Home Prominent figures Zholbarys Khan

Zholbarys Khan

Zholbarys khan (1690-1740) was the khan of Great juz and son of Abdullah. The family was descended from an unknown branch of the Kazakh dynasty of Genghis’s descendants.

Zholbarys Abdullah (1690-1740) was the khan of Great juz and son of Abdullah. His permanent residence was located in Tashkent, previously belonged to his father. The tribes that subordinated to him roamed in the valleys of the River of Shyrshyk (right inflow of Syrdarya) and Arys (flows through the territory of South Kazakhstan region), as well as in the area between Tashkent and Turkestan. In foreign policy he sought to hold back the Dzhungars troops and followed the policy of convergence with Russia.

In 1723, during the Great disaster on behalf of his subordinate tribes and residents of Tashkent he was forced to accept their dependence from the governor of Dzhungar khanate Galdantseren (1697-1727). In autumn 1726, Zholbarys participated in all Kazakh Congress in elevated hill above the River Badam in Ordabasy area. In the late 20s of 18th century Zholbarys received actual independence of his possessions from Oirats. However, in 1734-1735 Dzhungar’s Khong Tayiji Galdantseren (1727-1735) forced him again to admit protectorate.

Zholbarys khan tried to establish relations Russian government. In 1738 he wrote a letter to Russian governors about intention to take Russian citizenship.

September 19, 1938 Empress Anna sent special letter addressed to Zholbarys khan with confirming acceptance of citizenship. However, resistance of Dzhungar governors and lack of close relations between Russia and Great juz did not contribute to the implementation of Zholbary’s intentions. In addition, the lands of Great juz were still too far from the zone of Russian influence.

In 1739, in alliance with the khan of Middle juz Abylay Zholbarys khan headed fight against Dzhungars. With joint efforts they managed to release towns like Tashkent and Sairam.

April 5, 1740, Zholbarys was killed by local khoja in Tashkent mosque. He was buried in Turkestan. His murder has increased the vulnerability of foreign policy in Kazakh steppe. After his death the governor of Tashkent was appointed Tole bi. All activities of Zholbarys khan became important step in formation and development of Kazakh state. He left the mark on history as a sovereign governor of the first half of the 18th century.  


Zholbarys Khan
  • First name
  • Zholbarys Khan
  • Line of activity/Occupation
  • Governors, khans, sultans
  • Birthday
  • 1690
  • Deathday
  • 1740

Главная Персоналии Жолбарыс хан

Жолбарыс хан

Жолбарыс хан (1690-1740) – хан Старшего жуза, сын хана Абдуллы. Происходил от неизвестной фамильной ветви казахской династии чингизидов.

Жолбарыс Абдоллаулы (1690–1740) – хан Старшего жуза. Его постоянная резиденция располагалась в Ташкенте, прежде принадлежавшем его отцу. Подчиненные ему роды кочевали в долинах рек Шыршық (правый приток Сырдарьи) и Арыс (протекает по территории Южно-Казахстанской области), а также в местности между Ташкентом и Туркестаном. Во внешней политике стремился сдерживать натиск джунгарских войск и придерживался политики сближения с Россией.

В 1723 году, в Годы Великого бедствия, он был вынужден от имени подвластных ему родов и жителей Ташкента признать зависимость от правителя Джунгарского ханства Цэван-Рабдана (1697–1727). Осенью 1726 года Жолбарыс принимал участие на всеказахском съезде в местности Ордабасы на возвышенной сопке над рекой Бадам (левый приток реки Арыс). В конце 20-х годов XVIII века Жолбарыс получил фактическую независимость своих владений от ойратов, но уже в 1734–1735 годы джунгарский хунтайджи Галдан-Цэрен (1727–1745) вновь заставил его признать протекторат.

Жолбарыс хан пытался установить связи с Российским правительством. В 1738 году он написал письмо российским правителям о намерении принять подданство России. 19 сентября 1938 года императрица Анна Иоанновна выслала специальную грамоту на имя Жолбарыс хана с подтверждением  принятия им подданства. Однако сопротивление джунгарских правителей и отсутствие тесных взаимоотношений между Россией и Старшим жузом не способствовали осуществлению намерений Жолбарыса. Да и земли Старшего жуза были еще слишком далеки от зоны влияния России.

В 1739 году в союзе с ханом Среднего жуза Абылаем Жолбарыс хан возглавил борьбу против джунгар. Совместными усилиями им удалось освободить города Ташкент и Сайрам.

5 апреля 1740 года Жолбарыс был убит в Ташкентской мечети местными ходжами. Похоронен в городе Туркестан. Его убийство усилило уязвимость внешнеполитического положения казахской степи. Правителем Ташкента после смерти Жолбарыс хана был назначен Толе бий. Вся деятельность Жолбарыс хана явилась важной ступенью в становлении и развитии казахского государства, он вошел в историю как суверенный правитель первой половины XVIII века.

Жолбарыс хан
  • Имя
  • Жолбарыс хан
  • Род деятельности
  • Правители, ханы, султаны
  • Дата рождения
  • 1690
  • Дата смерти
  • 1740