Home History of Kazakhstan Kazakhstan in Middle Age Kazakh - Dzhongar war (XVII-XVIII c.) Political relationship between Kazakhs and Dzungars in the 17-18th centuries

Political relationship between Kazakhs and Dzungars in the 17-18th centuries

Since the early 18th century the Kazakh and Dzungar relations deteriorated sharply because of Dzungar invasions. These events undermined foundations of the state, which was consolidated by the policy of Kasym, Khak Nazar, Esim and Tauke. After the death of Tauke Khan a whole series of misfortunes for the Kazakhs started. Among them defeats of the Kazakh troops in 1717 - 1718, death of Kaiyp Khan and Bulat Khan's death during the “Great calamity” in 1723 - 25. Only by the end of the 20’s of the 17th century, in face of common danger the Kazakhs joined together (A.I.Levshin) and began to fight back against the Dzungars.

The name “Dzungars” referred to West Mongolian tribes of the 16-17th centuries settled in the upper reaches of the Irtysh River and the foothills of the Altai Mountains. “Dzungar” means “left hand” and originally referred to one of the major tribes of the confederation – the Choros, and sometimes the Dorbets. In fact, the alliance also consisted of other tribes, such as the Torghuts and Khoshuts. The Turkic peoples of Central Asia called them "Kalmak", that means “remnant” or “to remain”. Thus, the Russian word "Kalmyk" came from the Turkic one. The Chinese sources called them "El’ut", from the name of West Mongolian Oirat tribes, or their original name Dorben Oirat, meaning “The Allied Four”.

Strengthening of the Dzungars associated with coming to power of the Choros ruler Batur. He was the first Oirat leader took the title of "Khong Tayiji." In 1640, at a place, called Ulan Urga, he assembled a council of Dorbet and Oirat rulers of the tribes, where the so-called "Steppe Code" (or Tsaadzhin bichig) was drafted. The main purpose for this entente was to form a pan-Mongol coalition against all potential external enemies, such as the Manchus and the Chinese. The Manchus at that time were conquering the Chinese lands, and actually were ready to create a new nomadic empire. Subsequently, they managed to establish the Qin Dynasty in China, which eventually destroyed the Dzhungar Khanate in 1756-1757. However, the Torghut’s participation in the entente, by that time had already moved to the banks of the Jayiq and Itil rivers (the Ural and the Volga), shows that there were other political purposes. One of such problems was the relations strategy with the neighbors, including the Kazakhs. Right after the council of the Kalmyk nobility in 1640, several military campaigns were organized over the eastern limits of the Kazakh Khanate. In 1643, Zhangir Khan hardly managed to stop the Dzungar invasion (Battle of Orbulak). But still, the overall results of this campaign were useful for the Dzungars. They captured eastern part of Semirechye. The Dzungars also raided northern Kazakh steppes. In the 30- 40’s the territory between the Irtysh River and Lake Balkhash actually was under their control. In the upper reaches of the Irtysh River there was a residence of Khong Tayiji.

The Torghut rulers at that time settled in the lower reaches of the Volga River and displaced the Nogai tribes from their lands. In the 30-40's the large Kalmyk army assaulted not only the Kazakhs, but also the Russians (in Siberia, near Astrakhan, etc.) and the Bashkirs (near Ufa).

According to historical sources, the Kalmyk troops constantly attacked Siberian Russian settlements in Tyumen and Tarsky Uyezds. At this time, in separate Kalmyk settlements (along the Irtysh, in the Karkaraly Mountains, etc.) several Lama Temples appeared. More and more Kalmyks converted to Lamaism and became estranged from the surrounding Turkic nomads. A great Khoshut prince Zaya Pandita was a Buddhist missionary priest and reformer of Kalmyk writing system.

A new wave of Dzungarian attacks on the Kazakh Khanate started after the accession of Galdan Boshugtu Khan. By the 80’s year of the 17th century the Kazakhs were driven out of Semirechye by the Dzungars, losing their towns and rich pastures. "Since the power of the Oirats in Semirechye was not disputed, and their many wars with the Kazakhs, Mongols and Chinese were not related to this area" (Bartold). In 1681- 1684 Galdan organized a major campaign to the south of Kazakhstan, and in 1684 the city of Sairam was destroyed. The Kazakhs headed by Tauke Khan with great difficulty managed to stabilize the situation on the eastern borders.

The south of Kazakhstan was especially important for the Oirats. This region had a large number of cities that became trade centers of nomadic and sedentary tribes. The cities of Taraz, Sairam, Otrar, Turkestan and others were the source of well-being for nomadic tribes of Sary-Arka. The nomads bought in these cities all the basic necessities that were needed in everyday life. Political dominance in these oases provided the rulers with the ability to collect taxes and tributes, necessary for the proper functioning of power structures.

In the 90’s of the 17th century war with China forced Galdan Boshugtu to stop aggression against the Kazakhs. But at the beginning of the 18th century Tsewang Rabtan turned his arms against the Kazakhs. In two battles in 1717 (at the Ayaguz River) and in 1718 (at the Bogen, Shayan and Arys rivers) the Kazakh army suffered a crushing defeat. The Kazakh army, led by Khans Kaiyp and Abul Khair, returned ingloriously in their uluses. We do not know what the reason for the failure was. Perhaps, disorganization of the Kazakhs caused by unexpected attack, absence of strong central government and lack of coordination in the actions of the Khans were the main reasons for their defeat.


To leave comment you must enter or register

Главная История Казахстана Казахстан в средневековье Казахско-джунгарская война (XVII -XVIII вв.) Казахско Джунгарские отношения в XVII -XVIII вв.

Казахско Джунгарские отношения в XVII -XVIII вв.

