Home Events calendar 1 January

Events calendar

1 January

1 January 1995

The new types of passport and identity card were introduced in Kazakhstan

The new types of passport and identity card were introduced in Kazakhstan since January 1; they gradually replaced the old Soviet passports in a red cover.

1 January 1893

Birthday of the Hero of the Soviet Union, Ivan Panfilov.

 Ivan Panfilov (born on December 20, 1892 (January 1, 1893) in Petrovsk, Saratov province - died on November 18, 1941, in the Gusenevo village, Volokolamsk district, Moscow region), he was the Soviet military leader, Major General, Hero of the Soviet Union (1942, posthumous).

  In 1915, he was drafted into the imperial army and sent to the Russian-German front. In 1918, he voluntarily joined the Red Army and was assigned to the first Saratov Infantry Regiment of the 25th Chapaevsk division. He is the veteran of the Civil war; he fought in the 25th Chapaevsk division. He took part in punitive operations. During one of the shootings, he was charged with aiding and abetting the enemy (the machine gun jammed and the gunner Panfilov was accused of deliberately breaking of the gun). The commander of the division Vasily Chapaev, arrived in order to conduct a tribunal over the accused, however, he acquitted Panfilov and even appointed him as the commander of a machine-gun squad.

  After the Civil War, he graduated from the Kiev joint infantry school and then he was appointed to the Central Asian Military District. He took an active part in the fight against robber bands. He was a member of the CPSU (b) since 1920. Since 1938, he was the military commissar of the Kirghiz SSR. 

  He died on November 18, 1941, in the village Gusenevo, Volokolamsk district, Moscow region, from the splinters of a German mortar shell.

  This is how Marshall Katukov, whose 4th Tank Brigade fought on a nearby section of the front, describes the time of the death of General Panfilov:

"On the morning of November 18, two dozen of tanks and infantry began to surround the Gusenevo village. Major Panfilov was there at a time, in a dugout near a peasant hut. Germans shelled the village with mortars, but the fire was unsighted, and therefore was not of a big concern.

  Panfilov received a group of Moscow correspondents. When he was informed about the enemy tank attack, he rushed out of the dugout to the street. Other employees of the headquarters of the division followed him. No sooner had Panfilov climb the last step of the dugout the mine exploded. He then fell to the ground. Therefore, without the  regaining of consciousness, he died at the hands of his comrades. Examined the wound: it turned out, a tiny splinter struck his temple"

Главная Календарь событий 1 Января

Календарь событий

1 Января

1 Января 1995

В Казахстане введены новые паспорта и удостоверения личности

С 1 января в Казахстане введены новые паспорта и удостоверения личности, постепенно заменившие советские паспорта в красной обложке.

1 Января 1893

День рождения Героя Советского Союза Ивана Васильевича Панфилова

 Иван Васильевич Панфилов (родился 20 декабря 1892 (1 января 1893) в городе Петровск, Саратовской губернии — погиб 18 ноября 1941 года у деревни Гусенёво Волоколамского района Московской области) — советский военный деятель, генерал-майор, Герой Советского Союза (1942, посмертно).

В 1915 году призван в царскую армию и направлен на русско-германский фронт. В 1918 году добровольно вступил в Красную Армию и был зачислен в 1-й Саратовский пехотный полк 25-й Чапаевской дивизии. Участник гражданской войны, воевал в составе 25-й Чапаевской стрелковой дивизии. Принимал участие в карательных операциях. В ходе одного из расстрелов был обвинён в пособничестве врагу: (пулемёт заклинило и пулемётчик Панфилов был обвинён в сознательном выведении его из строя). Для трибунала над обвиняемым прибыл лично командир дивизии Василий Чапаев, который, однако, оправдал Панфилова и даже назначил его командиром пулемётного отряда.

После гражданской войны окончил двухгодичную Киевскую объединённую пехотную школу, вскоре после этого был назначен в Среднеазиатский военный округ. Принимал активное участие в борьбе с басмачами. Член ВКП(б) с 1920 года. С 1938 года — военный комиссар Киргизской ССР. 

Погиб 18 ноября 1941 года у деревни Гусенёво Волоколамского района Московской области, от осколков немецкой миномётной мины.

Вот как описывает момент гибели генерала Панфилова маршал (в 1941г. - полковник) Катуков, чья 4-я танковая бригада воевала на соседнем участке фронта:

"Утром 18 ноября два десятка танков и цепи мотопехоты снова стали окружать деревню Гусенево. Здесь в это время находился КП Панфилова — наспех отрытая землянка рядом с крестьянской избой. Немцы обстреливали деревню из миномётов, но огонь был неприцельным, и на него не обращали внимания.

Панфилов принимал группу московских корреспондентов. Когда ему сообщили о танковой атаке противника, он поспешил из землянки на улицу. За ним последовали другие работники штаба дивизии. Не успел Панфилов подняться на последнюю ступеньку землянки, как рядом грохнула мина. Генерал Панфилов стал медленно оседать на землю. Его подхватили на руки. Так, не приходя в сознание, он умер на руках своих боевых товарищей. Осмотрели рану: оказалось, крошечный осколок пробил висок."