist travels from Kazakhstan to the U.S. to explore the American way of life.

f3a664128c694847062997956ff7434e.png

Although the subtitle of the film «Borat»: Cultural investigation of America for benefit of glorious nation of Kazakhstan» implied that it will be about — Kazakhstan, in fact the film is a parody of American social values.

But many viewers of the film have the impression about Kazakhstan as a country populated by people with a low level of culture.
The fact that the picture has received a negative response says that in a sporting event in Kuwait, a year earlier, during the awards ceremony, instead of the national anthem of Kazakhstan was music from the film.

But now, when the exhibition «Ancient Treasures of Kazakhstan» held in Washington, Americans have seen the true image of the «magnificent country» and changed their understanding of the culture of this nation.

Myth are dispelled

ce7b7112b51d35ed5be96a8e7fbaa367.png

Many of the artifacts of culture of nomadic tribes, never before demonstrated outside the country, is now on display in the exhibition halls Smithsonian’s Freer and Sackler Asian Art galleries.

The purpose of the exhibition is to dispel the myth that the nomads, wandering on the Eurasian steppes in the era of the Persian Empire, lagged in the cultural development of the sedentary peoples.

The first mention about Saks tribes we found in the Greek historian Herodotus, who called nomads fearless warriors. Monumental burial structures in the mountain valleys, known as barrows, prove how high the culture of Saks’ tribes was. Findings were discovered by archaeologists in these mounds, the images of wealthy ornaments made of bronze and gold are impressive.

«Those images of nomads, which we have known until now are not as accurate in the details», says chief curator Alex Nagel. «New research has made it clear that nomadic culture was much more complicated».

Protected by permafrost

03c504222d702a679d725fa3b4750eda.png

«The ability to track the unique cultural heritage dating from the first millennium BC, is important for the young independent Kazakhstan. At independence in 1991, Kazakhstan has actively uses its unique cultural heritage to form their own cultural identity».
«And they have resources to make it», said Simon Williams, the director of the British Council in Kazakhstan, the co-founder of the program of cooperation between the museum and the Museum of Archaeology of Kazakhstan, Washington. So, he is the author of the translation of texts about Kazakh museums into English language.

According to the Ministry of Culture in Kazakhstan about 136 museums were opened. There is a construction of a new museum in new capital Astana. The Ministry reports that it will be the largest museum in Central Asia. Its area is 85,000 square meters (915,000 square feet).

«The first years after independence were far not easy financially, but nonetheless found the new state funds for the study of major archaeological sites. Thus, in 1998, a discovery of Berel burial ground, which became a sensation in the late 20th century, was made — says Rosa Bektureeva, the head of the Museum of Archaeology of RSE „Gylym Ordasy“ MES.

In recent years, the government allocates huge funds for the development of science, particularly archeology, history, because we want more aware of their roots, spiritual and material culture of our ancestors. And we have to investigate the likelihood of more sites, thanks to modern technologies that were used during the excavations of Berel burial mounds in permafrost conditions, (and this is the remains of humans and animals, fragments of embroidered cloth)».

Silent conversation

cab00c2eea4a01df215f25269895146e.png

The relationship between man and horse is the central theme of the exhibition, which often raises more questions than answers.

For example, a series of founded bronze trays decorated with miniature images of humans and animals is surrounded by the mystery. Figure of a man kneeling before the image of horses, expresses some sacred bond between them. «We’re still trying to figure out the purpose of these trays — perhaps it is censer», thinks Mr. Nagel. «It is still a mystery».

For ancestors of Kazakhs horse played a huge role, and their skins were used for clothing and for food. Today, horses play an important role in everyday life and traditional culture of Kazakhs.
«Many findings of Saks time became a symbol of independence of Kazakhstan, and the study of these sites showed the continuity of traditions and cultures of the ancient tribes and modern Kazakhs» — says Dr. Rose Bektureeva.


Translation of R. Bektureeva;s f interview for BBC News, Washington DC
Source: www.gylymordasy.kz 

Use of materials for publication, commercial use, or distribution requires written or oral permission from the Board of Editors or the author. Hyperlink to Qazaqstan tarihy portal is necessary. All rights reserved by the Law RK “On author’s rights and related rights”. To request authorization email to mail@e-history.kz or call to (7172) 79 82 06 (ext.111)

Comments

To leave comment you must enter or register
Бас редакторға сұрақ +7 707 686 75 81
Қазақша Русский English

Главная Историческое образование Наши партнеры Музеи Мифы развеяны

Мифы развеяны

18 Октября 2013
67
0

В 2006 году в пародийном документальном фильме «Борат», главный герой путешествует из Казахстана в США, для изучения американского образа жизни.

b7b8b797c3ae52ee2234009574c8e960.png

Хотя подзаголовок фильма ««Борат: культурные исследования Америки в пользу славного государства Казахстан» подразумевал,  что речь пойдет о – Казахстане,  на самом деле фильм являлся  пародией на американские социальные ценности.

