Home Prominent figures Barak khan

Barak khan

1423 - 1428 was the khan of White Horde.The son of Kuyrshik khan and grandson of Urys khan. He was one of the most influential khans of that time.

Date of birth is unknown, died in 1428. From 1423 to 1428 was the khan of Ak Orda (White Horde). He was the son of Kuyrshik khan and grandson of Urys khan. Barak khan was one of the most influential Khans of this time. He was one of the leaders of the construction of Sygnak town.

In 15th century, during the collapse of Golden Horde, began by force of descent from Genghis Khan for obtaining the throne,White Horde acquired a number of areas. One of the contenders for the throne was Barak Khan.

In 1416, between governors of Cumania (“Desht and Kipchak”) and Ulugbek’s grandson Timur began fight for land in the lower reaches of the Syrdarya, which lasted for a hundred years. The reason of Ulugbek’s interference was the request of Barak khan to help him. It happened in May 1419 in Samarkand city. Ulugbek decided to help him, showing the hospitality to the Barak khan. Barak khan gradually strengthened his power by defeating all his opponents.  

In 1422, Barak khan conquered most of the territory of the Cumania, having won his main rival Ulugh Muhammad. This territory extended from the lower reaches of the Syrdarya to the Aral Sea, in the north from the Zhaiyk River to the Tobol River, in the north-east to the Irtysh River.

In 1423, Barak khan, after he became the khan, began a policy against Maveranahr (Transoxiana). In 1425, coming very close to the border between the state of Ulugbek and Sygnak, Barak khan demanded the return of ancestral lands of Ak Orda, located alongside with Syrdarya, which were formerly under the patronage of his grandfather – Urys Khan, later conquered by Tamerlane.

In early 1427, the large battle between the troops of Ulugbek and Barak khan happened under the Sygnak. Ulugbek’s troops, being defeated, were driven by Barak Khan to Samarkand. Only in May 1427, as the result of the intervention to the war the Girat’s troops led by Shahruh, Barak khan was forced to return to the Cumania. Sygnak again turned into a horde of descendants Urys khan.

Barak khan died in 1428, during the battle against Mahmudoglan the sultan of Mogulistan. At the same year, Cumania was conquered by Abulkhair khan (1428-1468).

Resource: elim.kz  

  • First name
  • Barak khan
  • Line of activity/Occupation
  • Governors, khans, sultans

Барак хан

С 1423 по 1428 гг. был ханом Ак Орды. Сын хана Куйыршыка и внук Орыс-хана. Барак-хан был одним из влиятельных ханов своего времени. Он был одним из руководителей строительства г. Сыгнака.

Дата рождения неизвестна - умер в 1428 г. С 1423 по 1428 гг. был ханом Ак Орды. Сын хана Куйыршыка и внук Орыс-хана. Барак-хан был одним из влиятельных ханов своего времени. Он был одним из руководителей строительства г. Сыгнака.

В XV в., во времена развала Алтын Орды, в силу начавшихся междоусобиц чингизидов за престол, Ак Орда приобрела ряд территорий. Одним из претендентов на престол был Барак-хан.

В 1416 г. между правителями Дешт-и-Кыпчака и внуком Тимура Улугбеком началась борьба за земли в нижнем течении Сырдарьи, которая затянулась на целых сто лет. Причиной вмешательства Улугбека в борьбу послужила просьба Барак-хана к нему об оказании помощи. Случилось это в мае 1419 г. в г. Самарканде. Улугбек, проявив по отношению к Барак-хану должное гостеприимство, решил ему помочь. Барак-хан, победив всех своих соперников, постепенно укреплял свою власть.

В 1422 г., покорив своего главного соперника - орду Мухзмед-хана, Барак-хан завоевал большую часть территории Дешт-и-Кыпчака. Территория эта простиралась от нижнего течения Сырдарьи до Аральского моря, на севере - от реки Жайык до реки Тобол, на северо-востоке - до реки Иртыш.

Став в 1423 г. ханом, Барак-хан начал проводить политику, направленную против Мавераннахра. В 1425 г., вплотную подойдя к границе между государством Улугбека и Сыгнака, Барак-хан потребовал возврата находящихся вдоль Сырдарьи исконных земель Ак Орды, которые в прошлом были под патронажем его деда - Орыс-хана, а затем были завоеваны Тимуром.

В начале 1427 г. под Сыгнаком произошло крупное сражение между войсками Улугбека и Барак-хана. Войска Улугбека, потерпев поражение, были оттеснены Барак-ханом до г. Самарканда. Лишь в мае 1427 г., в результате вмешательства в войну войск Гирата под предводительством Шахруха, Барак-хан был вынужден возвратиться в Дешт-и-Кыпчак. Сыгнак вновь превратился в орду потомков Орыс-хана.

Барак-хан погиб в 1428 г. во время битвы против султана Могулистаиа - Махмудоглана. В том же 1428 г. Дешт-и-Кыпчак был завоеван  Абулхаир-ханом (1428-1468).

Источник: elim.kz

  • Имя
  • Барак хан
  • Род деятельности
  • Правители, ханы, султаны
  • Дата смерти
  • 1428