03 Сентября 2013
867
0

С первых десятилетий XVIII века Казахское ханство переживало глубокие потрясения, вызванные обострением борьбы с Джунгарией. Эти потрясения поколебали то начало государственности, которое укреплялось политикой Касыма w Хак Назара, Есима й Тауке. После смерти Тауке хана началась целая полоса неудач казахов. Разгром казахского войска в 1717 - 1718 гг., смерть Каиып хана, заменившего Тауке, смерть Булат хана, в годы великого бедствия «1723 - 25 гг.», Только к концу 20-х годов XVII века, когда опасность примирила внутренние междоусобия и направила всех к одному предмету (А.И.Левшин), казахи начали давать отпор джунгарам.

Джунгарами принято называть союз западно-монгольских племен в XVI-XVII веках в верховьях Иртыша, предгорьях Алтайских гор. Джунгар в переводе означает «левая рука» и первоначально относилось только к названию одного из главных племен в этом союзе - к чоросам и частично дербетам. В самом же деле в этот союз входили не менее многочисленные племена - торгоуыты и хошоуыты. Тюркские народы Центральной Азии называют эти племена термином «калмак» (отставший, оставшийся), - от этого русское название «калМык» . В китайских источниках их называют «элют», от самоназвания западно-монгольских племен «ойрат» или (дурбен ойрат - союз четырех племен).

Усиление джунгаров связано с приходом к власти чоросского правителя Батура, он первый из ойратских вождей принял титул «хун- тайджи». В 1640 году ему в местности Улан урга удалось собрать съезд вождей дурбен и ойратских племен, где было принято так называемое «Степное уложение» (Цааджин бичиг). Главная задача этого сьезда заключалась в том, чтобы дать отпор надвигающейся на Монголию маньчжурско-китайскои волне. Маньчжуры в это время вели завоевание китайских земель и фактически были готовы к созданию новой империи кочевников. Им впоследсвии удалось в Китае создать династию Цинь, которая в конце концов и уничтожила Джунгарское ханство в 1756-1757 гг. Однако, участие в работе съезда торгоуытов, к тому времени уже продвинувшихся к берегам pp. Жаиык и Едиль (Урал и Волга), говорит о том, что на повестке дня были и другие . политические вопросы. Одна из таких пробпем - стратегия взаимоотношения с соседями, в том числе и с казахами . Не зря сразу же после съезда калмыцкой знати в 1640 году участились нападения на восточные пределы Казахского ханства. В 1643 году Жангир хану с трудом удалось остановить натиск джунгаров (Орбулакская Битва). Но все же общие итоги этой кампании были полезны для джунгаров, они овладели восточной частью Семиречья. Активно продвигались джунгары и по северным степям казахов, и уже в 30-40-х годах территория между рекой Иртыш и оз. Балхаш фактически контролировалась джунгарами. В верховьях Иртыша находилась ставка хунтайджи.

Торгоуытские правители в это время осваивали низовья р.Волга, вытеснив оттуда ногайские племена В 30-40-х годах крупные контингента калмыцких войск на давали покоя не только казахам, но й русским (в Сибири, под Астраханью и т.д.), башкирам (в районе Уфы).

В источниках отмечаются постоянные нападения капмыцких отрядов на Сибирские поселения русских в Тюменском и Тарском уездах. В это время в отдельных пунктах обитания калмыков (по Иртышу, в Каркаралинских горах и т.д.) появились ламаистские храмы. Все больше места в духовной жизни калмыков этого времени занимает ламаизм, отдаляя их от окружающих тюркских кочевников. Реформатором калмыцкой . письменности и активным проповедником религии был великий хошоуыт - Зая-Пандита.

Новая волна .джунгарских нападений на Казахское ханство связана с именем Галдан-Бошохту хана. К 80-м годам XVII века казахи были вытеснены джунгарами из Семиречья, потеряв здесь как оседлые центры, так и богатые пастбища. «С тех пор власть ойратов в Семиречье никем не оспаривалась, и многочисленные войны их с казахами,монголами и китайцами не имели отношения к этой области» (Бартольд). В 1681-1684гг. Галдан совершает крупные походы на юг Казахстана, а в 1684 году был

разрушен город Сайрам. Казахам во главе с Тауке ханом с большими трудностями удалось стабилизировать обстановку на восточных границах. 8 переговорах конца 80-х годов впервые мы встречаем, имя казахского бия и оратора Каз дауысты Казыбека.

Почему юг Казахстана привлекал ойратов? Еще в ранний период истории Центральной Азии в этом регионе появилось большое количество городов, которые сделались центрами торговых связей кочевых и оседлых племен. Такие города какТараз, Сайрам, Отрар, Туркестан и другие города служили кочевым племенам Сары-Арки источником благополучия. Начиная с элементарных необходимостей, нужных в быту, до савана для покойников кочевники покупали в этих городах. Политическое господство в этих оазисах предоставляло им возможность сбора налогов!* дани, необходимых для нормального функционирования властных структур.

В 90-х годах XVIi века война с Китаем отвлекла Галдана Бошохту от агрессивных действий в отношении казахских владений. Но в начале XVIII века Цеван Рабтан снова обратил свое оружие против казахов. В двух сражениях 1717 г. (на р. Аягуз) й 1718 г. (на pp. Боген, Шаян, Арыс) казахское ополчение потерпело сокрушительное поражение. Во главе казахского войска мы видим двух ханов - Кайыпа и Абулхаира, возвратившихся бесславно в свои улусы. Что стало причиной поражения, нам неизвестно. Возможно, сказалась дезорганизованность казахов по причине внезапности нападения, а может быть, и отсутствие сильной центральной власти, несогласованность в действиях ханов, зависть.

Источник: Артыкбаев Ж.О. История Казахстана, Астана, 2004г.-159с.


Комментарии

Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий войдите или зарегистрируйтесь