Но у многих зрителей фильма, сложилось впечатление о Казахстане, как о стране, населенной людьми  с невысоким уровнем  культуры.

О том, что картина получила негативный резонанс говорит то,  что на спортивном мероприятии в Кувейте, годом раньше, во время церемонии награждения,  вместо государственного гимна Казахстана звучала музыка из этого фильма.

Но теперь, когда, состоялась выставка «Древние сокровища Казахстана» в Вашингтоне, американцы увидели истинный образ «великолепной страны» и изменили свое представление о культуре этого народа.

Мифы развеяны

6588be63e90444be4150f981da6d346e.png

Многие из артефактов культуры Кочевых племен, прежде никогда не демонстрировавшиеся за пределами страны, теперь экспонируются в выставочных залах Smithsonian’s Freer and Sackler Asian Art galleries.

Цель выставки –  развеять миф о том, что номады, кочевавшие по евразийским степям в эпоху Персидской Империи, отставали в культурном развитии от оседлых  народов.

Первое упоминание о сакских племенах мы находим у греческого историка Геродота, называвшего кочевников бесстрашными воинами. Монументальные погребальные сооружения в горных долинах, известные как курганы, доказывают, насколько была высока культура сакских племен.  Находки, обнаруженные археологами в этих курганах, поражают воображение богатством  украшений из  бронзы и золота.

«Те изображения номадов, которые мы знали до сих пор, не так точны в деталях», говорит главный куратор выставки Алекс Нагель. «Новое исследование ясно дало понять, что кочевая культура была намного более сложной».

Защищенный вечной мерзлотой

5382c51bee196e39c314349925e14834.png

«Возможность проследить уникальное культурное наследие, датирующееся  первым тысячелетием до н.э, важна для молодого независимого Казахстана. Получив независимость в 1991 г., Казахстан активно использует свое уникальное культурное наследие для формирования собственной культурной идентичности».

«И у них есть средства, чтобы сделать это», говорит Саймон Уильямс, директор Британского Совета в Казахстане, соучредитель программы сотрудничества между музеем Археологии Казахстана и Музеем г. Вашингтон. Так же, он является автором перевода текстов о казахстанских музеях на английский язык.

Согласно данным Министерства Культуры, в Казахстане открыто около 136 музеев. Идет строительство нового музея в новой столице Астане. Министерство сообщает, что это будет самый крупный  музей в Средней Азии, его площадь составит 85 000 кв. м. (915 000 кв. футов).

«Первые годы после независимости были далеко нелегкими в финансовом отношении, но тем не менее новое государство находило средства на изучение крупных археологических памятников. Таким образом, в 1998 г. было сделано открытие Берельского могильника, ставшего сенсацией конца XX в. – говорит Роза Бектуреева – заведующая  Музея Археологии РГП “Ғылым ордасы” МОН РК.

В последние годы государство выделяет огромные средства на развитие науки, особенно археологии, истории, так как мы хотим больше знать свои корни, духовную, материальную культуру наших предков. И у нас есть  вероятность исследовать большее количество памятников, благодаря современным технологиям, которые были использованы при раскопках Берельских курганов, в условиях вечной мерзлоты, (а это,  останки людей и животных, фрагменты вышитой ткани)».

Безмолвное общение

74c9103df17b348a863482ac2cbbbec7.png

Отношения между человеком и лошадью – центральная тема выставки, которая часто поднимает больше вопросов, чем ответов.

Например, тайна окружает серию найденных бронзовых подносов, украшенных миниатюрными изображениями человека и животных. Фигурка человека, становящегося на колени перед изображением лошадей, выражает некоторую сакральную связь между ними. “Мы все еще пытаемся выяснить предназначение этих подносов – возможно, это курильница»,  размышляет господин  Нагель. «Это все еще остается загадкой”.

Для предков казахов лошади играли огромную роль,  их шкуры использовались для одежды, а молоко и мясо – для еды. И сегодня лошади играют важную роль в быту и традиционной культуре казахов.

«Многие находки сакского времени стали символами независимого Казахстана, и исследование этих памятников показало преемственность традиций и культур древних племен и современных казахов» – говорит доктор Роза Бектуреева.

Перевод интервью Р. Бектуреевой для BBC News, Washington DC

Источник: www.gylymordasy.kz

Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь